DuraClear(R) Osteria Stemless Red Wineglass, Set of 6

These casual stemless glasses for red wine have an incredible light-reflecting clarity-you might mistake them for true glass. Now made in the USA from an extremely durable polycarbonate, the glasses are perfect for poolside parties, picnics and barbecues. Set of six stemless wine tumblers, ideal for serving red wines outdoors and poolside. DuraClear food-grade polycarbonate won't crack, shatter, break, cloud or discolor. Glasses maintain their clarity even through regular use and washing. For cold beverages only. Dishwasher safe.
Average Customer Rating:
1.182 out of 5
1.2
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
1 of 11(9%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for DuraClear(R) Osteria Stemless Red Wineglass, Set of 6
Review 1 for DuraClear(R) Osteria Stemless Red Wineglass, Set of 6
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ATXgirl
,Austin
,TX
July 4, 2014
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Issues with these glasses are still an issue
July 4, 2014
I read all the negative reviews before purchasing these glasses. However b/c they were on sale and WS implied that the crackling issues had be resolved, I decided to take a chance and order them. They were beautiful and my husband didn't even know they were plastic. I purposely used them the day I recieved them and put them in the top rack of our Bosch dishwasher. First time, no issues. Used them again last night and again put them in the top rack of our dw. This time they came out with hairline cracks and the issues that people have been complaining about are evident. With only 2 days in my possession and 2 trips to the dw, they are now junk.They are going back to WS tomorrow.
Pros: Personalization, Size
Cons: Not Durable, crackling after only 2 times in dishwasher
Review 2 for DuraClear(R) Osteria Stemless Red Wineglass, Set of 6
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
roadster
,Lena
,IL
June 26, 2014
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
scratch easily
June 26, 2014
I bought the 2014 version a couple of weeks ago and they are scratched from being handwashed with a rough sponge. If you are very gentle with them they will look nice.
Pros: Good for Entertaining, Balance, Color, Size, Appearance, Versatile, Design, Weight
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Clean
Review 3 for DuraClear(R) Osteria Stemless Red Wineglass, Set of 6
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
KayLeo
,Houston
,TX
Houston, TX
June 16, 2014
Would You Recommend? No
+8points
9of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
WHY DIDN'T I LISTEN TO THE REVIEWS?!
June 16, 2014
These scratch so easily! I'm not even sure if they are scratches or cracks, but they just look awful. They are unattractive now and I've only had them for a few weeks. Definitely not dishwasher safe! Good thing I was still within the 30 day return period!
I really wanted these to work out. The variety of colors looks so festive and are perfect for outdoor parties.
Pros: Good for Entertaining, Size
Cons: Not Durable, Quality
Review 4 for DuraClear(R) Osteria Stemless Red Wineglass, Set of 6
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
earnedit
,Cullman
,Al
Alabama
January 27, 2014
Would You Recommend? No
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Won't cloud is bs
January 27, 2014
Received from daughter for Fathers Day. Less than 3 years old and extremely cloudy. Cheaper to buy good glass and have them broken.
Review 5 for DuraClear(R) Osteria Stemless Red Wineglass, Set of 6
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Carlco
December 17, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Defective Product
December 17, 2013
Much like others we bought these in hopes that they would have similar quality to past DuraClears. They do not. They crackle after being in the top rack of the dishwasher and are rendered unusable. Returned the first set and was told the 2nd set would be ok but had the same result. Very disappointed. Zero Stars.
Cons: Not Durable, crackle
Response from Williams-Sonomaby GlasswareJune 9, 2014
We take customer feedback seriously. To address quality issues we experienced with our 2013 Duraclear products, we have instituted rigorous procedures with our manufacturer. Our 2014 products should not have issues with crazing or scratching and will maintain their glass-like clarity after dishwasher cleaning, as designed. Our customer-service team is reaching out to affected customers to send replacements.
Review 6 for DuraClear(R) Osteria Stemless Red Wineglass, Set of 6
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
drdab
,Seattle
,WA
December 7, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Material crazes after dishwasher use
December 7, 2013
Much like others, we found that all our glasses have crazed after a few times in the top shelf of our dishwasher. The result is a set of glasses that look cheap and ugly. I am really disappointed with the purchase and hope the manufacture updates the material or the product is no longer sold.
Pros: Weight
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Clean
Response from Williams-Sonomaby GlasswareJune 9, 2014
We take customer feedback seriously. To address quality issues we experienced with our 2013 Duraclear products, we have instituted rigorous procedures with our manufacturer. Our 2014 products should not have issues with crazing or scratching and will maintain their glass-like clarity after dishwasher cleaning, as designed. Our customer-service team is reaching out to affected customers to send replacements.
Review 7 for DuraClear(R) Osteria Stemless Red Wineglass, Set of 6
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
BeckySC
,Columbia
,SC
September 17, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Did NOT hold up in dishwasher
September 17, 2013
I wanted these for a long time. Plastic glasses that look and feel like glass. I was happy I got this on sale especially because they did not stay clear. I washed them on the top rack and it looks like there may have been some minor cracks and water leaked in between layers or something? We'll see how long they last. They still hold liquid for now, just look bad. If I had paid full price and had a William Sonoma close to me I'd be returning these.
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Store
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Response from Williams-Sonomaby GlasswareJune 9, 2014
We take customer feedback seriously. To address quality issues we experienced with our 2013 Duraclear products, we have instituted rigorous procedures with our manufacturer. Our 2014 products should not have issues with crazing or scratching and will maintain their glass-like clarity after dishwasher cleaning, as designed. Our customer-service team is reaching out to affected customers to send replacements.
Review 8 for DuraClear(R) Osteria Stemless Red Wineglass, Set of 6
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
RITAGONZ
,Hudson
,MA
August 4, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Heartbreaking Summer Serving
August 4, 2013
I bought these early in the summer along with the GORGEOUS yellow melamine plates, to add some out door pizzaz. I bought the clear last year, and they still hold up. These however, after the first dishwash look HORRIBLE, with crackled inside the polymer walls. I just took a picture and am going to tweet. My husband says I should return - they are expensive, and NO they are not dishwasher safe as claimed. So SAD!
Cons: Not Durable, Quality, High-Maintenance
Response from Williams-Sonomaby GlasswareJune 9, 2014
We take customer feedback seriously. To address quality issues we experienced with our 2013 Duraclear products, we have instituted rigorous procedures with our manufacturer. Our 2014 products should not have issues with crazing or scratching and will maintain their glass-like clarity after dishwasher cleaning, as designed. Our customer-service team is reaching out to affected customers to send replacements.
Review 9 for DuraClear(R) Osteria Stemless Red Wineglass, Set of 6
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Digsdrwho
,Rutheron
,Nm
March 23, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Margarita Glasses
March 23, 2013
I bought these glasses last summer. They were good quality, but really large. I was not expecting the very large size. My mistake as I did not read that they hold 16oz. Beware if you want a smaller cup.
Pros: Quality, hold up in dishwasher
Cons: too large
Review 10 for DuraClear(R) Osteria Stemless Red Wineglass, Set of 6
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
BexAll
,Overland Park
,KS
March 19, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+17points
17of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Quality of 2013 glasses is inferior to 2012 design
March 19, 2013
I bought a few of these glasses last year and really like them. I wanted more. However, the 2013 model is very disappointing. The quality is quite inferior to last year's glasses. This year's glasses have obvious seams down the side of the glass. They are less substantial. The side walls are thinner and the bottom is not as heavy. The bottom does not have the clever vacuum prevention notch, which keeps a sweating glass from sticking to a counter, coaster, etc., that the 2012 glasses have. I will not be spending my money on these glasses. The 2013 glasses are definitely not up to the standards that I expect from Williams Sonoma. I hope the Williams Sonoma QC department takes note and returns to the vastly superior 2012 design in the future.
Pros: compared to the 2012 glasses there are no pros.
Cons: obvious side wall seams, thin side walls, thin bottom, no vacuum prevention notch on the base
Review 11 for DuraClear(R) Osteria Stemless Red Wineglass, Set of 6
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JoBeNu
,Willoughby
,Oh
January 11, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+9points
9of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Red wine stains
January 11, 2013
My husband bought these for my birthday. We loved them initially, but over time, red wine has stained the inside the glasses. I tried to return them to the store and the unfriendly associate told me to try bar keepers friend. I just spent 30 minutes scrubbing these glasses to get the stains and red cloudiness out. My nails are now peeling & my fingertips are like sandpaper. I am REALLY not happy at all! I don't even want to use them anymore because I don't want the hassle of cleaning them again!
Pros: beautiful when new
Cons: stains, red wine build up, cloudiness
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Customer avatar
victorbravo
Los Angeles, CA
Posted July 31, 2014
Cleaning DuraClear
OK. Now. Granted, my DC stemless wine glasses are of the superior pre-2013 issue… but I can still help with cleaning tips. When using polycarb glasses for red wine they will begin to look dark and stained after awhile. It is inevitable. When this happens, I fill a sink with warm water and a large scoop of OxiClean and let the glasses soak overnight. Make sure they are all filled and submerged. In the morning, I give a little scrub to the interior stains, drain, rinse, and hand wash in mild dish detergent. My DuraClear glasses all still look great after years of constant poolside use… Why? I do not put them in the dishwasher. Ever. No matter the quality, the heat of the dishwasher and harsh detergent will take a toll on polycarb. It takes all of five minutes to hand wash with a soft sponge and they will last MUCH longer.
0points
Customer avatar
SueSue2
New York
Posted May 26, 2013
Top 10 Contributor
Please be careful how you clean DuraClear Glasses
As per Wikipedia, "Sodium hypochlorite bleach and other alkali cleaners catalyze the release of the bisphenol A from polycarbonate containers".
Bisphenol A is BPA
0points
Customer avatar
ChefMichaelM
Oregon
Posted May 13, 2013
A better way to clean stains
Boiling water and OxyClean will get the most horrible stains out of most everything including tea and coffee from stainless steel. Just let it sit for 5 minutes and rinse. :)
0points
Customer avatar
Hobknobb
Posted May 6, 2013
Red Wine Stain Removal
A simple solution of chlorine bleach and water will take the stains out. Using Bar Keepers is gritty and I would think ruin the glasses. However, the bleach solution as help with many food and drink stains on things like Tupperware, clear plastic glasses, etc. Good luck.
0points
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)