Mini Pies Cookbook

With more than 40 savory and sweet recipes, this cookbook makes it easy to create single-serving pies that the whole family will enjoy for snacks, dinners and desserts. Former pastry chef Abigail Johnson Dodge, a respected expert and frequent television-show guest, shows you how simple it is to assemble and bake pies using an electric mini pie maker. The luscious photography will inspire experienced cooks and non-bakers alike to create meal-worthy mini pies like spinach and feta, ham-and-egg quiche and even chili. The charming desserts range from fruity fillings like apple-cinnamon, tangy cranberry-pear, plum-ginger, and strawberry-rhubarb to decadent flavors like s'mores, chocolate and caramel-banana. Of course, the classic are here, too, with recipes for seasonal favorites including pumpkin and pecan. Best of all, these delicious petite pies bake in just ten minutes without even turning on the oven. Hardcover, 96 pages. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.36 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
22 of 25(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Mini Pies Cookbook
Review 1 for Mini Pies Cookbook
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
OIrish
,TN
December 27, 2012
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not bad, handy to have along with your mini pie ma
December 27, 2012
Not all that great, but handy to have along with your mini pie maker. I could have done without it, but nice to have for a variety of fillings for your mini pies. Not a necessity however.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Store
Review 2 for Mini Pies Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
YRose
,Atwater
,CA
December 24, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Recipe Ideas
December 24, 2012
I bought this because I have the Breville mini pie maker and am so glad I did! There are great tips and recipes. I made Shepherd's Pies and they were suuuuper tasty! I also recommend using the Williams-Sonoma pie crust recipe because it is delicious and simple.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Store, Design
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 3 for Mini Pies Cookbook
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bjoring
,CA
November 15, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
8of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Unsophisticated
November 15, 2012
Since the mini pie maker can't cook meat or hard vegetables, all fillings have to be cooked. Most of the savory pie recipes just call for "cooked chicken", for example, rather than explaining how to cook the ingredients for a filling together so that the flavors meld. At the very least they could have referenced some basic cooking instructions for the meats. Also, there are no tips on getting the bottom crusts successfully into the pie molds, which is the hardest part about using the pie maker. Worst, every single recipe repeats the identical text about assembling, baking, and removing the pies, which is always the same. This is a waste of space and makes the recipes hard to glance through quickly. Finally, the pie crust recipe is weak and there's only one of them. You'd think a cookbook devoted to piemaking would spend a lot of space on how to make great crusts, but no. I think the author just assumes you are going to use ready-made pie crusts.
Review 4 for Mini Pies Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
blueyzz
,San Leandro
,CA
September 23, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great sidekick to the Breville Pie Maker
September 23, 2012
I have only made the Summer Peach Pie and the Bacon and Potato Quiche so far, but they have both been delicious, and well appreciated by my family and coworkers. Well worth purchasing along with the pie maker, especially if you are not the most experienced cook, such as me!
Pros: Easy to Use
Review 5 for Mini Pies Cookbook
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
thoughtplum
,Rancho Santa Margarita
,CA
September 23, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Somewhat Disappointing
September 23, 2012
When I first saw a pie maker at Williams-Sonoma the woman demonstrating it gave samples of frittatas. I was disappointed to see the book had no recipes them. I was more interested in what I could make without pie crust.
There were a couple of recipes that duplicated those that came with the pie maker.
Pros: Easy to Use, Design, nice pictures
Cons: too few recipes
Review 6 for Mini Pies Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BeBePowers
,SouthBend
,Wa
September 22, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So Delicious!
September 22, 2012
There are so many ideas in here and it opens you up to even more ideas to make your own pies. I love the easy way the recipes read and are easy to follow. A MUST HAVE for the piemaker in your family.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Store, Size, Design, Weight
Review 7 for Mini Pies Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
icancook2
September 21, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
easy to use recipes
September 21, 2012
I was really surprized when I opened up the cookbood and found that I would enjoy most all of the entries. I can't wait to try them all!
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Store
Review 8 for Mini Pies Cookbook
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
River525
September 21, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nice little cookbook
September 21, 2012
Has sweet pie recipes and savory pie recipes which is great. Also has great helpful hints on how to create them. Very attractive cookbook and would make a great gift .
Pros: Easy to Use, Design
Review 9 for Mini Pies Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hmonson
September 21, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
useful supplement
September 21, 2012
This cookbook does a very good job of showing how to scale down pie recipes to make mini pies. I have yet to try most of the recipes, but those I have tried have worked well. It's not the sort of book that will absolutely thrill and delight (wider variety of pastry types and savory pies would have been nice), but it is absolutely what it is advertised to be, and as such is very useful to have with a mini pie maker.
Review 10 for Mini Pies Cookbook
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Samiam16
September 12, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Mini Pies Cookbook
September 12, 2012
The recipies are good but I'm still needing a cooking class on this one!
Review 11 for Mini Pies Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
egdoll
,Redmond
,WA
August 31, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
perfect companion to the pie maker
August 31, 2012
love this little cookbook - the shepherd's pie was the first recipe tried in our kitchen - absolutely delicious! the basic pie crust recipe at the back of the book has now become our standard pie crust. this book is also full of helpful tips on using the piemaker as well.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Design
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 12 for Mini Pies Cookbook
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
RWCinPDX
,Portland
,Or
August 29, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Recipes Missing Vital Steps
August 29, 2012
Cute little cookbook, however the first recipe we tried (Maple-Apple Butter Pies) was missing a vital step. I'm surprised an editor didn't catch it. Hoping we don't have the same luck with future recipes.
Cons: Quality
Review 13 for Mini Pies Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JPM125
,Scottsdale
,AX
August 15, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Mini PIes Cookbook
August 15, 2012
I am very happy I ordered this. Although some recipes are not to our liking, I can sure modify to something we would like to make. It is very helpful.
Pros: Easy to Store
Review 14 for Mini Pies Cookbook
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BigGuy
,Woodbury
,MN
May 30, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
great book for mini pies
May 30, 2012
This book has a multitude of great recipes that can be used in every day to the special occasion.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality
Review 15 for Mini Pies Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dcritter
,Palm City
April 25, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Successful delicious pies everytime
April 25, 2012
When I bought the Breville Pie maker I also bought the book which has turned out to be a smart purchase. The book gives you insight on how to get the most out of the pie maker machine and provides a great variety of recipes to try. I liked the suggestions and hints and the easy step by step instructions on how to be successful in making a great mini pie. A good investment & so much fun for the family. We love the recipes we've tried so far and look forward to experimenting with our own pie creations now that we have the basics down.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver
Review 16 for Mini Pies Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cascadecarol
,Lake Steves
,WA
April 23, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Supplement
April 23, 2012
This cookbook is a great supplement to the cookbook that comes with the Breville mini pie maker. A nice selection of recipses - both sweet and savory. Easy recipes with great results.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Store, Design
Review 17 for Mini Pies Cookbook
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Calpowdergirl
,San Francisco
,CA
April 23, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great recipes
April 23, 2012
I've loved the recipes in here, though I will say the berry ones could use a little something extra. But these are great overall and not very duplicative of the ones provided with the machine
Pros: Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 18 for Mini Pies Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kitchenchemist
,Collegeville
,PA
Collegeville, PA
February 1, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A must for the Breville mini pie maker!
February 1, 2012
Tried the 'mixed berry pies' recipe with my new Breville and could not believe that it was the best pie I have ever tasted! My husband is going to make these again for our annual Valentine brunch! The cookbook uses a lot of fresh ingredients for both sweet and savory pies.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver
Review 19 for Mini Pies Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
duchessjab
,North Chelmsford
,MA
Chelmsford MA
January 31, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent, easy to follow recipes
January 31, 2012
I received a mini-pie maker as a gift but the recipes included were limited. This is an excellent cookbook that also taught me how to individually measure for my own recipes. Love it!
Pros: Accuracy, Size, Design, Durable, Easy to Use, Quality
Review 20 for Mini Pies Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
vze1p7pe
,Braintree
,Ma
January 26, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This book give a lot of great ideas!
January 26, 2012
This book gave me a lot of great ideas! Now when I use the mini pie cooker I have a lot more ideas!
Pros: Accuracy
page1 2 next