This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Modeling Chocolate Kit

Create fun, festive- and edible-cake decorations with our chocolate modeling clay. Sweet and pliable, it takes on any shape you dream up, from butterflies, flowers and dinosaurs to race cars, ladybugs and candy canes. The only tools required are your hands, a few basic kitchen utensils and your imagination! Made from fine, sweetened chocolate. Includes six colors: yellow, orange, brown, white, red and green - tips for making new colors are included. No special tools required. Illustrated step-by-step instructions included for making animals, flowers, hearts and more. All natural with no artificial colors used. 10.4 oz. Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
3.333 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(3 Reviews) 3
2 of 3(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Modeling Chocolate Kit
Review 1 for Modeling Chocolate Kit
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
max13
,Pine Brook
,NJ
January 14, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
this is great!
January 14, 2012
My family had a ball making holiday items with this, and the chocolate is delicious. Don't take the criticisms of the colors too seriously; I'm sure that if the product was made with horrifying preservatives and artificial ingredients the colors would be brighter, but let's be thankful that the manufacturer has created something that's not only fun, but is kinda good for you, too! If you need bright colors, it would probably take years off your life to eat it.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Review 2 for Modeling Chocolate Kit
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
WSlover20
,Planet Earth
Planet Earth
December 28, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? Yes
-4points
1of 6found this review helpful.
Beautiful and Pliable
December 28, 2011
I recently received this modeling chocolate for Christmas- it looks tantalizing and easy to use. I am looking forward to using it for rats, pine cones, and holly for the Stump de Noel cake. It also would be excellent for decorating themed cakes or cupcakes, maybe even cake pops. This is a great product that is essential for delicious, quality cake decorations.
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, pliable
Review 3 for Modeling Chocolate Kit
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Loribean
,Crystal Lake
,IL
December 22, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+10points
11of 12found this review helpful.
Dull colors
December 22, 2011
Was excited to find this product in the store but was disappointed once I opened it. The colors were very dull. I bought this product to create little snowmen and presents to place on top of cupcakes I made. The white was not white at all. My snowman looked old and dirty sitting on top of my white frosted cupcake. The little presents I made looked faded and sad. The directions said I could add food coloring to change the colors but I never got them to look true and vibrant. Ended up scrapping my whole design idea. Website listed this product as $14.99 but was charged $19.99 in the store.
Cons: dull colors
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
nickie409
California
Posted January 2, 2012
Top 50 Contributor
You can make it brighter yurself
Hello,
I never knew about WS having this. I have always made my own modeling chocolate. It is SUPER simple (there are a ton of recipes online). If you buy pure white melting chocolate (not the typical wilton white, or it will be an off white color), you just add corn syrup to make it into modeling chocolate. To make colors, either buy colored chocolate (the easiest way), or add gel food coloring with a little oil (sometimes you have to add oil becasue of the water content in the coloring, but only do it if your chocolate starts to sieze). Do NOT try to make red or black, just buy those colored chocolate. It takes WAY too much coloring to ever get it to the corect color, and then it siezes up (I reccomend only buying those colors of fondant too). Hope this helps.
0points
Customer avatar
bunbun
new york
Posted December 26, 2011
wish I had read this commenr before I made my purchase and I paid the full $19.99 for mine on line and less a week later it is $9.99 . so not right. hven't try my yet , hope it's not as bad as Loribean say it is.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)