Microplane(R) Rasp Grater

The Microplane grater originated as an excellent smoothing tool for woodworkers, which proved to be an indispensable grating tool for cooks. This version of the American-made tool quickly zests citrus fruits and grates even the hardest Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese. Razor-sharp stainless-steel teeth allow grating in both directions - saving time and energy. Rasp grater is ideal for zesting citrus and grating hard cheeses, garlic and ginger. Improved soft-grip handle ensures a firm, comfortable hold. Includes protective cover. Dishwasher safe.
Average Customer Rating:
4.562 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
14 of 16(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Microplane(R) Rasp Grater
Review 1 for Microplane(R) Rasp Grater
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PalmSpringsBaker
,Palm Springs
,CA
Palm Springs, CA
February 9, 2014
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Microplane(R) Rasp Grater
February 9, 2014
Perfect Rasp Grater!
Ignore the negative reviews and use this amazing Microplane Rasp Grater as recommended.
You Will Not Be Disappointed.
Enjoy!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight, sturdy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 2 for Microplane(R) Rasp Grater
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Rae56
,Houston
,TX
December 11, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
-3points
4of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Poor quality
December 11, 2013
Except for what I considered a hard to store size (long blade and large handle), I was satisfied with this item until yesterday. I noticed as I was trying to obtain some orange zest that it wasn't producing any. Upon inspection, it appeared that the little raised knife-edge "bumps" on the top of the blade were no longer raised, but lying almost completely flat. The only area on the blade that I could get to produce orange zest was the first inch or two off the handle (an unused area on the blade). So, I was grating the orange with those first couple inches of the blade, using enough pressure to obtain zest and not pith, when suddenly the blade bends right at the handle, nearly breaking completely off. Considering that I've only used this zester 8-10 times over the past 2 years, have always hand washed it and stored it in a drawer with blade cover in place, this is an unacceptable lack of quality for this tool.
Pros: Time-saver
Cons: Quality, Difficult to Store, Fragile, Size
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
PalmSpringsBaker
Palm Springs, CA
Posted February 9, 2014
Top 25 Contributor
Poor quality
I suggest returning the grater to microplane or William Sonoma.
+1point
1of 1found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Microplane(R) Rasp Grater
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HappyPerson
,Austin
,TX
Austin, Texas
September 27, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Greatest Invention!
September 27, 2013
Just buy this....you will wonder how you lived without it. Just be careful of fingers and nails,,,,this thing is SHARP.
Use and throw in dishwasher.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 4 for Microplane(R) Rasp Grater
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
angelinagirl
,Pittsburgh
,PA
August 6, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Time-Saving Tool in the Kitchen
August 6, 2013
I am frankly just learning to use this tool, and so far it has been very good. Since we use a lot of ginger, I use it mainly to grate fresh ginger, but it also works extremely well in grating lemon and lime rind. I have very arthritic hands which cramp easily, so I especially appreciate the ease with which I can grate these foods. I also like the fact that it has a protective sheath. The only drawback is that the grated product must be guided (usually with my finger) into the prep bowl because it clings to the back of the plane.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Design
Cons: limited use
Review 5 for Microplane(R) Rasp Grater
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
carlvs
,Central
,IL
July 30, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect for citrus and nutmeg
July 30, 2013
This is a great multi use grater. It is absolutely perfect for nutmeg as well as zesting citrus.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Design
Review 6 for Microplane(R) Rasp Grater
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rumar
,Arlington Heights
,Il
July 11, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My favorite tool for zesting
July 11, 2013
My Key Lime pie was a success because with my new microplanel I could easily zest my limes and very easy to clean
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver
Review 7 for Microplane(R) Rasp Grater
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
brighteyes
,Beeville
,tx
April 9, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Now I finally have one!!!
April 9, 2013
After watching my kids use it with ease on lemons and parmesan gratings to make their dishes have that special effect and flavor, I swore I would get one... I was so thrilled to open the box and cook immediately...it works very well and I feel very accomplished when I see my finished product, my plate.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Design
Review 8 for Microplane(R) Rasp Grater
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TuanCanCook
Los Angeles County, CA
February 12, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Still sharp and effective!
February 12, 2013
I've had this for about 3 years and use it regularly for lemon & orange zesting.
Recently started using it to grate nutmeg. This rasp is still sharp as the day I bought it. No need to buy the specialized spice rasp. This works better as its a flat surface which is safer to grate nutmeg on. The specialized rasp is round and I'm afraid the nutmeg nut will slip while grating, and my fingers will make contact, yikes! This flat grater is more versatile.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Versatile, Design
Review 9 for Microplane(R) Rasp Grater
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Squeekyboo
,Greenville
,SC
January 30, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
AWESOME PRODUCT!
January 30, 2013
Should have purchased this years ago! No more 'grating' my knuckles when I'm grating Key Limes. Thank you for a wonderful, useful product!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 10 for Microplane(R) Rasp Grater
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mistyrious
January 23, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Must Have Kitchen Tool
January 23, 2013
I've tried a number of "zesters" over the years and found this one to be better than the others by a country mile. Not only is it super sharp, but the handle is also extremely comfortable. My only detractor is that the instructions for replacing the protective cover are so small that my assistant nearly broke the cover trying to slide it over the grater. Other than that, this rasp grater has definitely earned a rarely bestowed 5 star rating from me.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Design, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 11 for Microplane(R) Rasp Grater
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Louu
,Berrien Springs
,MI
January 13, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My favorite tool for zesting
January 13, 2013
The microplane rasp grater makes quick work of zesting a lemon and also grates hard cheeses without the effort of using a box grater.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store
Review 12 for Microplane(R) Rasp Grater
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sonomawill
,kingston
,tn
January 10, 2013
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Light as a Rasp of Breath
January 10, 2013
Unimpressive but does the job. Photo online is more attractive than the item in real life.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Store
Cons: feels cheap
Review 13 for Microplane(R) Rasp Grater
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ladyofthehouse
,Blaine
,MN
December 26, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Value
December 26, 2012
Love this grater. Bought it as a Christmas gift for myself. Use it daily -- perfect for parmesan cheese, nutmeg, garlic, citrus zest....Price was great, and the grater is sharp, heavy duty. Comes with a very nice fitted cover to keep it sharp in my utensil drawer. Perfect.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight, great value
Review 14 for Microplane(R) Rasp Grater
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mariatini
,Albany
,NY
Albany, NY
November 5, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great hostess gift
November 5, 2012
These graters, which come with different hole sizes, make great host/hostess or shower gifts. A must-have for every cook! They work great, stay sharp forever, and are easy to use, clean, and store.
Highly recommended!
Pros: Easy to Store, Design, Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean
Review 15 for Microplane(R) Rasp Grater
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kmsfnp
,Norwich
,NY
February 5, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Grater
February 5, 2012
A must have! Works so well, I was amazed. I use this tool more than I thought I would and so glad I bought. Recommend!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Design
Review 16 for Microplane(R) Rasp Grater
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
joy1222
,The Upstate
,SC
January 12, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy to use and clean
January 12, 2012
I've been looking for a well-made grater and this one is just perfect. Have used it for whole nutmeg, fresh ginger, lemon and orange zest and it does the job easily. I just rinse it off, pat dry with a paper towel and return it to its plastic holder.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Versatile, easy to hold handle
Cons: Difficult to Store, Size, wish it were 9" instead of 12.5"