This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Mohr-Fry Ranch Beans, Christmas Lima

Also known as Butter Beans, Chestnut Beans and Speckled Calicos, Christmas Lima beans are a favorite in kitchens around the world. Their firm texture and rich, mellow chestnut flavor make them ideal for soups, stews, salads and purees. Or for a simple, healthy side dish, serve the beans freshly steamed. Our Christmas Lima beans are sustainably grown at Mohr-Fry Ranches, fifth-generation family farms in Northern California. These botanical heirlooms support centuries-old plant varieties - and help preserve the genetic diversity of our country's food supply. All-natural. 1 lb. Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
1.571 out of 5
1.6
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
1 of 7(14%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Mohr-Fry Ranch Beans, Christmas Lima
Review 1 for Mohr-Fry Ranch Beans, Christmas Lima
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Abeee
,Port Washington
,NY
July 20, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Disappointing beans
July 20, 2014
First I'd like to say that I bought these beans on sale, that was the upside. I was completely disappointed in them after first soaking, then boiling and boiling and boiling these beans to death. I've never had to cook beans for so many hours and then realize that some were finally cooked, while others were not. They must have been old, even though the expiration date had not yet been reached. I will never buy beans from this company again.
Cons: Time to Prepare, Difficult to Prepare
Review 2 for Mohr-Fry Ranch Beans, Christmas Lima
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Moirars
,Valencia
,Ca
California
July 15, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Worst Bean Ever
July 15, 2014
I am so disgusted with these beans.They would not cook to be soft. They were hard. I cooked for over FIVE hours then threw them out. Then I read other reviews. I am not the only one to thinks so. I wish I had read reviews first.
It surprises me that William Sonoma would keep selling them. They need to trash all their stock.
Cons: smell, would not soften
Review 3 for Mohr-Fry Ranch Beans, Christmas Lima
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
IirenaM
,Tampa
,Fl
July 3, 2014
Ability level:Professional
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Very old beans
July 3, 2014
I bought these and the Snow Cap beans on sale and I was very disappointed on both. They will not cook evenly and it will take at least two days to have have them on your plate. I bought them because they reminded me of my grandmas kitchen where I used to have the best and most colorful and exotic beans.These were "wolf on sheep skin" if you have ever heard that saying ...They have to be a couple of years old because they even look rustic. They are 15 oz not 1 lb What a waste of time,money and energy.
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Time to Prepare, Flavor
Review 4 for Mohr-Fry Ranch Beans, Christmas Lima
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Whosits
,Grand Rapids
,Mi
Grand Rapids, Michigan
May 17, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Disappointing
May 17, 2014
Thankfully, I bought these on sale but was very disappointed in them. I soaked them overnight, simmered for 3 hours and they were still crunchy in the center, so I kept cooking, hoping they would soften. I tested every 30 minutes for another 2 hours, but they remained decidedly crunchy and I had to throw them out. Sorry to say, I wasted other ingredients as well, since I had added ham and peppers to the mix. They were dated for July 2014, but I have to believe they were pretty old, as even supermarket brands cook up better than these.
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Time to Prepare, Difficult to Prepare
Review 5 for Mohr-Fry Ranch Beans, Christmas Lima
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
jackandmaisy
,central
,pa
April 25, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
disappointed
April 25, 2014
I agree with a prior reviewer - the beans did not soften and become creamy as I had hoped. I made a ham and bean soup that tasted like dirt. It was so bad I didn't even make my husband eat it, and he eats anything!
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Flavor
Review 6 for Mohr-Fry Ranch Beans, Christmas Lima
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Christine77
,Bedford
,MA
January 26, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Hard beans
January 26, 2014
Compared to Christmas Lima beans that I have bought from other sources, I found these beans did not cook up to have a creamy texture like I am used to. I bought these beans this January, and soaked them overnight before cooking. After 2 hours of cooking in plain water, they were still hard. I was very disappointed with these beans. While they were on sale, and the use by date is July 2014, they seem very old.
Cons: Disappointing, Texture
Review 7 for Mohr-Fry Ranch Beans, Christmas Lima
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tristensgrandma
,Washington
,UT
November 13, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Great for Soup
November 13, 2012
My husband made a bean and ham soup with these and it was delicous...ordering more for future use.
Pros: Quality, Flavor
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Moirars
California
Posted July 5, 2014
He is lucky
I would love to know what your Hubby did to make them edibal. I just posted another comment to agree with a negative comment. I am 5 hours into slow cooking and they are still hard.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)