DuraClear(R) Tumblers, Set of 6

Our beautifully designed tumblers are now made in the USA from a crystal-clear shatter-resistant polycarbonate that looks like true glass and reflects light beautifully. Because they won't crack or break, the tumblers are perfect for poolside parties, picnics and barbecues. Set of six tumblers, ideal for serving beverages outdoors and poolside. DuraClear food-grade polycarbonate won't crack, shatter, break, cloud or discolor. Glasses maintain their clarity even through regular use and washing. For cold beverages only. Dishwasher safe. 6 1/4" high. 17-oz. cap. Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
3.798 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(129 Reviews) 129
92 of 129(71%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for DuraClear(R) Tumblers, Set of 6
Review 1 for DuraClear(R) Tumblers, Set of 6
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
SonomaKeri
,OH
April 8, 2014
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not a good product
April 8, 2014
I wish I had seen the bad reviews before I bought these. I bought them last summer and they are all scratched and cracked. I have always hand washed them, so I don't understand how they would be damaged. I bought this set to replace some plastic ones that I had for 10 years, but thought if these were polycarbonate, they would last forever. I think I will dig out the old ones I packed away and just get rid of these. I really expected better from Williams Sonoma since I have always been very satisfied with my purchases. These were way too expensive considering the quality.
Cons: Not Durable, Quality
Review 2 for DuraClear(R) Tumblers, Set of 6
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
GrammaDottie
,Sugar Grove
,IL
January 7, 2014
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Sad about the quality
January 7, 2014
I purchased these recently and like others have said, they are cracked and almost look shattered.
I had hoped for so much more since the ones I bought 8 years ago lasted so much longer, actually until we got tired of them.
Think I am done with Dura-clear, sadly.
Cons: Not Durable, Quality
Review 3 for DuraClear(R) Tumblers, Set of 6
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sharisadshopper
,Moses Lake
,WA
December 9, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
VERY POOR QUALITY
December 9, 2013
I bought a set of six last year, December 2012, for my husband. I paid to have them monogramed and the total cost was not cheap. We are very careful with our dishes and all kitchen items. However one of these expensive plastic glasses has a big crack in it. The description claims they will not crack. It must have happened in the dishwasher as we have never dropped any of them. Not a good product!
Pros: Personalization, Color, Size
Cons: Not Durable, Quality, Difficult to Clean, High-Maintenance, Fragile, easy to crack
Review 4 for DuraClear(R) Tumblers, Set of 6
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
kwolf
,Brookeville
,MD
December 9, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
DON'T BY THESE
December 9, 2013
Despite their high prices and assurance of high quality acrylic tumblers, these crack and come out of the dishwasher spotty. I could easily get something similar for a fraction of the cost.
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Clean
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 5 for DuraClear(R) Tumblers, Set of 6
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
SusanSC
,Greenville
,SC
December 2, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not what I expected
December 2, 2013
I had heard these glasses last for years and look brand new but was so disappointed when they started cracking and looked almost shattered after just a month or less. The store has offered to replace them but other reviews show that the replacement may not hold up any better. I am very disappointed.
Cons: Not Durable, High-Maintenance, Fragile
Review 6 for DuraClear(R) Tumblers, Set of 6
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous
,NYC
,NY
September 26, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
5of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT!!!
September 26, 2013
These plastic tumblers are of very poor quality. They will crack in the dishwasher even though they are supposed to be dishwasher safe. The first couple of generations of this product were solid, but this most recent product is terrible. VERY POORLY MADE. And, they are made by Williams Sonoma. I have returned three sets and the same thing happened to all three. They tell me to only put them in the top portion of the dishwasher -- which I do -- and they still crack. Then they tell me to only put them in the dishwasher on settings that don't use hot water. huh? The box doesn't say all this. It says they are dishwasher safe. The truth is that they are expensive for plastic and this is an insult to WS customers that they are selling such an inferior product for so much money. 10 buck per plastic tumbler. You can spend far less elsewhere and get a plastic tumbler that is TRULY dishwasher safe.
Cons: Not Durable, Quality, Difficult to Clean, High-Maintenance, Fragile
Review 7 for DuraClear(R) Tumblers, Set of 6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
osbod
,TN
August 16, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Unbelievable!
August 16, 2013
My husband does not like to use plastic glasses but after asking him what he thought of them he commented that these were the only plastic glasses he liked and we should replace all our glasses with these!
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Appearance, Weight
Review 8 for DuraClear(R) Tumblers, Set of 6
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sadsallie
,Ravena
,NY
August 13, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Clear for One Week
August 13, 2013
Bought these glasses to replace a similar set I have had for 20 years that were finally looking a little worn. In less than a week of use they started developing tiny cracks and cloudiness. The ones I got rid of looked better than these do after only a month. What a disappointment! I bought these for use around the pool to avoid glass but I would be embarrassed to serve my guests with these. Glad I only bought one set. Very expensive for very poor quality....don't waste your money!
Cons: Not Durable, Quality, poor appearance
Review 9 for DuraClear(R) Tumblers, Set of 6
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JGLaVerneCa
,La Verne
,CA
August 11, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Worst glasses ever
August 11, 2013
Had a set of these glasses from over five years ago. They had been in the dishwaser over the years and still were great except some clouding from being used daily. Bought a new set in the smoke color tall and short ones. Almost imediately they started to show cracks and crackling on the bottoms. Exchanged them and the same thing happend. Not the same quality as the old ones. Will return these for a refund!
Pros: Color, Appearance
Cons: Not Durable, Quality, Difficult to Clean
Review 10 for DuraClear(R) Tumblers, Set of 6
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Jess11
,Santa Clarita
,CA
August 2, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Micro-cracks
August 2, 2013
These glasses are the perfect material and size: they won't break when you drop them, easy to hold, I like them for those reasons.
But........ This is the second set I've purchased (the first set I bought about 5 years ago), and the same problem has occurred to both sets. After you put them in the dishwasher (top rack), they develop these micro-cracks, a crackling effect throughout the entire glass. Some have even formed full on cracks in the base of the glass. Now, they don't leak, but it's really unattractive and not what I want my glasses to look like.
Makes me laugh, since they clearly state that they won't crack and they're dishwasher safe.
Cons: crack
Review 11 for DuraClear(R) Tumblers, Set of 6
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
RFish
,Lexington
,KY
July 30, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
These used to be a favorite
July 30, 2013
Years ago, I bought a set of these DuraClear® Tumblers for use around the pool. I loved them so much, I bought myself another set and many sets as gifts. After about 12 years of constant use, there is no cloudiness to the set at all. There are a few tiny cracks developing around the tops so I felt it was time to buy some more. I loved the old, summer colors and although I am not crazy about the new smokey colors, I bought some blue ones to make a set. I've only used one of them once and washed it in the dishwasher. There are tiny cracks in the material. I don't know what they've done to the material composite, but if this is how they look after just one use, I cannot imagine serving anything in them at all by the end of the summer. And to think my 12 year old ones look much better than this.
Cons: Not Durable, Quality, Difficult to Clean, Fragile, Color
Review 12 for DuraClear(R) Tumblers, Set of 6
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DALEX
,Santa Fe
,NM
July 25, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for our morning tea
July 25, 2013
We have had a few sets of this tumbler over the years. It does stain and become cloudy when you use it for tea or coffee, but it can go in the microwave without shattering, so it's a trade off. We found that they can be filled with white vinegar and left overnight to remove staining.
Review 13 for DuraClear(R) Tumblers, Set of 6
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
KatLovesLife
,Stillwater
,MN
July 13, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This product changed? Not DW safe
July 13, 2013
Wow what a disappointment. I bought these a couple of years ago and loved them. Loved drinking in them, entertaining inside and outside with them; so much that I went and purchased more this year and in a month they are ruined. Cracked, clouded, totally wrecked. Just emailed customer service. I want a refund.
Pros: Good for Entertaining, Weight
Cons: Not Durable, Fragile, crack scratch in dishwasher...
Review 14 for DuraClear(R) Tumblers, Set of 6
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
twoandahalfkids
,Washington DC
June 20, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Did the product change?
June 20, 2013
Shortly after my first child was born one of our normal glasses fell and broke. The baby was on the carpet nearby & I immediately said never again...and went straight out to buy 2 dozen each of these tall and short tumblers and the wine glasses. This was 7 years ago and I have never been happier with a purchase as I have with this one! My glasses have been in dishwasher hundreds of times, they have never cracked or gotten cloudy. Because they look like glass they have been used at BBQs, indoor semi upscale family gatherings when children are involved and we continued to use them everyday. I was about to purchase another set as a gift but saw all the bad reviews and now won't get them. It's a shame b/c these glasses really are fabulous. Hope they go back to the original way of making them...because they truly are worth the money.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Balance, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Appearance, Versatile, Weight
Review 15 for DuraClear(R) Tumblers, Set of 6
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Zellchuck
,Fullerton
,CA
June 7, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+13points
13of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Quality Control Issue
June 7, 2013
I bought both sizes of the tumbler and all cracked, eventually all the way through. Do not purchase these unless you want to hand-wash them. This is the worst product I have purchased from WS ever. I am very disappointed.
Cons: Not Durable, Quality, Difficult to Clean, Difficult to Store, High-Maintenance
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 16 for DuraClear(R) Tumblers, Set of 6
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
tuulikki
,dublin
,oh
June 2, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
not dish washer safe
June 2, 2013
while the glasses are beautiful to look at, they are completely useless if you intend to clean them in the dishwasher. mine emerged from the top shelf with crackles and fine scratches all over, too many to overlook. I had to return them. they are NOT dishwasher safe!!!
Williams Sonoma should mention that in their product description.
Pros: Color, Appearance
Cons: Not Durable, Quality, Difficult to Clean, High-Maintenance, Fragile, not dish washer safe
Review 17 for DuraClear(R) Tumblers, Set of 6
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DiSK
June 1, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not as advertised
June 1, 2013
I agree with the other reviews. These glasses almost immediately clouded and looked cracked. I had an old set I had gotten years ago that held up great. The new glasses are not well made....and for the price I would never recommend them.
Review 18 for DuraClear(R) Tumblers, Set of 6
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous
,Hermosa Beach
,CA
June 1, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
DuraClear - cracks
June 1, 2013
We purchased two different sizes of the DuraClear glasses. Two weeks later we are packing them up to return as they are showing signs of cracking (little speckled cracks throughout the glasses and star cracks on the bottoms). We also were not thrilled with the very noticeable seam on each glass; very disappointed.
Review 19 for DuraClear(R) Tumblers, Set of 6
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Kim2
,Coppell
,Tx
May 30, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointing
May 30, 2013
I have had a set of DuraClear Tumblers for over 5 years and I wanted to add another set. The old set looks like new. The new set cracked and clouded right away. The new set has a design change with a seam on the base of the tumbler. I think the seam weakens the glass in the dishwasher.
Pros: Size, Weight, great outdoors
Cons: Quality
Review 20 for DuraClear(R) Tumblers, Set of 6
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sunshineri
,East Greenwich
,RI
May 13, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Glasses scratched and clouded almost immediately
May 13, 2013
I love Williams Sonoma products and have never been disappointed with anything, but these glasses scratched and clouded almost immediately. We only wash them in a new Miele dishwasher, always on the top rack, and they look terrible. Very surprising and disappointing for WS and for the cost.
Cons: clouded, scratched, disappointing quality for the cost
page1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next