This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Hemstitched Linen Place Mats, Set of 4

An intricate double row of hemstitching embellishes these place mats, designed for use with our other double-hemstitched table linens. Woven of 100% linen in a range of colors, the place mats provide an elegant neutral backdrop for many different styles of dinnerware. They're an excellent choice for all sorts of occasions, from casual buffets to formal dinners. For a personal touch, the place mats can be monogrammed with a single initial in your choice of traditional block or modern script style in white, ivory, navy or dark red. 20" x 14". Made in Hungary. Set of four. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
2.625 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
3 of 8(38%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Hemstitched Linen Place Mats, Set of 4
Review 1 for Hemstitched Linen Place Mats, Set of 4
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
marciasuewhite
,Kiawah Island
,SC
October 12, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
0points
High maintenance
October 12, 2013
I echo the other negative reviews. After washing these by hand and air drying damp, still incredibly difficult, if not impossible, to get the wrinkles out when ironing (including using starch). And yes, some puckered when ironed. I am very disappointed and really do think that W-S should consider removing this product. The mats and napkins only looked good once - upon receipt and prior to washing.
Cons: High-Maintenance, impossible to get wrinkles out
Review 2 for Hemstitched Linen Place Mats, Set of 4
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
PattyFrances
,NC
November 13, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Sensational Color!
November 13, 2012
Purchased these for a holiday table with a specific color theme. The intense color is beautiful. However, I purchased very similar linen placemats (different color) from another source last year for less than half the price - not on sale. I would have preferred a heavier fabric for placemats. If you really want that color, these are perfect, otherwise, I'm thinking overpriced for the fabric.
Pros: rich color
Cons: price
Review 3 for Hemstitched Linen Place Mats, Set of 4
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
bklynpetunia
,Brooklyn
,NY
October 5, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Be VERY careful washing these!
October 5, 2012
Love the look of these, but I foolishly followed the laundry instructions on the label and put them in the dryer on low heat, removing them before the dryer finished its cycle. Man, did they shrink! Not sure if I can even use them anymore. For the money I spent on these, I wish the care instructions had been more realistic.
Pros: looks great before washing
Cons: turns into a shrinky-dink once washed
Review 4 for Hemstitched Linen Place Mats, Set of 4
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Elleora
June 13, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Damp Steam Ironing Alone Caused Shrinkage
June 13, 2012
When they are mailed to you they come folded up and pressed, so I wanted to remove the creases to make them lie nice and flat on the table. After reading about linen I sprayed the tablecloths with some water so they would be damp and ironed them with my steam iron. The creases came out fairly quickly, but the edges puckered up and shrank so that now the middle lies flat but the edges are all wavy. Is there a way to fix this?
Cons: shrinks with just ironing
Review 5 for Hemstitched Linen Place Mats, Set of 4
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
LisaAR
,Russellville
,AR
May 30, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
They Shrink CONSIDERABLY
May 30, 2012
I purchased both these placemats and the matching runner. After following the washing instructions (exactly), the 90 inch runner shrunk by 8 inches and the placemats shrunk considerably as well. Due to the shrinkage, the placemats no longer hold an appropriate place setting (plate, silverware, water glass and wine glass) and the runner barely hangs over the edge of the table. This was a one-time use purchase and a COMPLETE waste of money Fortunately the napkins are on back order so I will either cancel or return them.
Pros: none
Cons: significant shrinkage
Review 6 for Hemstitched Linen Place Mats, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Columbine
Washington, DC
November 27, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Good Classic Linen Placemats
November 27, 2011
These are classic linen placemats in a cream/off-white color. The hemstitiching does not pucker on washing, but as classic linen, it does shrink slightly on the first laundering. This is a characteristic of linen. The placemats should be line dried or dried flat on towels. Above all, they should be ironed while damp with a hot iron to get that crisp, flat perfection of linen. Stretching and drying flat will probably get a less perfect but acceptable-for-everyday result.
The stain release character of linen means all the gravy and cranberry stains from Thanksgiving came out on the first laundering in hot water and Biz. They ironed beautifully.
If you have good china and silver, these placemats are perfect for completing your formal table without using a full tablecloth. Every household that entertains above the casual level should have a set of good classic white fabric placemats like these.
Pros: Durable, Texture, Quality, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Design, Weight, releases food stains
Cons: requires ironing
Review 7 for Hemstitched Linen Place Mats, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JJMopinion
November 18, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Perfect placemats
November 18, 2011
Please be aware that these are LINEN which requires special care. They are machine washable (delicate cycle on cold, line dry) but they will need to be ironed. I have a set of linen table linens I purchased years ago that I get done at the cleaner. These I use for everyday and care for them at home. Nice color, everyday use, great quality.
Pros: Texture, Quality, Color, Versatile
Cons: High-Maintenance
Review 8 for Hemstitched Linen Place Mats, Set of 4
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
BrodyS
NJ
June 27, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+6points
7of 8found this review helpful.
Not Machinewashable
June 27, 2011
These are absolutely not machinewashable. They shrink and look horrible once washed (even hand washed).
Cons: Difficult to Clean, High-Maintenance
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Columbine
Washington, DC
Posted November 27, 2011
Washed Fine - Gotta Understand Linen
This are good classic linen placemats. My mother bought them in white, but I launder and iron her table linens (good daughter!).
These are nice placemats and can be machine washed, but you have to line dry and iron them while they're damp. That's standard care for linen.
I had no problem laundering these after Thanksgiving. They're now washed and ironed and look great. Because linen releases stains, all the gravy, cranberry, vegetable and pie stains came out on the first try.
My method is to pre-treat the stains with a stain stick (Resolve or Shout). I then start filling the washing machine with hot water and dissolve Biz detergent. I add the white linen placemats and napkins and stop the water when they are well covered. I leave them to soak 4 hrs. or overnight, then I finish filling the tub with hot water and run the machine on a 6 minute wash cycle, plus the rinse and spin. This is white linen, it can take hot water, but if not preshrunk, it will shrink a small amount (these placemats do shrink a little bit). I then run them a few minutes in the dryer on no-heat/fluff, and hang them on a clothesline. Drying in the dryer won't work well and might really shrink them.
Linen must be damp when ironed. Iron with a hot iron and a little light spray starch on the wrong side and press down with the iron. Then iron on the right side. Either take the placemats off the line while still damp and iron, or let dry and later dampen with water in a pump spray, roll up and let sit for 15 min., then iron. You can also freeze damp linen in a plastic bag for ironing later.
Summary:
Pre-treat stains
Soak in Biz and hot water
Wash on short cycle
Line dry
Iron damp, w/ hot iron
You cannot use the dryer on these, do not use a steam iron, you must iron linen while it's damp.
Finally, test colored linen for colorfastness before washing. Use either cool or warm water for colored linen (not hot), depending how much the dye runs.
One more thing: never use chlorine bleach on linen, it will leave yellow stains.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)