This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Microwave Glass Popcorn Popper

This glass popcorn popper makes popping corn in the microwave easy and healthy - a superior alternative to buying expensive bags of microwave popcorn. You can enjoy perfectly popped corn with just the right amount of melted butter in less than three minutes. Heat-resistant borosilicate (laboratory glass). Silicone lid holds butter that slowly melts into your popcorn as it pops. No oil necessary to pop corn. Makes about 2 1/2 quarts of popcorn. 6" diam.; 7 1/2" high. Made in China.
Average Customer Rating:
3.8 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
25 of 35(71%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Microwave Glass Popcorn Popper
Review 1 for Microwave Glass Popcorn Popper
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Melodyf
,Mountain Home
,Ar
July 29, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Reason for bad reviews.
July 29, 2014
I have this popcorn popper and use it all the time. I have had the same thing happen with the popcorn not popping right and then I discovered my popcorn was not fresh. When I bought fresh popcorn it pops like a dream. It taste better than movie popcorn. We love it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Store, Size
Review 2 for Microwave Glass Popcorn Popper
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GerryR
,Atlanta
,GA
July 23, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Perfect popcorn
July 23, 2014
I have used this to make popcorn on four different occasions. It has worked perfectly every time. I use 1/4 cup popcorn which fills the container about 3/4 full after popping. I use a few pats of butter in the lid and set the timer for 4:20. I listen for the popping to slow and stop the microwave around 4:10 or so. I have a 1440 watt microwave. I really can't taste much of the butter but the popcorn isn't dry. I just bought store brand popcorn to experiment with the popper. Like I said the popcorn turned out perfect. And it washed up great in the dishwasher. I couldn't be happier with it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Review 3 for Microwave Glass Popcorn Popper
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
foodie3796
,Fairfax
,VA
June 12, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Makes the BEST popcorn ever!
June 12, 2014
I am an avid popcorn eater and was looking to move away from the microwave bag popcorn. So, I added this item to my wedding registry and received it as a gift at my bridal shower. I've made 2 batches of popcorn within the past few days and absolutely love it! The popcorn kernels are smaller, I can control the amount of butter used, tastes fresher, and clean up is a breeze. I was concerned it might not fit in my smaller apartment microwave, but it did. I'm thrilled!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Weight
Cons: Fragile
Review 4 for Microwave Glass Popcorn Popper
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
thepnut73
,New Orleans
,Lo
June 9, 2014
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Absolutely LOVE it!
June 9, 2014
I read the reviews prior, and thankfully so, as there were no "directions" per se. I popped 1/3 cup kernels, 1 pat of butter on high for 3 1/2 minutes. PERFECTION! The key is to really listen to the popping, once it dies down and you hear only an occasional pop, then is when you stop. Yes there are a few kernels remaining at the bottom, but no more than any other popper. Truly flavorful and buttery. A great way to enjoy a fabulous snack at any time of the day!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Shape, Design
Review 5 for Microwave Glass Popcorn Popper
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
JHow
,Irving
,TX
February 27, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
I had bad luck, too. :(
February 27, 2014
I (excitedly) purchased this item just before Christmas, as I get in the mood for eating lots of popcorn around the holidays. ;)
Unfortunately, this popper did not perform for me as advertised, especially according to the directions. I rarely write reviews, but was so disappointed with my results that I wanted to inform WS & warn those who were considering purchasing.
I had the same results as everyone else posting with issues - many kernels left unpopped, burned popcorn due to having to leave it in so long (up to 10 mins sometimes). I was very surprised to see so many high reviews for this item...
I love the design and the idea behind having fresh microwaved popcorn without all the harmful chemicals of bagged micro popcorn. I still have mine, so I guess I will try it again using some of the tips I've read.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Shape, Design
Cons: does not perform as advertised
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
JHow
Posted February 28, 2014
UPDATE:
So, I went home last night, and tried this again. I heated the popper in the microwave on the popcorn setting to "warm it up" prior to adding in my corn.
I have to say that it worked MUCH better this time. It still left several kernels unpopped, however, it was only a fraction of the amount as before. I still would only rate at about 3.5 stars due to having to go the extra step of heating up the container first, so take that for what it's worth prior to making your purchase.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Microwave Glass Popcorn Popper
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MrJaye
,Bainbridge
,NY
February 4, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Reviews helped greatly!
February 4, 2014
We purchased this for ourselves just after Christmas as part of a healthier eating lifestyle. The box had no written instructions in it, only the blurb on the box itself. By looking it up on the web site, & reading the other reviews, we managed to put together a pretty good idea of how to best use the popper. Thanks to everyone who takes time to review a product, it really does help others!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality
Review 7 for Microwave Glass Popcorn Popper
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lynnpitz
,Fresno
,CA
February 4, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Best Popcorn Ever!
February 4, 2014
Never thought microwave popcorn could taste this good! My husband and I bought this on a whim, and were so surprised at how delicious the popcorn is! And, it's so nice to have the butter equally dispersed on the popcorn! The design is ingenious!
The cons are that the glass gets very hot, so have your oven mitts ready, and I can't fit it in my dishwasher!
The price point is great, too!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Store, Design
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Review 8 for Microwave Glass Popcorn Popper
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
loras65
January 15, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Popcorn Popper
January 15, 2014
My son got this for me for Christmas and I love it! I have had no issues with burning popcorn as the other reviews have said. This is a great product!
Review 9 for Microwave Glass Popcorn Popper
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gilbertgs
,Woodbridge
,VA
January 2, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Perfect popcorn
January 2, 2014
We got this for Christmas under the tree from Santa and couldn't wait to use it. It was fun to use and worked perfectly. We put in 4T to equal 2 oz by weight and put it on 3:20 with our 1200 watt microwave. We melted the butter separately after the first time because it melted too fast. This is a blast to use and will be much healthier--and less expensive!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Design
Review 10 for Microwave Glass Popcorn Popper
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JeccaCo
,Washington
,DC
January 1, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Delicious popcorn, no fuss
January 1, 2014
This was a Christmas present. We used it at my fiance's parents house first (old microwave) with great success and then at our own. I'm glad we had already tried it, because on our newer microwave the kernels burnt on high power. Power level 7 for 3 minutes seems to work best for us. It may take a few tries to find the right balance to get the kernels to pop, but once you do, you'll be so happy to have this handy product. It works well, and the popcorn tastes better and is so much healthier than the bags of popcorn, which have harmful chemicals and way too much butter! It's also easy to clean up afterward.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Review 11 for Microwave Glass Popcorn Popper
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JRWisconsin
,MILWAUKEE
,WI
December 13, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Fabulous product
December 13, 2013
Love this bought 6 more for relatives. Easy to use.....SO much healthier than the packets of microwave pop and tastes like real popcorn because it is.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Shape, Design
Review 12 for Microwave Glass Popcorn Popper
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Subzero7
,IL
December 4, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
7of 8found this review helpful.
This is GREAT!!
December 4, 2013
It's a simple little product that pops excellent popcorn. It's very easy to use. Pour in 1/4 to 1/3 cup of popcorn (no more than 1/3), and it will pop it all. As others have said, the first time (with the popper cool) it will take a little longer to start, but if you pop two or more batches it will pop those batches faster. Either way, I wouldn't use the "popcorn" setting. At least on the first batch. I just set the microwave on high, and listen for the popping to slow down. As one other noted two or three seconds between pops, and it's done. I only purchased this yesterday, and I've already used if four times, and have four perfect batches. As for those that are giving this a low rating, it must be the microwave is bad, or to low of a wattage to work right. Buy this with confidence and ENJOY!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store
Review 13 for Microwave Glass Popcorn Popper
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MissAdventure
,Seattle
,WA
August 16, 2013
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+30points
30of 30found this review helpful.
Love it!!! Have some tips!
August 16, 2013
I bought this a while ago and I love it! I noticed previous reviews where people were not having much success with the product so I have some tips for you:
#1- Pre-heat the popper by putting it in the microwave for ONE popcorn button (roughly 3 minutes on hight) cycle EMPTY.
#2- Spritz the inside with either water or a cooking spray. You do NOT need a great deal of either. I will either get my clean fingers wet under the faucet and flick water into the popper or use a spray bottle. If you want to use a flavored cooking spray I recommend doing more no more than two short spritzes. The steam from the water and the spray help increase the temperature in the popper to make your kernels pop, and it also prevents them from scorching. :)
#3- Never use more than two tablespoons of popcorn kernels.
#4- Listen to the pops. If you can count to five between them, it's time to quit cooking.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store
Review 14 for Microwave Glass Popcorn Popper
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Jillpickle
,Marshfield
,WI
April 14, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Burnt corn
April 14, 2013
This product is horrible. It takes much longer to pop than the 3 minutes on the directions-more like 5 min. Even then some kernels are unpopped and others burned. We tried 3 times, to give it a chance, even measuring the amount of popcorn kernels on a scale to make sure we were following the directions exactly. We are returning ours.
Pros: Size
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality, Fragile, Shape
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
HinMN
MN
Posted December 7, 2013
Tips on avoiding burned corn...
I have burned my popcorn a few times - the whole thing is sort of trial and error in each different microwave.
For mine, using less butter reduces the burnt kernels. The biggest trick is this: never let all of the kernels finish popping - I typically stop the microwave once the popper is 1/2 to 2/3 of the way full - then if you want, dump out the popcorn and immediately stick the remaining kernels back and in and finish popping them! My burns have always related to using excess butter or leaving the corn to pop for too long.
The glass popper requires a little extra patience and occasionally a tossed batch - but it so worth it once you figure out how to pop it just right!
Hope this helps someone :)
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Microwave Glass Popcorn Popper
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cookyinthekitchen
,PA
Scranton, PA
April 6, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Love this popper
April 6, 2013
My husband and I eat popcorn a lot. This is the first method that we both can say really works great in getting tasty popcorn without oil and any hassle.
We have had no problems with it; however, we do not use the popcorn setting on our microwave. We usually time it for 5 minutes (the kernels don't start to pop for at least 3 minutes). Around 4-4 1/2 minutes you might have to stop the microwave if they are finished popping to avoid burning. The butter melts perfectly. Just add salt and enjoy.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Fragile
Review 16 for Microwave Glass Popcorn Popper
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
shrchatt
,Suffolk
,VA
February 21, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Great gift
February 21, 2013
I bought this for Christmas for my teen age son who loves popcorn. It's very easy to use. We use 1/4 cup of kernels and NO BUTTER on the top. When we tried w/the butter on top, popcorn burns. We also use the popcorn key on the microwave and listen when the poping slows just like when you use the microwave bag popcorn. It's easy to clean. we hand wash and air dry it.
Review 17 for Microwave Glass Popcorn Popper
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sbarrie
,Grand Rapids
,MI
February 7, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
easy way to make pop corn
February 7, 2013
This micro wave popcorn popper works great. I did not use the automatic butter option so I cannot comment on how well that works.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 18 for Microwave Glass Popcorn Popper
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
efgraphx
,Vero beach
,Fl
January 26, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
I love popcorn
January 26, 2013
I took a chance and bought this. I use a 1/3 cup of Corn an a few spoons of butter and a touch of salt. Micro for 4.25 minutes. Wow, this thing works Great!!
Don't understand how others are having an issue with this as it has been easy and Delish!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Versatile
Cons: Fragile
Review 19 for Microwave Glass Popcorn Popper
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
jacki13
,Madison
,VA
January 24, 2013
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
3of 8found this review helpful.
This is not Williams-Somona quality.
January 24, 2013
This made the worst popcorn that I have ever made.
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Difficult to Store, Fragile
Review 20 for Microwave Glass Popcorn Popper
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
plmeek
,Coos Bay
,OR
January 21, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Excellent Popper
January 21, 2013
I was so happy to get this popper and it didn't disappoint me! Have used it several times already. I put in 1/4 cup of popcorn and hit the popcorn button on my microwave. As soon as I don't hear it popping anymore, I stop it and the popcorn is perfect. The only complaint I would have is that the opening is rather small and clumpsy for pouring the popcorn out. Other than that it is perfect in every way. I love watching it pop!! The only thing I can think of for people having problems is that they are using too much popcorn and/or an inferior popcorn kernal.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Weight
page1 2 next