This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Hemstitched Linen Place Mats, Set of 4

An intricate double row of hemstitching embellishes these place mats, designed for use with our other double-hemstitched table linens. Woven of 100% linen in a range of colors, the place mats provide an elegant neutral backdrop for many different styles of dinnerware. They're an excellent choice for all sorts of occasions, from casual buffets to formal dinners. For a personal touch, the place mats can be monogrammed with a single initial in your choice of traditional block or modern script style in white, ivory, navy or dark red. 20" x 14". Made in Hungary. Set of four. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
2 out of 5
2
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
1 of 5(20%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Hemstitched Linen Place Mats, Set of 4
Review 1 for Hemstitched Linen Place Mats, Set of 4
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
marciasuewhite
,Kiawah Island
,SC
October 12, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
0points
High maintenance
October 12, 2013
I echo the other negative reviews. After washing these by hand and air drying damp, still incredibly difficult, if not impossible, to get the wrinkles out when ironing (including using starch). And yes, some puckered when ironed. I am very disappointed and really do think that W-S should consider removing this product. The mats and napkins only looked good once - upon receipt and prior to washing.
Cons: High-Maintenance, impossible to get wrinkles out
Review 2 for Hemstitched Linen Place Mats, Set of 4
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
PattyFrances
,NC
November 13, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Sensational Color!
November 13, 2012
Purchased these for a holiday table with a specific color theme. The intense color is beautiful. However, I purchased very similar linen placemats (different color) from another source last year for less than half the price - not on sale. I would have preferred a heavier fabric for placemats. If you really want that color, these are perfect, otherwise, I'm thinking overpriced for the fabric.
Pros: rich color
Cons: price
Review 3 for Hemstitched Linen Place Mats, Set of 4
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
bklynpetunia
,Brooklyn
,NY
October 5, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Be VERY careful washing these!
October 5, 2012
Love the look of these, but I foolishly followed the laundry instructions on the label and put them in the dryer on low heat, removing them before the dryer finished its cycle. Man, did they shrink! Not sure if I can even use them anymore. For the money I spent on these, I wish the care instructions had been more realistic.
Pros: looks great before washing
Cons: turns into a shrinky-dink once washed
Review 4 for Hemstitched Linen Place Mats, Set of 4
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Elleora
June 13, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Damp Steam Ironing Alone Caused Shrinkage
June 13, 2012
When they are mailed to you they come folded up and pressed, so I wanted to remove the creases to make them lie nice and flat on the table. After reading about linen I sprayed the tablecloths with some water so they would be damp and ironed them with my steam iron. The creases came out fairly quickly, but the edges puckered up and shrank so that now the middle lies flat but the edges are all wavy. Is there a way to fix this?
Cons: shrinks with just ironing
Review 5 for Hemstitched Linen Place Mats, Set of 4
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
LisaAR
,Russellville
,AR
May 30, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
They Shrink CONSIDERABLY
May 30, 2012
I purchased both these placemats and the matching runner. After following the washing instructions (exactly), the 90 inch runner shrunk by 8 inches and the placemats shrunk considerably as well. Due to the shrinkage, the placemats no longer hold an appropriate place setting (plate, silverware, water glass and wine glass) and the runner barely hangs over the edge of the table. This was a one-time use purchase and a COMPLETE waste of money Fortunately the napkins are on back order so I will either cancel or return them.
Pros: none
Cons: significant shrinkage