Milady 5-Piece Flatware Place Setting

True to the French spirit of dining well every day, this flatware melds classic elegance with exceptional durability and ease of care. Expertly crafted in a small town in Normandy, the collection features fiddleback handles edged with beading as refined as a string of pearls. Stainless steel lends heft and substance, along with a shine that rivals silver plate (no polishing required). A high chrome content gives the knife blade superior strength and a sharp, straight edge. Dishwasher safe. Made in France. Five-piece place setting includes an 8" dinner fork, 6 3/4" salad fork, 9 1/2" dinner knife, 8" soup spoon and 6 3/4" teaspoon. Made in France. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
5 of 6(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Milady 5-Piece Flatware Place Setting
Review 1 for Milady 5-Piece Flatware Place Setting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DebbiCT
,Easton
,CT
February 16, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wish I could buy open stock
February 16, 2014
LOVE it...got 12 settings for my wedding 22 years ago (I think it was called something else). Somehow I'm down to one teaspoon. Wish I could buy just a bunch of teaspoons! Other than that, love it, love the large European forks and soup spoons.
Review 2 for Milady 5-Piece Flatware Place Setting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gardengrl6
,Chicago
,IL
November 30, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
High quality-still love these a year later
November 30, 2013
After searching for a very long time, I finally decided on the Milady and a year later have found them to be of the highest quality, substantial in heft and well balanced. I'm very happy with this purchase and would love to find additional teaspoons to purchase.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Balance, Size, Appearance, Design, Weight
Review 3 for Milady 5-Piece Flatware Place Setting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JRFox
April 22, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+7points
10of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Flatware will RUST
April 22, 2013
I registered for this flatware for our wedding and received 12 sets. We just started using them. I noticed after the second time in the dishwasher the knife had a rust spot. I thought it was a spot or something stuck to it. Now I've washed them 4 times and there are rust spots on the spoons and forks. I'm so incredibly disappointed, at this price they should not rust. I'm going to see if WS will return them as we've had them for 5 months. I WOULDN'T BUY THESE FOR THE PRICE. I HAD REGISTERED FOR THEM FROM READING REVIEWS AND AM LET DOWN.
Review 4 for Milady 5-Piece Flatware Place Setting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
portland34
May 22, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+19points
19of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
the size is perfect
May 22, 2012
I spent way too much time researching flatware, it's embarrassing. But the upside is that I am sure that the Milady is the most perfect set.
First, this flatware is NOT made in China (rare), it's made in France. Second, it's 18/10 stainless steel. This ratio looks the most like sterling silver over time because the nickel content gives it a warmer, paler hue. Third, it has a classic design that feels good in the hand. My husband and I tried out dozens of sets and nothing felt as good as these. We read the reviews about the tsps being too large and worried that our kids might not be able to use them. We all LOVE the size - it's perfect for cereal, ice cream, pasta, fruit salad, whatever.
The craftsmanship is excellent and the balance on the knife is ideal. Heavy and substantial. Love the small dimples on the base of the fork head. After 8 months of use we are totally in love with this set. As for rust on the knife - none for us. We use heat to dry so the water spots don't sit there.
Pros: heavv, well-crafted, made in france, continental sizing
Review 5 for Milady 5-Piece Flatware Place Setting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mjillw
,Pasadena
,CA
May 1, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Worth the Expense!
May 1, 2012
I purchased this set at another store 8 years ago and still use them today. I'm in love the design, weight and durability. Over the years I've considered purchasing a different flatware set but could never give up the Guy Degrenne "Milady". It's design is significantly better quality then anything out on the market. Definitely one of the best purchase I've ever made. I'm buying 10 more sets to go with my old group.
Pros: Design, Weight, Size, Easy to Clean
Cons: expense
Review 6 for Milady 5-Piece Flatware Place Setting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BuffaloBBQ
,North Tonawanda
,NY
January 17, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Rusting Research
January 17, 2012
The first number is the amount of chromium that is contained in the stainless, i.e., 18 is 18% chromium. The second number is the amount of nickel, i.e., 8 stands for 8% nickel. So 18/8 means that this stainless steel contains 18% chromium and 8% nickel. 18/10 is 18% chromium and 10% nickel. The higher the numbers the more corrosion resistant the material.
Stainless does not "rust" as you think of regular steel rusting with a red oxide on the surface that flakes off. If you see red rust it is probably due to some iron particles that have contaminated the surface of the stainless steel and it is these iron particles that are rusting. Look at the source of the rusting and see if you can remove it from the surface. If the iron is embedded in the surface, you can try a solution of 10% nitric and 2% hydrofluoric acid at room temperature or slightly heated. Wash area well with lots and lots of water after use. Commercially available "pickling paste" can also be used.
Pros: Durable, Texture, Quality, Easy to Clean, Strength, Design, Weight
Cons: expensive