Molcajete

The mortar and pestle carved from volcanic rock is among the world's oldest kitchen tools. Our molcajete (mortar) and tejolete (pestle) are hand carved from a single piece of basalt rock, making each piece unique. Ideal for crushing whole spices. Great for serving guacamole. Line with lettuce leaves to use as a serving bowl. Hand carved from a single piece of basalt rock. Rough interior texture of bowl helps grind ingredients. Heavy pestle does work for you. No two are exactly alike.
Average Customer Rating:
4.261 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
19 of 23(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Molcajete
Review 1 for Molcajete
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cookenthusiast
November 13, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Lifetime quality
November 13, 2014
Beautiful and quite large. I ground the dry rice in it, then rinsed and once dry rubbed it down with olive oil. It brought out the color beautifully and absolutely no loose sand. LOVE IT!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design
Review 2 for Molcajete
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mlblueval
,Scranton
,PA
July 23, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love my Molcajete
July 23, 2014
My molcajete is a wonderful addition to my kitchen tools. It's larger than I expected and I love it more than the standard mortar & pestle I was using. Really does a great job!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 3 for Molcajete
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Doofus
,Crazy
,Ar
June 4, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
+7points
9of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Useless for food
June 4, 2014
I don't know what all these other 5 star reviews are talking about. I ran two whole bags of rice through this thing and a bunch of salt. Took a wire brush after it. Nothing will stop it from putting out grit constantly. It only gets 2 stars because it serves as a decorative bowl in the living room now. It is extremely porous. There is a restaurant here that serves a dish in one of these. Theirs are nowhere near this porous and appear to have been seasoned or something as they actually cook the dish in the molcajete. Like I said, this is useless for food unless there is some kind of seasoning method nobody knows about. This does not appear to be the right kind of basalt, if indeed it even is. I just went and got a giant thai granite mortar and pestle, easy to clean and it works every time without messing about with this junk.
Cons: Quality
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Anii
New York City
Posted July 11, 2014
Totally agree with reviewer
I purchased and returned this item...my experience is identical to this reviewer. Do not waste your time...buy a different one. I am an advanced cook.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Molcajete
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Almafierro
,Mckinney
,Tx
March 4, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I love it!!!
March 4, 2014
I have to say I love this product!! I went to a Mexican store out here in Texas to buy one this past week I got it for 15 bucks but it smelled funny . I think it is made of concrete and if not sure then it's better not to use it !! I looked online And found this one on Williams Sonoma . It is pricey but I think definitely worth every penny !! I finished seasoning it I used coarse sea salt and white rice till it came out clear. Which didn't take me that long only about 3 4 hours lol. But I didn't mind it. I can't wait to get home today and make a delicious salsa in it and grind up my spices just like my mom taught me. I moved to Texas from California so I no longer have access to my moms molcajete. :( but I'm looking forward to many pleasant memories with this bad boy ! Lol. So happy and to everyone who says it doesn't come with instructions. Mine came with instructions on how to preseason it and instructions on how to make fresh guacamole in it!! :)
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 5 for Molcajete
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wfo439
,San Ramon
,CA
November 24, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
2of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Real Deal
November 24, 2013
Don't waste your time at flea markets or elsewhere. Definitely basalt lava rock based on porosity and hardness. Identical to the one my Mexican ex-wife had. Don't believe the "pre-seasoned" claims. I used one turn dried corn, one turn dried pinto beans, 2 turns dry white rice, one turn wet white rice. After washing the "successful" white wet rice" grind, I could see small bits of lava rock in my white porcelain sink. 2 grinds of kosher salt later nothing was visible in the rinse. The flea market version purchased by a Mexican friend and her father proved to be a concrete composite after twice the work and pressure washing, it sheds rock shards from washing with a stiff brush. :-(
Pros: wish i had purchased it sooner!
Cons: recommend standard seasoning process for molcajete
Review 6 for Molcajete
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ellymay
,brooklyn
,ny
October 30, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best home made guacamole
October 30, 2013
Love this molcajete. Recommend that you buy at store because they are all different... some bigger, some more symmetrical, etc. When I read the tag in the box it said it was pre-seasoned and ready to use ,so we just washed it with a little brush bought just for this.
Plan to give one for Xmas.
Review 7 for Molcajete
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lalolita
,San Antonio
,TX
August 1, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Molcajete in Boston
August 1, 2013
This is a wedding gift for my son, a surgery resident in Boston, also an excellent Tex-Mex cook. Told him food would be better mixing spices on the molcajete. (Will also serve as an heirloom for his children. Mine is years old!) His words upon receipt - awesome, huge! He makes amazing guacamole; he will be surprised when he gains further fame making and displaying it on the "molca."
Pros: Durable, Quality, Design, cultural addition
Cons: difficult to season
Review 8 for Molcajete
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
patstoy
,Omaha
,Ne
July 17, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
-15points
2of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A DESIRED PRODUCT
July 17, 2013
My husband opened the box and said " this is going back" The rim had an uneven edge. For the price, I returned it. The quality was subpar. Sorry.
Cons: Quality, Weight, Size
Review 9 for Molcajete
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JenWA
,IL
June 27, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent, gets regular use
June 27, 2013
I bought this for my husband as a Christmas present a couple of years ago. We use it regularly. If you make guacamole with any regularity, this is totally worth it. It makes it much easier to squish (high tech cooking terminology) the avocados and blend the ingredients. The only potential downside: serving size. Of course, if you want a lot, you can also make several batches and serve in a different bowl.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Design
Review 10 for Molcajete
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Josek
,Northampton
,Ma
May 29, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
8of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
People are Overdramatic
May 29, 2013
The molcajete works amazing. The whole point of buying this is to have a more hands-on approach to making your own food. If you're comparing it to electrical appliances then yes, it is bulky, it is heavy, it is hard to clean, it is hard work to use, and it does take up a lot of room. If you're buying this though you should know that its going to be harder than just a food processor. I do agree that it should come with curing and cleaning instructions but its really not that hard. Cure with rice and clean with hot water, no soap. So if you want an old-fashioned way to make amazing guacamole then buy this if not keep buying pre-made stuff at the store.
Review 11 for Molcajete
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
smeegle
,Barrington
,NH
May 14, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy Guacamole
May 14, 2013
After seasoning the stone, we have used the Molcajete 4 out of the 7 days. It's so easy to just put everything in one bowl and grind away.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Size, Design
Review 12 for Molcajete
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ssg7741
,Alamo
,CA
March 18, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love my new molcajete!
March 18, 2013
Got this molcajete after a trip to Mexico and it did not disappoint. Took a little while to season it...grinding rice for an hour or so...but it was well worth it. This makes a great presentation for parties. Enjoy!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Review 13 for Molcajete
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
redmrl
,Port St Lucie
,Fl
March 6, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My favorite new gadget .
March 6, 2013
We absolutely love our Molcajete. It came in perfect condition. I wish it would have had instructions inside explaining how to prepare/season the molcajete. I did however check some reviews online on how to cure it and luckily my boyfriend had lots of elbow grease to grind the rice into the molcajete to get rid of all the grit.... One little blister later our molcajete is in perfect condition. No grit! We love love love it.
Pros: Design, Durable, Easy to Use, Quality
Review 14 for Molcajete
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bhodgeba
,Broken Arrow
,Ok
December 6, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Makes the best Guacamole
December 6, 2012
With the great recipe from Williams Sonoma and the Molcajete, you will make the best Guacamole you ever tasted.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 15 for Molcajete
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TVNewsgirl
,allentown
,pa
August 12, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this for guacamole
August 12, 2012
Just bought this at my local WS store - don't understand why all other reiveiwers say the molcajete needs to be seasoned because as soon as I pulled mine out of the box there was a tag that reads the molcajete is ALREADY SEASONED... I simply rinsed it out per instructions and made my guacomole and it came out perfect. Highly recommend! This will scratch your table or counter
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Design, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Review 16 for Molcajete
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Charlottebelle
,Birmingham
,AL
August 1, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Must have addition to every kitchen
August 1, 2012
This mortar and pestle is awesome! It is significant and heavy in size so we were quite impressed. My only "con" about this product is that WS does not include directions on how to "cure" it. It is a slow process but well, well worth the time and energy to do so. Grind up rice in the bowl, along the rim, and across the top edge four or five times. This took me a week or more because I worked on it a little every day rather than doing it all at once. Afterwards, grind up salt a time or two. That will fill all of the holes and smooth out the stone so you won't get grit in your guacamole! NEVER WASH IT! Just rinse it after each use. You will LOVE this lifetime piece if you take the time initially to prepare it for your kitchen! We leave ours on the countertop because we use it a lot, and it looks fun!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Cons: does not come with instructions for curing
Review 17 for Molcajete
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Aislynn
May 30, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Guacamole, oh yeah!!!
May 30, 2012
Love this thing!! It is big but therefor it is heavy. You definitely need to season it with rice and or kosher salt. I recommend placing it on a kitchen towel or cutting board when you are using it so it doesn't scratch your counter top or table. Love it! I have been making the best guacamole ever!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Size
Cons: Weight
Review 18 for Molcajete
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BBCA
,CA
April 13, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Guac That Roc's
April 13, 2012
OK, I read where a few folks had there Mocajete damaged in shipping. Not mine. I got it as a gift 4 months ago and carried it in my suitcase on an airline.
I searched for a good seasoning plan and that went fine. I use the Rosa Mexicano Guac recipe and it is Great in this Mocajete. I also make a great salsa recipe in it. I have no clean up problem and no chipping. It's a fun tool.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Design
Cons: Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 19 for Molcajete
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
EvaandCarlasnana
,Meredith
,NH
March 6, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
-5points
2of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
such a disappointment
March 6, 2012
I have just returned this item as it arrived damaged. I had considered purchasing the molcajete for years, finally placed the order, and was very disappointed when it arrived with a good sized chip in the rim. A number of fragments were in the packing material leading me to believe that it might continue to lose bits and pieces over time. Bits of lava rock in my guacamole was a concern, thus I decided not to request a replacement.
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Fragile
Review 20 for Molcajete
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Charlene777
,Salem
,MA
January 28, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
3of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
No quality control for this item!
January 28, 2012
I received this item and one of the legs was damaged. I called customer service and they said pack it back up, we will have it picked up tomorrow. I thought, wonderful customer service! My replacement came - two of the legs were damaged. I called again, they said pack it up and we will send another one. That replacement had one damaged leg. Well, I called again and asked them if the item could be checked before it was shipped. I knew they were not being damaged during shipping because there were not any chipped off pieces in the boxes. I really wanted this item, but one that was not damaged. Well, I received the fourth one - one leg was damaged. I give up! I called and said it was damaged but I was tired of boxing them up to ship back. They gave me a 15% credit for keeping a damaged item. No quality control I guess. Very unhappy!
page1 2 next