Microplane(R) Ultimate Citrus Tool

From the American company that revolutionized graters by applying fine woodworking technology to top-quality tools for the kitchen, this multifunction Microplane citrus tool is without peer. Reach for it to zest, score or strip the aromatic peel from lemons, limes and oranges with perfect precision. Razor-sharp stainless steel cutting edges. Fine grater zests aromatic citrus fruits without including any bitter white pith. Two garnishing blades remove thin or thick curls of citrus peel for decorating drinks, entrees or desserts. Scoring blade zips vertical strips through citrus peel for easy peeling. Ergonomic soft grip handle ensures a firm, comfortable hold. Dishwasher safe. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
9 of 10(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Microplane(R) Ultimate Citrus Tool
Review 1 for Microplane(R) Ultimate Citrus Tool
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kukie
,Canutillo
,Tx
July 31, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good kitchen tool
July 31, 2013
It really does the work. I am satisfied with my purchase.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Design
Review 2 for Microplane(R) Ultimate Citrus Tool
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
SunflowerCat
,Four Corners
,NM
March 3, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good for citrus
March 3, 2013
I have used this product on citrus for the past year and it has performed well. However, I made the mistake of grating an onion with it and it broke. The plastic cracked at the top and also along the base near the handle. It's never been in the dishwasher. I'll be looking for a replacement that is more of a multifunctional (long lasting) workhorse as space is limited in my kitchen.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Cons: Fragile
Review 3 for Microplane(R) Ultimate Citrus Tool
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
VioletP
,CA
November 29, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Where have you been all my life?
November 29, 2012
I had high hopes for this little tool, and it exceeded my expectations. I easily zested a small lemon in about 30 seconds, and got about a tablespoon of zest. I can't believe I put up with my old box grater for so long. The scoring and curling tools also worked great for me.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean
Review 4 for Microplane(R) Ultimate Citrus Tool
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dmrp
,Las Vegas
,Ne
August 1, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
greatest little gaget
August 1, 2012
Works fantastic. Grates the rind from citrus fruit without the white pith. Also does fancy curls for dishes and drinks. So easy to use.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 5 for Microplane(R) Ultimate Citrus Tool
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
knittingaddict
,Canal Fulton
,OH
December 4, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not just for citrus
December 4, 2011
This microplane is awesome for garlic cloves, finely grates it beautifully and doesn't reduce it to just juice like some I've used. Also works really well for ginger. Oh and it does work beautifully on lemon, lime & orange zest. Also comes with a nice cover for storage. I'm giving this to my daughter as a gift, I like it that much.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Versatile, Design
Review 6 for Microplane(R) Ultimate Citrus Tool
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DavesNotHere
,Edmond
,OK
October 9, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing, wish I had this decades ago
October 9, 2011
I just bought this and used it today to zest a lemon for something I was cooking. It was amazing!
I've got one of the "old school" zesters, you know the one with the row of 4-5 holes at the end. I think I've had it since the late 1980's when I decided to get a little more serious about cooking. Well, this microplane one did the job so well and so fast that I'm retiring the other one to the junk drawer.
I'm generally not a huge gadget fan, but this one's a keeper.
I have a 20+ year old Boerner V-slicer, if you don't own a similar product, such as the OXO one from here - buy it or give it as a wedding gift, it's worth every penny even if only for cutting onions and tomatoes. 5 favorite knives - Cleaver, chef's, boning, paring and bread. They don't have to be expensive, but they have to be sharp. invest in a good sharpener and use it - even expensive metal blades get dull over time. After I got married I had to sharpen all of my wife's knives, they were dangerously dull.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Size
Review 7 for Microplane(R) Ultimate Citrus Tool
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
informalgourmet
Maryland
August 5, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
not exactly what I expected
August 5, 2011
This a handy tool for many jobs like zesting lemons and other citrus. It does not easily make a cocktail "twist" as displayed in the web description/picture. I have been practicing but am still not satisfied with the result. Still I don't regret the purchase. It is a good tool to have in the kitchen.
Pros: Durable, Size, Versatile
Review 8 for Microplane(R) Ultimate Citrus Tool
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Silkcat
Naples, FL
July 25, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
5 Star Product
July 25, 2011
I love Microplane products - I own all their zesters.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 9 for Microplane(R) Ultimate Citrus Tool
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bevo4
Bristol, Virginia
July 8, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
THIS REALLY DOES THE JOB!
July 8, 2011
When microplane zesters were first the rage many years ago, I purchased a good one (not from Williams-Sonoma) that was supposedly worth the expensive price tag. Never worked well and I dumped it. THIS is a great tool...besides zesting very well, it also has a scoring blade to help peel citrus and a garnish cutter...and the price was very reasonable. This tool works!!!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight, fairly priced
Review 10 for Microplane(R) Ultimate Citrus Tool
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lovetocookinpanhandleofTX
June 7, 2011
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Cocktail tool
June 7, 2011
made great cocktail garnishes for martinis. also made a great citrus zest
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean