This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Momofuku Cooking Sauces

Chef David Chang's award-winning Momofuku restaurants are legendary for their creative spin on Asian flavors. Inspired by the innovative menus at these Manhattan hotspots, our sauces were developed by Momofuku to complement an array of meats and vegetables. All-natural sauces help you create delicious Asian flavors quickly and easily. Great with chicken, beef, pork, seafood, vegetables or tofu. Both varieties start with premium Japanese soy sauce and aromatic sake mirin, accented by hints of tangy rice vinegar. Clay Pot is a classic sweet-and-tangy infusion of lemongrass, star anise, cinnamon and coriander; perfect for clay-pot cooking, braising or noodle soup. Braising Sauce has the delicate sweetness of pear and apple juice, with habanero peppers for a hint of spicy heat; great for marinating, braising and sous vide cooking. 16 oz. Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.7 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
19 of 20(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Momofuku Cooking Sauces
Review 1 for Momofuku Cooking Sauces
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Esskay
March 18, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
BUT it doesn't matter if it is good . . . .
March 18, 2014
It is no longer available, WS is making quite a name for itself with helpful sauces and mixes that you try once and then they disappear from their shelves. Too bad if you liked it, you can no longer purchase.
Review 2 for Momofuku Cooking Sauces
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gmkathy2
,Metro Atlanta
,GA
metro Atlanta via Massachusetts
February 23, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
No longer available?
February 23, 2014
We love these sauces! Why are they no longer available?
Pros: Amount, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 3 for Momofuku Cooking Sauces
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RichardF
,Shaaakopee
,MN
April 12, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Two of my favorite braising sauces
April 12, 2013
I've used both the clay pot and braising sauces for elk roasts and each has turned out excellent. Usually just add onion and a couple garlic cloves and serve over brown rice & vegetables.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 4 for Momofuku Cooking Sauces
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NYCgal18
,NY
,NY
March 1, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Easy and delicious
March 1, 2013
I have used the braising sauce for short ribs (following the recipe on the bottle but cooking in slow cooker) many times and the results are always delicious. The recipe calls for using 1 whole bottle for each batch of short ribs, which gets pricey when you consider the cost of the bottle and all of the other ingredients. It is a nice treat, nonetheless.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 5 for Momofuku Cooking Sauces
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sugardough
,Los Angeles
,CA
February 12, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Best braising sauce!
February 12, 2013
We cooked braised short ribs with the momofuku braising sauce last night, and it turned out amazing. It's sweet and tarte with a clean after-taste. You have to use the entire bottle to cook 3 lbs of bone-in short ribs, so it can get pricey if you're cooking for a big group. But it's definitely worth it! I've never had braising sauce with such a clean aftertaste.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Cons: Amount
Review 6 for Momofuku Cooking Sauces
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BaltimoreBrian
Baltimore
February 6, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Super easy and delicious
February 6, 2013
Clay pot sauce:
I followed the recipe exactly as written on the bottle with a huge piece of pork shoulder, carrots, onions and a daikon radish. All I had to do was brown the meat, brown the veges, add the sauce and leave in the oven for 3-4 hours.
The meal was excellent over rice and even better the next day (as is if often the case with slow-cooked meals). I disagree with those who said it was too sweet. It had a wonderful citrus and Asian flavor to it. Definitely worthy of a restaurant. I highly recommend.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 7 for Momofuku Cooking Sauces
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
10splayer
,Fremont
,CA
December 12, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Fantastic short ribs!
December 12, 2012
I have tried many short ribs receipes including top restaurants and this is so easy and it's so delicious that your guest will want your receipe. Try it you'll like it. WS Keep this item in stock!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 8 for Momofuku Cooking Sauces
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bamboo311
,Overseas
October 27, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
On the sweet side
October 27, 2012
Glad I gave the braising sauce a try but I probably won't buy it again due to the sweetness.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Time-saver
Cons: sweet
Review 9 for Momofuku Cooking Sauces
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dafjdf
,Anaheim
,CA
Orange County, CA
April 12, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Simple & Amazing
April 12, 2012
Give it a try. You won't be disappointed. I tried the Clay Pot Sauce with the WS chicken recipe online. SUPER delicious and SUPER easy.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor, Great Gift
Cons: expensive
Review 10 for Momofuku Cooking Sauces
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
chefintraining
,Northern
,VA
February 23, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
sweet and good
February 23, 2012
I did the WS recipe as stated in catalog - I I loved it - was wonderful - but- my husband felt it was too sweet and he was not that impressed - I recommend you trying it with your family- afterall my hubby is a new yorker and very picky - I also recommend maybe just doing legs and thighs where the meat is more tender.
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Good for Entertaining, Flavor
Review 11 for Momofuku Cooking Sauces
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AnnfromAK
,Kenai
,AK
February 13, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Even leftover moose for ramen great!
February 13, 2012
I had some moose swiss steak left in the freezer. Usually you have to marinate moose in sugarfree Red Bull and Montreal steak seasoning to get the gamey taste out. The Clay Pot sauce was wonderful! Leftovers were sliced thin the next day and served with ramen noodles, prawns, and scallops. Yummy!
Pros: Texture, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift, great with game!
Review 12 for Momofuku Cooking Sauces
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ramgg0609
,Mountain View
,CA
bay area, ca
January 4, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
So yummy, so good!
January 4, 2012
Since i cook for two, i used one jar on two separate dinners. It's so good! And for me, it's the perfect amount of spice. On the first night, i used it braise with beef short ribs, and then nestled them over mashed potatoes. MMM!!! 3 nights after that, i braised pork bellies and made pork belly tacos with pickled slaw. MMMMM!!!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor
Review 13 for Momofuku Cooking Sauces
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bemelodious
,Long Beach
,CA
Long Beach, CA
November 16, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Momofu-tastic
November 16, 2011
So delicious and so easy to make. I used the recipe on the bottle; can't wait to try other meats and veggies with this.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 14 for Momofuku Cooking Sauces
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
KAlecia
,New York
,NY
October 24, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Not so great for the price
October 24, 2011
The sauce was ok - definitely very sweet. Will need some modifications - for the price, I wouldn't recommend. Taste better if you mix your own ingredients.
Review 15 for Momofuku Cooking Sauces
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
,chicago
October 23, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Perfect Sunday dinner
October 23, 2011
I made the pork shoulder recipe that's on the jar. Amazing. So tender, so flavorful. Sort of like an Asian pot roast. Will be buying this again and making it often.
Pros: Time-saver, Flavor
Review 16 for Momofuku Cooking Sauces
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Boxster
Oregon
June 30, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Great product
June 30, 2011
I loved the Asian flavors, and used it to braise a pork shoulder with daikon radish. Really really great dinner.
Review 17 for Momofuku Cooking Sauces
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
civano
Grand Rapids, MI
June 12, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Delicious Sauces for Braising
June 12, 2011
I recently bought a Le Creuset dutch oven and both of these sauces at Williams-Sonoma. Both sauces are absolutely delicious and the meat was so tender. I was pleasantly surprised at how wonderful the sauces tasted. They are a little sweet but I love a slightly sweet sauce. I will definitely be buying these again and I've even checked out the Momfuku cookbook from the library to see if there were any other recipes or ideas for delicious food.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Flavor
Cons: expensive
Review 18 for Momofuku Cooking Sauces
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Renorose
Pa
June 4, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Superb for Braising
June 4, 2011
I braised a 3 lb pork butt with the recommended vegetables and cooking sauce in a crock pot all day. At the end of the day we enjoyed whole grain flat breads topped with tender/tasty pulled pork and slivered veggies. Husband requested I come back to WS for more.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 19 for Momofuku Cooking Sauces
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SkySilk
Honolulu, HI
May 25, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Fool-proof and delicious!
May 25, 2011
I purchased 2 Momofuku sauces and a clay pot. Adjustments made to the directions on the bottle of the asian braising sauce were the addition of an extra carrot, cutting my very large onion into 6ths instead of 4ths, and using flap meat instead of short ribs. The result was a very tasty, juicy, and tender asian style stew. It would have been absolutely perfect if it was slightly less sweet.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Great Gift
Cons: sweet
Review 20 for Momofuku Cooking Sauces
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Winston Salem, NC
May 24, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
excellent sauce
May 24, 2011
I used this sauce as a marinade for grilled chicken and it was awesome. Chicken was moist and tender with a wonderful flavor.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Healthy, Great Gift