Miele CM5000 Espresso Machine

Introducing the first fully automatic countertop espresso system from Miele, Bringing Miele's legendary design and quality to coffee brewing, this state-of-the-art machine offers ultraquiet operation and produces a full menu of coffee drinks-from single or double coffee and espresso to lattes, cappuccinos and macchiatos-with easy, intuitive controls. Built with the finest components and tested to last for 50,000 cups. Ultraquiet operation. Each cup of coffee or espresso can be customized to your exact preferences for size, strength and temperature. Stainless-steel dual spouts are height adjustable and dispense two cups at a time. Manual steam valve for heating and frothing milk. Built-in conical grinder with adjustable settings. Powerful 15-bar pump for maximum extraction of flavor. Programmable timer. Energy-saving Eco Mode. Removable brew unit for easy cleaning. Automatic prompts for replenishment of coffee beans and water and for maintenance. 61 fl. oz. cap. removable water tank. Easy top access to 9.1-oz. bean container and compartment for ground coffee. Includes insulated 16.9 oz. milk flask. Access to a nationwide network of Miele service centers for personal assistance if needed.
Average Customer Rating:
3.75 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
5 of 8(62%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Miele CM5000 Espresso Machine
Review 1 for Miele CM5000 Espresso Machine
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
chrisinillinois
,geneva
,il
March 10, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Just OK but not worth the money
March 10, 2014
We have had this unit for just over 2 years and are a little disappointed. (previously had a jura for 8 years with little to no problems). As others mentioned in previous reviews there is a lot of upkeep with this machine, however that is not our area of disappointment. After 2 years of use- we run into an issue of an error stating "empty the drip tray" however there is nothing to be emptied. After contacting the manufacturer they recommended we take a file to one of the contacts in the back (really what type of company suggests taking a file or sandpaper to fix an issue). Their only other suggestion was to take it to a service provider and invest over $300 in repairs. When spending this type of money on a high end coffee maker I would expect more than a 1 year warranty. Overall it makes good coffee however don't expect to make the 50,000 cups that they say this machine is rated for - plan on 2-3 years of use then you will have to replace.
Pros: Size
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Clean, Temperamental, High-Maintenance
Review 2 for Miele CM5000 Espresso Machine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bakergail
Oklahoma
November 28, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My new best friend!
November 28, 2013
We are in love with this coffee maker! You just can't beat the quality of the brew! Like a good friend, however, you need to pay attention to it and listen (read!) what it says! There is a slight learning curve, but the end product is every bit as wonderful as their more expensive machines!
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 3 for Miele CM5000 Espresso Machine
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
dhatl
,Atlatna
,GA
July 26, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Makes good coffee, but poorly designed
July 26, 2013
I like the fact that coffee is always fresh since it makes one cup at a time. What drives me crazy and will drive you - if you buy it - is the user interface. It feels hacked together. It will make you a servant of the machine rather than vice-versa. For example, the machine requires both cleaning and descaling. For descaling, it warns you when the descaling time is approaching so you have a few days to find time to do it. For no apparent reason, the approach to cleaning is completely diffferent. You get no warning that cleaning time is approaching until it suddenly demands cleaning. It is possible to back out of cleaning, but you must do it for each cup you make and they make it very hard to back out. Many times I or a guest have accidentally slipped up in backing out of the cleaning and then you are in for a long process whether you want it or not - there is no way to cancel once you make that slip-up.
Pros: Versatile
Cons: Difficult to Use, Temperamental, High-Maintenance
Review 4 for Miele CM5000 Espresso Machine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Phinibs
,Naperville
,IL
January 20, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect coffee at your fingertips
January 20, 2013
Purchased the Miele 5000 over The Jura Ena 9 based on product manufacturing, look and solid feel of machine. Miele representative came to our home to install, demonstrate and answer questions regarding the product. The machine is easy to use, clean and adjust features at your fingertips. Would highly recommend this Miele machine. Service from both Williams Sonoma and Miele at a very high level.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Power, Easy to Clean
Review 5 for Miele CM5000 Espresso Machine
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Actuary
,Alexandria
,VA
December 12, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+7points
9of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
returned two machines in one week
December 12, 2011
We are espresso fanatics and have owned Jura and DeLongi machines. We just returned two Miele machines to the store this week and chose to find another brand. First new one had part missing, second new one lasted two days before "fill beans" message came on and it was full of high quality beans. After several attempts with Miele (via phone) to fix, told to return it to the store. The coffee was magnificent when it worked. Bad design flaws in that you have to have access to right and left and top and front of machine to use.
Pros: Quality, Speed, Quiet, great coffee
Cons: Weight, Temperamental, High-Maintenance, Fragile, need access to all sides
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
dhatl
Atlanta, GA
Posted July 26, 2013
Had the same problem
Mine has the same problem, but you can get it to work if you use only light to medium roast beans. If you are a fan of dark roast, then forget it - the beans won't flow into the machine properly and you will constantly be getting that message.
0points
Customer avatar
Tgrsqrl
Los Angeles, CA
Posted December 14, 2011
Same Issue
I also returned 2 machines. Very surprised Miele has such poor quality.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 6 for Miele CM5000 Espresso Machine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mkaletpa
,Tampa
,Fl
Tampa, Florida
October 9, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
quick, convenient HOT espresso
October 9, 2011
this is the best super automatic machine I have ever tried! Since Williams-Sonoma stopped carrying Jura, I have been unimpressed with other selections. This machine is quiet, easy to use, produces a hot cup of coffee and has a beautiful look! So far, I can see this machine will live up to its 50,000 cup promise! one negative would be that the grinder really could produce a finer grind, but most automatics have the same problem.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Speed, Quiet, Design, hot coffee
Cons: too coarse grind
Review 7 for Miele CM5000 Espresso Machine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
organicfarmer
Carmel, IN
August 29, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Its the best!
August 29, 2011
We love this machine, a perfect cup of coffee every time. Thank you Miele for coming out with a table top model. No wasteful paper cups.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Review 8 for Miele CM5000 Espresso Machine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Summy
Dana Point, CA
August 25, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
4of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My own personal barista!!
August 25, 2011
I love my Miele CM5100!! It grinds my favorite beans fresh with every cup, the steamer froths the milk PERFECT every time, and I no longer have to wait in line for this experience. I am so happy they came out with this machine. HIGHLY recommend it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly