Miele CM5100 Espresso Machine

Introducing the first fully automatic countertop espresso system from Miele, Bringing Miele's legendary design and quality to coffee brewing, this state-of-the-art machine offers ultraquiet operation and produces a full menu of coffee drinks-from single or double coffee and espresso to lattes, cappuccinos and macchiatos-with easy, intuitive controls. This deluxe model features a stainless-steel front panel, cup warmer and electronic steam valve. Built with the finest components and tested to last for 50,000 cups. Ultraquiet operation. Each cup of coffee or espresso can be customized to your exact preferences for size, strength and temperature. Stainless-steel dual spouts are height adjustable and dispense two cups at a time. Electronic steam valve for heating and frothing milk. Integrated cup warmer. Built-in conical grinder with adjustable settings. Powerful 15-bar pump for maximum extraction of flavor. Programmable timer. Energy-saving Eco Mode. Removable brew unit for easy cleaning. Automatic prompts for replenishment of coffee beans and water and for maintenance. 61 fl. oz. cap. removable water tank. Easy top access to 9.1-oz. bean container and compartment for ground coffee. Includes insulated 16.9-oz. cap. milk flask. Access to a nationwide network of Miele service centers for personal assistance if needed.
Average Customer Rating:
3.546 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
7 of 11(64%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Miele CM5100 Espresso Machine
Review 1 for Miele CM5100 Espresso Machine
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
desmo
,San jose
,Ca
August 20, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
3of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
coffee bean sensor problems
August 20, 2012
This machine makes great coffee, but it consistently says its out of coffee beans about every two cups brewed. Simply push the beans into the hopper and its happy for another two cups. For the price, this just should not be the case. It appears that the sensor is too sensitive or the hopper is not steep enough to keep the beans moving into the grinder. I'm disappointed in this machine and would not recommend it. There are plenty of good well working coffee machines out there that make great coffee.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
desmo
San Jose, CA
Posted September 6, 2012
Update
I called Miele Tech Support on this issue. They responded saying they know of this issue and the only solution is to change to a dry roast bean. Miele claims, beans that are heavier in oil content have a tendenacy to not drop down into the grinder. Clearly this is a design issue with the machine. I have been drinking Italian Sumatra for 10 years and have never had this kind of a problem. I requested returning the unit, Miele said it will cost me 30% of the price for restocking! Looks like I will be pushing the beans into the grinder for some time to come. BTW, I have read of others having similar problems.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Miele CM5100 Espresso Machine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RichieRich
,Orlando
,Fl
Orlando, Florida
July 13, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Machine for Making Lattes
July 13, 2012
I love this machine. Had it for about two months now, and it works great. I make Breve Lattes Everyday. The quality is equal too or better than all the fine coffee shops I've been too. Easy to maintain. You can choose your favorite coffee beans instead of only having the choices of the fine coffee shops. Everyone that comes over and tries a cup of expresso,coffee or a latte loves the taste and complains when they go back home to make their own cup from their machines. Great Product.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Speed, Quiet, Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 3 for Miele CM5100 Espresso Machine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jetronic
,Minneapolis
,MN
May 23, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome machine, great espresso!
May 23, 2012
After 20 years of grinding coffee and pulling shots on an semi automatic, I opted for this super automatic. With a push of a button, this product brews the perfect cup everytime...couldn't be happier! Programming is easy and allows one to control all of the variables necessary to achieve consistent results. This is a highly engineered machine easy to use, clean and maintain; hopefully its as durable as other Miele products we own.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Speed, Quiet, Design
Cons: expensive new product in the market
Review 4 for Miele CM5100 Espresso Machine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
truckman
,Cherry Hill
,NJ
March 17, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Absolutely the BEST
March 17, 2012
Just got our Miele CM5100 and Love it. Makes the best tasting coffee that I have ever had. I travel alot and am a big coffee drinker. I've gotten spoiled by the unbelievable taste. Guess I'm going to have to fill the thermos for the road. Very user friendly with variable temperature and strength settings for my whole family. Easy to clean too. Well worth the money.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Speed, Versatile, Design
Review 5 for Miele CM5100 Espresso Machine
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
NYGIANTS
,Poughkeepsie
,NY
January 18, 2012
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
3of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love the concept but did not live up to par!
January 18, 2012
I purchased this machine Dec. 19th and returned it Jan 16th. Fist off I couldn't get the coffe temp pass 135 degrees even with the setting at high, also kept getting code 72 errors and also even with the coffee beans in I was getting an error to fill. I called Miele over 15 times and not one of their reps had any knowlegde on this machine, they told me it was new to the market and that they were learing. Pretty sad that they put a $2500 machine out in the stores for sale and yet can't answer any questions without reading the manual. I bought a $380 Nesspresso inplace of it and absolutly love it. The Milk frothing blows away the Miele CM5100. Save your money, Oh and by the way the milk doesn't get hot either.
Pros: Durable, Speed
Cons: High-Maintenance, Size
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 6 for Miele CM5100 Espresso Machine
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous
,Berea
,ky
January 3, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Descent espresso machine
January 3, 2012
Only real issue I have is that it is so loud and the machine's lid vibrates everytime it brews. Has anyone else had this issue.
I also agree with previous comments that the Latte does not get hot enough.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Loud, not hot enough
Review 7 for Miele CM5100 Espresso Machine
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
RNFinCA
December 27, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
3of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointing
December 27, 2011
We drink lattes. Unfortunately, the highest temperature the 5100 will heat milk to, without sending it through twice, is between 130 and 135 degrees. Far below the 160 to 180 from Starbucks. So if you are looking forward to that piping hot latte that you get at Starbucks, save your money.
On a further note, I have only tried programing one item so far, setting the amount of expresso in one cup. Out of the box it was producing around 1.7 oz. I was trying to set it to the standard 2 oz. Programming it worked just like the instructions said, except the programming has failed every time. It refuses to save the established amount. Tech support confirmed I am executing the instructions correctly.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: fails in critical areas
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
RNFinCA
Manhattan Beach, CA
Posted April 29, 2012
Update
We found a good work around for the temperature problem. We now heat milk in a measuring cup in the microwave. We can duplicate the amount of milk exactly with the measuring cup. We can duplicate the temperature exactly with the amount of time in the microwave. Yes, it is a kludge, but it works perfectly.
0points
Customer avatar
RichieRich
Orlando, Florida
Posted April 27, 2012
Temperature
I know some people have complained about not getting the right temperature (160 to 165 degrees).Problem is we have been spolied at Starbucks and other coffee shops. According to the people who have been the pioneers of coffee making, we have been drinking coffee at the wrong temperatures here in the U.S. The correct temperature to drink coffee is 135 degrees. We are not suppose to scorch our mouths and taste buds to truly enjoy a cup of coffee. I know that is no consolation here, but I think that's why these machines don't heat up past that temperature. Just my 2 cents.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 8 for Miele CM5100 Espresso Machine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
deniu
,rockford
,il
rockford, IL
December 13, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
my coffee, one cup at a time
December 13, 2011
we make our own blend of beans, which makes if hard to find a machine that lets you do make a cup at a time with our own beans and also does expresso and specially blends. This machine fits our needs and make the best espresso we've ever had.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Design
Review 9 for Miele CM5100 Espresso Machine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ValuedCustomer
,Castro Valley
,CA
December 11, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Greatest Coffee for Home
December 11, 2011
The CM 5100 makes our coffee better than we could have hoped for. We can make great tasting coffee in just a few minutes. Easy to use, a few simple steps and you have the best tasting coffee that we have ever had in home or office. Now that we have used it for a few days now, we agree that these cups are now even better than from our local coffee house. All you need to do is fill with water, fill with milk and beans and press two buttons. Very easy to clean, dump used beans and rinse water from one tray. We waited for a long time for a machine like this, compairs in taste with machines costing three times as much. I have read other machines are hard to get all the bits out for deep cleaning. This one really is very easy to get to all the parts for weekly cleaning. You can not get anything any better for less.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Quiet
Review 10 for Miele CM5100 Espresso Machine
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
mmemike
,morristown
,nj
December 10, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
3of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
beware of this machine!
December 10, 2011
I recently purchased this unit and immediately upon setting it up, the machine failed to produce even one shot of espresso. It constantly asked me to "fill the bean container" when in fact there were already beans in the container! i took it back to WS (the team at short hills was great) and got a second unit..Took it home, set it up and yes, you guessed it, SAME problem!! called Miele and they told me to take it in for service??? believe it or not i did and the tech told me that the sensor that detects the coffee in the chamber may be malfunctioning!! he also said he was going to find out if Miele is having a problem with these units..
I will post back when i know what the issue is but in the meantime..BEWARE!!!
Review 11 for Miele CM5100 Espresso Machine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
goliathdpittbull
,Palo Alto
,CA
September 19, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
the best espresso
September 19, 2011
I originally bought a Delonghi Perfecta SuperAutomatic Espresso Machine ESAM5500M. I loved it so much. After 16 months, it stopped steaming milk. I was told that it was a manufacturer's defect. The milk steaming sensor broke and could not be fixed. Of course, I was already out of warranty. I found out that Williams Sonoma did not even carry Delonghi anymore. The sales person recommended the Miele CM5100 and I am soooo glad I purchased it. It makes much better espresso than my beloved Delonghi. It is an awesome machine all around. You will not regret this purchase.
Pros: Easy to Use, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design, Assembly
 
My Recommendations