Momofuku Milk Bar Cookie Mix

Satisfy your wildest cookie cravings with our easy-to-use mixes from Christina Tosi-the genius pastry chef at Manhattan's famous Momofuku Milk Bar. Tosi developed the mixes to re-create her rich, buttery signature cookies, with their irresistible combinations of salty and sweet, creamy and crunchy. Blueberry & Cream mix is packed with sweet dried blueberries and creamy white-chocolate milk crumbs. Corn mix captures the sweet corn flavor of a favorite childhood breakfast cereal. Compost mix is packed with chocolate and butterscotch chips, oats, graham crackers and coffee - add your own favorite potato chips and pretzels. Blueberry & Cream, 1 lb., 5.5 oz.; Corn, 12.7 oz.; Compost, 1 lb., 1.7 oz. Each makes 12 traditional cookies or 9 Milk Bar-style cookies. Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
3.629 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
22 of 35(63%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Momofuku Milk Bar Cookie Mix
Review 1 for Momofuku Milk Bar Cookie Mix
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
megara
,Macomb
,MI
February 23, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Momofuku milk bar corn cookies
February 23, 2014
I made these cookies with great expectations per reviews and the success of their NYC bakery. The texture was wonderful, the taste not so much. I felt they would have tasted much better with the addition of crushed frosted flakes or Momofuku's recipe for Cornflake Crunch (found online on several websites).
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare
Cons: Flavor
Review 2 for Momofuku Milk Bar Cookie Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mariatini
,Upstate
,NY
Albany, NY
January 7, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Compost Cookies
January 7, 2014
My family loved the Compost Cookies. I made the mix, shaped them into 9 large cookie balls, and froze them. At Christmastime, the "home-from-college crowd" baked them and raved over them. I will definitely buy them again. Recommended!
Pros: Decadent, Flavor
Review 3 for Momofuku Milk Bar Cookie Mix
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
cook4
,Detroit-area
,MI
December 23, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointing
December 23, 2013
I knew it was expensive when I bought it, and the reviews said it was a lot of hassle to bake for a box recipe. I was surprised by how salty it was (blueberry & white chocolate). One cookie served for tasting - the balance went into the trash.
Pros: Quality
Cons: Disappointing, Time to Prepare, Flavor
Review 4 for Momofuku Milk Bar Cookie Mix
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Natab0525
,NJ
August 25, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A bit complicated for a box mix
August 25, 2013
There were alot of steps for a box mix of cookies. If I want to resort to a box mix, I want ease. I'm willing to put in alot of effort for something with a big taste payout but I felt like these didn't deliver. I wasn't thrilled with how they tasted, the def didn't wow me. Not worth the price or time in my opinion.
Pros: Flavor
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Ingredients, Time to Prepare, Difficult to Prepare
Review 5 for Momofuku Milk Bar Cookie Mix
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Skirish
,Austin
,TX
July 28, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Complicated for a mix but delicious
July 28, 2013
I tried the blueberries and cream mix, and it was delicious. The cookies were big and tasty and everyone loved them. However, there were a number of steps for something that was supposed to be a mix. I feel like I could have done this from scratch with the same result. I buy mixes to save time, and this is definitely not a time saver. They sure are yummy, though.
Pros: Decadent, Flavor
Cons: Ingredients, Time to Prepare
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 6 for Momofuku Milk Bar Cookie Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
depaullaw
,Il
Illinois
February 12, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Compost WELL worth the time & $
February 12, 2013
The salesperson at the store told me the more you add in, the better! So I did! I doubled the pretzels & the chips & smashed them up good! Read all the directions all the way thru before you start - they take some simple attention to make but are rich & AWESOME in the end!!
Review 7 for Momofuku Milk Bar Cookie Mix
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
LaurenK
,Dallas
,TX
January 21, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
-3points
1of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
They can do better for $15
January 21, 2013
Directions: maybe they should make them before selling for $15. I would do much better with a scratch recipe and pay much less. I am guessing that the directions are wrong or poorly done. Did the italian chef use an interpreter?
Cons: poor directions
Review 8 for Momofuku Milk Bar Cookie Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FlowersNYC
,NYC
November 16, 2012
Ability level:Novice
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy Bake Mix: Compost Cookie
November 16, 2012
This was so easy to make. You have to wait before baking (at least an hour to a wk). I put mine in the freezer for an hour. 3 major steps: a) prepare graham cracker mix using little melted butter + chill while you move onto step b. b) beat ingredients according to specific speeds/times and then chill. c) bake (don't overbake, it hardens a bit when you take it out later, giving you that crispy, chewiness the brick/mortar store has. Directions are not laborious, it's really simple. Looks laborious due to the amount of text. I only baked 3 cookies because I like small batches. I skipped the pretzels and used potato chips: came out very well. Timings--crucial especially with the oven. So buttery, you don't want to burn this. Amount you pay for the mix + the butter/egg/chips/pretzels--the price is cheaper than buying in store already made. Your rent + gas costs money, but we all know you're "saving" a lot more making your own.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Cons: Time to Prepare
Review 9 for Momofuku Milk Bar Cookie Mix
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
NurseBeth
,Edmonton
,AB
November 4, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tastes Great - Lots of Effort
November 4, 2012
I was so excited to see a Momofuku product that I jumped at the chance to buy it even though it was $22. I was surprised that the instructions were so labor-intensive for a mix. I think it took me longer to make these than it would've to make something from scratch. The end result was delicious & worth the effort!! The 1 thing I would do differently would be to make the cookies smaller than the instructions suggested - there ended up being 9 huge cookies. Overall, a good product.
Pros: Authentic, Quality, Flavor, Great Gift
Cons: Time to Prepare, Difficult to Prepare
Review 10 for Momofuku Milk Bar Cookie Mix
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JNash
October 29, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
NOT Yummy!
October 29, 2012
I received the Blueberry and Cream cookies as a gift. I do bake frequently, however usually from scratch. As many people have said, the instructions are pretty laborious so be prepared. I found the cookies to have a very strange aftertaste. Also, I would be careful microwaving the white chocolate as the directions stated...try 15-30 sec intervals. I ended up cooking the white chocolate after 1 min of heating time. Definitely not worth the effort!
Cons: Disappointing, Time to Prepare, Difficult to Prepare, Flavor
Review 11 for Momofuku Milk Bar Cookie Mix
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
FatesWarn
,West Chester
,PA
West Chester, PA
October 14, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not worth $16
October 14, 2012
I love Momofuku for its innovative ideas (a milk shake made with 'Cereal Milk' is pretty creative), but paying $16 for a box mix that doesn't even provide all the dry ingredients is ridiculous. I went for the Compost Cookie because that's my favorite from the shop. I had to buy my own pretzels and potato chips (really). The directions call for refrigerating the cookies for at least one hour - I recommend at least 2 (if you insist on paying $16 for a basic cookie mix). The second batch came out better since it was in the fridge longer. I also opted to make reasonably normal size cookies - using a 2 TB scoop.
My recommendation: make a scratch cookie and throw in the add-ins that you want. If you are close enough to NYC - stock up when you're in town and stick them in the freezer -their cookies freeze well.
Pros: Quality, Great Gift
Cons: Time to Prepare
Review 12 for Momofuku Milk Bar Cookie Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jules4
,CA
July 2, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect Compost Cookies!
July 2, 2012
I made the Compost Cookies and they turned out amazing! Not sure why others had a bad experience. I followed the directions, nearly to a t. The only change I made was to bake the cookies an extra couple of minutes. They were huge! They came out crisp on the edges and chewy in the middle. Lots of flavor in each bite! Would definitely make them again!
Pros: Texture, Quality, Flavor
Cons: Time to Prepare
Review 13 for Momofuku Milk Bar Cookie Mix
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
kittyb
Waldwick, NJ
June 29, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not What I Expected
June 29, 2012
I heard so much about these cookies and was disappointed at the taste and how daunting it was to prepare. I purchased the corn cookies. The texture was a bit strange and I followed the directions. I think I would prefer to make cookies from scratch, I don't think it would cost as much as this cookie mix does. Oh well, maybe a trip to Momofuku to taste them there before I write them off.
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Difficult to Prepare, Flavor
Review 14 for Momofuku Milk Bar Cookie Mix
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Richelle
,Barbados
June 5, 2012
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Be ready for the extra time it takes before baking
June 5, 2012
So my friend bought me a the blueberries and creme version of these cookies as a reminder of my favorite store back in the States. After she left I immediately opened the box all ready to just add "butter and an egg". Like the other reviews said, be prepared for the extra steps. These are not just mix and go cookies by far.
The cookies are very rich and delicious. I'm only taking off a star because I was NOT mentally prepared for the hour and a half it took before these babies were ready to bake. Just saying, for all that work I may have well just made cookies from scratch.
Also, I've never been to the bakery that inspired these cookies so I'm not sure what the text is supposed to be. I wanted semi-soft cookies but every batch I made has a distinct crunch to them. It's neither a pro nor a con just an observation
Pros: Quality, Flavor
Cons: Time to Prepare
Review 15 for Momofuku Milk Bar Cookie Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WinebyDesign
,Los Angeles
,CA
April 30, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The best box cookie ever!
April 30, 2012
These cookies are AMAZING! They are a little more work than your traditional "boxed" cookie mix, but worth it! The blueberry & cream is my favorite - and I have had several requests to make them again. You will not be disappointed!!
Pros: Texture, Quality, Flavor
Review 16 for Momofuku Milk Bar Cookie Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lvpurpl
,Seattle
,WA
Seattle, WA
April 11, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Unique and Yummy!
April 11, 2012
I followed the directions and cookies turned out perfectly! They take some extra time and extra steps but so worth it!
I made the Blueberry Cream cookies and I absolutely recommend you try this mix.
Pros: Quality, Flavor
Review 17 for Momofuku Milk Bar Cookie Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
geekandsquare
,Hove, England
March 24, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Even pros and in the knows will love these!
March 24, 2012
Not a usual straight forward packet recipe but the little extra effort is well worth it! That said, instructions are easy to follow.
I echo all of the positives. I also agree with the comment about oven temperature, keep an eye on them.
They are chewy, buttery and delicious. Very satisfying!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Decadent, Flavor
Review 18 for Momofuku Milk Bar Cookie Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
malarkey
,Austin
,TX
March 19, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
if these cookies didn't turn out delicious...
March 19, 2012
then you didn't make them right. I even fudged a few things and they were still fabulous. Yes, they have a unique process, but they also have a unique flavor profile.
I got the blueberry white chocolate ones. While mixing, I noticed I didn't have any eggs. Whoops. So a threw in some oatmeal. Still, the dough wasn't cohesive enough so I threw it in the fridge till the next day.
I let the dough come up to room temp, & added the egg. Mixed it up well. I made & chilled the dough balls, but not for the full amount of time. I baked for the minimum amount of time listed. (c'mon people, ANY time you do a new recipe always choose the LEAST amount of cooking time. You can always add but you can't take away.)
Another thing: toasting the milk powder: I toasted to a darker color than the recipe called for, it was definitely golden brown, like a brown sugar color.
These cookies were fabulous. I was surprised at how good they are. They are RICH, 2 and a glass of frosty milk and I was satisfied.
Pros: Quality, Decadent, Flavor
Cons: none. these are worth the extra steps.
Review 19 for Momofuku Milk Bar Cookie Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jellybean3
,dewitt
,MI
March 5, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent cookies!
March 5, 2012
Great cookies! Tried the mix for the first time today and loved it! Instead of adding the chips and pretzels I added oatmeal. Very good result! My guest loved them!
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Healthy
Review 20 for Momofuku Milk Bar Cookie Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kitchnwitchn
,Havre de Grace
,MD
February 20, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Spreading the cookie love
February 20, 2012
Why all the haters?
I made the compost cookies for an after dinner treat...started before we ate and finished them up as the dishes were being cleared. Not a challenge to mix up and no big deal timewise!
They were fabulous and, as I said, a TREAT! Don't eat them all in one sitting if the butter content gives you a case of the hives! ;)
Pros: Texture, Quality, Decadent, Flavor, yum!
page1 2 next