Modular Australian Pine Wine Racks

Originally designed as professional display racks for wineries, these Australian pine shelves hold wine bottles in the preferred position, so their corks remain moist. Easy to assemble and dismantle to fit the needs of your wine collection. Patented lock-and-groove design eliminates the need for tools when assembling. Environmentally friendly Australian pine. Exceptionally sturdy crossbars and end pieces are free of knots. 36-bottle rack has 4 shelves; each shelf holds 9 bottles. Includes 8 crossbars and 8 ends. 72-bottle rack has 6 shelves; each shelf holds 12 bottles. Includes 12 crossbars and 12 ends. 108-bottle rack has 6 shelves; each shelf holds 18 bottles. Includes 24 crossbars and 12 ends. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
3.917 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 36
30 of 36(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Modular Australian Pine Wine Racks
Review 1 for Modular Australian Pine Wine Racks
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
CanadianRon
,Calgary
,AB
March 1, 2014
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Made like a high school shop project
March 1, 2014
We ordered 2 108 bottle racks based on review. Pieces were poorly constructed and didn't line up. Very poor quality product and surprised it would be sold by Williams-Sonoma.
We are returning both.
Review 2 for Modular Australian Pine Wine Racks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KRoss
,Orange County
,CA
November 1, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I LOVE IT!
November 1, 2013
I was hesitant to make this purchase based on some of the other reviews about it being difficult.
In a nutshell, I put this thing together in less than 20 minutes while I was on a conference call! I didn't use any tools at all and this rack is awesome! Looks very sharp and am actually going to purchase more to expand it.
Looks GREAT and super easy....I'm a girl and have zero patience for this stuff - it was easy for me!
Pros: Durable, Quality, Size, Appearance, Versatile
Review 3 for Modular Australian Pine Wine Racks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CajunKathy
,Stockton
,CA
April 24, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Exactly What I Needed!
April 24, 2012
Very easy to assemble. The most difficult part of assembly was deciding how much edge on each end and trying to be consistent. I used a zip cord to hold a hand towel on my hammer to "encourage" the boards to slide into place. Four weeks later the rack still has the natural wood scent. That might be a problem to some people in a living area as opposed to a storage area of your home. Could not be any happier with my purchase! Consistent William -Sonoma quality once again.
Pros: Quality
Cons: four weeks later it still smells of pine
Review 4 for Modular Australian Pine Wine Racks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
momtwoso
,Mesa
,AZ
December 27, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Product
December 27, 2011
This was just what we were looking for. It is easy to put together and fit perfectly in the area we wanted.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Strength, Design, Assembly
Review 5 for Modular Australian Pine Wine Racks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Polly2
,Arlington
,VA
November 6, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
12 years on, and we could not manage without it
November 6, 2011
I assembled six levels of this 12 years. The initial labor (assembly was not easy) has been rewarded by years of stable, attractive storage for the hundreds of bottles that have lived on these racks over the years. In the recent earthquake that left structural cracks all over the Washington DC area, the racks and bottles did not move, The dark stain we chose blends seamlessly with antique and contemporary furniture around it. The racks do not show the dings they have taken from the vacuum cleaner and from tumbling toddlers.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Size, Strength, Versatile, Design
Cons: Assembly, cannot hold a magnum
Review 6 for Modular Australian Pine Wine Racks
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
winecollector
,Prescott
,AZ
October 4, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Difficult Assembly
October 4, 2011
I agree with the reviews regarding the difficulty of assembly. We ordered the 72 bottle rack and it took me 2 hours to assemble. I found assembling it upside down was easiest and I used petroleum jelly in the grooves of the short blocks (and a hammer) to ease the joining of the pieces. Now that it is assembled and wine is in place it seems very sturdy.
Pros: Durable
Cons: Assembly
Review 7 for Modular Australian Pine Wine Racks
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
GFVeggie
,Willowick
,oh
September 22, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Item not as picture or described
September 22, 2011
I looked at a number of wine racks and the reason I purchase this one was because it states that the top shelf holds magnums. This is not the case. All the shelves are the same size. I couldn't even place two regular champagne bottles side by side and have them fit on the top shelf. The other shelves are placed too close together to even attempt it,
The photo that shows wine loaded on this rack is deceiving. It looks as if each shelf is spacious where it is a tight fit to get bottles in or out.
UPS is picking this item up tomorrow. It is far below William-Sonoma's usual standard.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Strength, Quality, Fragile, Unreliable, not as discrobed
Review 8 for Modular Australian Pine Wine Racks
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
mandyc15
Many, Louisiana
May 20, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this wine rack!!
May 20, 2011
I ordered the 36 bottle rack but I am like Chef Chris. I would like to order two more shelves without having to order another rack.
Otherwise, essembly was easy, looks nice, and I am very pleased with my purchase.
Pros: Size, Strength, Design, Assembly
Review 9 for Modular Australian Pine Wine Racks
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
JaneQOublic
Southern CA
May 10, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not like everyone else's wine rack
May 10, 2011
Wanted something to hold more than 100 bottles, blend with my furniture, fit in apartment, make wine accessible.
like it and it works on almost all points. some suggestions : assemble upside down. start with what will end up to be the top first and place it facing the ground. You'll go nuts if you try a different
You will need a rubber mallet/hammer. I used the heel of a clog (it worked).
It is easiest to access if you can access both the front and back and don't have to push it up against a wall. Because the rack is technically double sided. Otherwise you have to reach past the first row and to the back row which you really can't see well and need to remove the bottle in front in order to remove. It's easiest if you can walk around to both sides.
It's been a few weeks since I set it up and loaded it, I've jumped a few times thinking someone's in the apartment creaking around, but it's the wine rack settling. It makes a few creaks and pops, but I think we're through that phase now.
Pros: Durable
Review 10 for Modular Australian Pine Wine Racks
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ChefChris
Rural Tennessee
March 24, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A very good wine rack
March 24, 2011
I'm very well pleased with the wine rack. It went together in a "flash", is sturdy and looks good. I wish there was an option where you could purchase one or two additional rows without having to purchase another entire rack. Two addition rows would give me a capacity of 54 bottles and would fit nicely in the narrow space I have (the 72 bottle rack is too long).
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Size, Strength, Assembly
Cons: Size
Review 11 for Modular Australian Pine Wine Racks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chicago16
Chicago, IL
December 21, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great looking storage for small spaces!
December 21, 2010
We love our wine rack! The stained color matches a lot of our mahogany furniture and we've received many compliments on it. It was very easy to put together and fits great in our condo! We ordered the 72 bottle rack and love the way it looks.
Review 12 for Modular Australian Pine Wine Racks
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
tool
Baltimore City
August 20, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wine rack quality
August 20, 2010
Looks good with my decor, however quaility not that great. They could have stepped up the quality based on the fee they charged.
Review 13 for Modular Australian Pine Wine Racks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
314159
Minneapolis
August 4, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
wine rack___________________________
August 4, 2010
The 6 level set I received added on nicely to the 3 level set I obtained in the 1990's. Easy, sturdy, simple.
Review 14 for Modular Australian Pine Wine Racks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mhawk
Emeryville, CA
January 13, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Rack!
January 13, 2010
I guess the company must have seen some of the negative reviews on here and fixed their product because I put the rack together with no trouble in less than 10 mins (I have the 72- bottle stained rack). Easily went together and looks amazing. The only problem is I think I need another one because we filled up this rack and still have overflow!
Review 15 for Modular Australian Pine Wine Racks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jerjer
Indianapolis, IN
January 12, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
great wine rack
January 12, 2010
I bought this for my husband for Christmas after looking locally for months. It is in our basement so it didn't have to be fancy. However, it looks sharp and you could use it anywhere. He loved putting it together, and it can be easily moved and expanded with more units. Or they have larger ones you can start with. Price was good too.
Review 16 for Modular Australian Pine Wine Racks
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
mp17
Menlo Park, CA
October 2, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Extremely Difficult to Assemble
October 2, 2009
Do not believe the marketing on this wine rack which claims that you simply slot the pieces together without a hammer or any tools. After hours of using a rubber mallet, I am surrounded by splintered wood & a shoddy wine rack. It is impossible to fit the wooden pieces together -- the slots are too small & do not line up easily. If you simply stack the pieces on top of the other without fitting them into the grooves, or fit a couple of pieces into a couple of grooves, then the rack is very unstable.
Furthermore, the shipping charges are very high for this product. Absolutely not worth the expense or the effort.
Review 17 for Modular Australian Pine Wine Racks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
katsfo
The Woodlands , TX
September 8, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Austrialian Pine wine racks
September 8, 2009
Easy to construct, great for small areas and they hold a lot of bottle of wine. We just moved and need a new system for our collection. They are perfect.
Review 18 for Modular Australian Pine Wine Racks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tarheelwriter
Winston-Salem, NC
August 24, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great looking and easy to construct!
August 24, 2009
After reading the previous posts about how much trouble this wine rack was to put together, I was hesitant. But this was a breeze to construct! Even with two 12-week-old puppies running around, it only took me 40 minutes. Yes, some of the pieces don't fit together perfectly, but with a little brute force and a little hammering (I didn't even use a rubber mallet - just one of the end pieces with some cardboard between to shield the wood), I was able to get it together no problem. Don't be scared off - this is a great looking product and nowhere near as scary as some people would make it out. I am so happy - as soon as we can make more room, I expect to buy another one! Thanks, Williams-Sonoma, for such a great wine rack!
Review 19 for Modular Australian Pine Wine Racks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rascaler
Pittsburgh, PA
August 7, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Perfect Product (for me)
August 7, 2009
This wine rack was ideal for me. It fits exactly in my winc cellar space. The cost was right, the delivery was quick and the quality is superb. What more could I ask?
Review 20 for Modular Australian Pine Wine Racks
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous
Mahaska, Kansas
July 30, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wine rack nice but expensive
July 30, 2009
This review is a positive one.
I ordered this wine rack because the dimensions were perfect for the space allowed me.
When the rack came in, it was no more than stained 2x4's and could have been made for $20 if a person had the time to make it
It did fit the bill, it did ship quick but had I known it was simply stained 2x4's I would not have spent $139 on it
page1 2 next