Microplane(R) Herb Mill

Place parsley, cilantro, dill, sage and mint in this mill, then just twist the handle - the ultra-sharp scissoring blades quickly mince even large quantities of herbs for flavorful salad dressings, sauces and more. Patented dual-action stainless-steel scissor blades. Minces quickly and smoothly, without tearing, bruising or blemishing herbs' delicate leaves. Simple wrist-twist motion requires minimal effort. Soft-touch ergonomic handle. For best results ensure herbs are dry after washing. Dishwasher safe.
Average Customer Rating:
2.944 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
9 of 18(50%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Microplane(R) Herb Mill
Review 1 for Microplane(R) Herb Mill
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Insuranceguru
,Grosse Pointe Farms
,MI
Windsor, ON
July 25, 2014
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love, love, love!
July 25, 2014
Admittedly, it took a couple of tries to perfect the use of this indispensible tool. No, you don't need to dry your herbs. Just fill both chambers, insert the top and start the back-and-forth motion while very slowly pushing the 'plunger' downwards. I get beautiful, finely minced herbs everytime. I plan on purchasing several for gifts--this is such a great tool!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Store, Design
Review 2 for Microplane(R) Herb Mill
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
aprocter
,Chevy Chase
,MD
Bennington, VT
June 9, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Find something else
June 9, 2014
My experience was that it did a terrible job of grinding and most of the torn up parsley, for example, gummed up the inner workings. It was impossible to clean. I used it once, cursing it as it made a mess; I took it out again and began to experience the same problem. Hope the trash man was happy; I wasn't.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality, Difficult to Clean
Review 3 for Microplane(R) Herb Mill
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
turkeybeginner
,Wayne
,NJ
November 11, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
works great but a pain
November 11, 2013
I really liked this when I first got it. It does a great job of cutting the herbs. It was a bit slow going because you have to keep on opening up and refilling and sometimes it doesn't get the stuff at the very bottom. Re clean up is a huge pain. I ended up having to throw it out because I took it apart to clean it and I couldn't get the blade back in correctly.
Review 4 for Microplane(R) Herb Mill
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
EAR1
July 15, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointing
July 15, 2013
Tried it with fresh basil. Experienced all the difficulties as other people reviewed. The clean up is very time consuming. It is much more efficient to use a sharp knife. I should have returned it. Instead, I tossed it in the garbage. Total waste of money.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Clean, Temperamental
Review 5 for Microplane(R) Herb Mill
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hotdigittydog
,Stockbridge
,GA
June 24, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
great little gadget
June 24, 2013
It does the nicest job of any herb grinder I've used. Very happy with my purchase.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Versatile, Design
Cons: none
Review 6 for Microplane(R) Herb Mill
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
jmNY
,New York
,NN
east coast
March 30, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Useless not recommended
March 30, 2013
The shute is too small to put in anything but a few leaves and the amount of time spend cleaning the device would be better spent with a sharp knife.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality, Difficult to Clean, Size
Review 7 for Microplane(R) Herb Mill
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pamgc
,Naperville
,Il
February 19, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastick tool!
February 19, 2013
What I like is that this tool uses every bit of what you put in. Often times when cleaning my cutting board and knife I feel like money's going down the drain. Not with this tool it uses every bit and a minimal amount is left behind to clean.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store
Review 8 for Microplane(R) Herb Mill
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TampaGirl
,Tampa
,FL
December 22, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
2of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great product for every kitchen
December 22, 2012
I am so surprised that there are any negative reviews. I love this herb mill! It works great and has become a staple in my kitchen. As with any fresh herb, when you wash it you need to pat it dry or it may not cut as well. Basil---No problem! I wouldn't stuff it with herbs--again, you're dealing with FRESH herbs, not dried. Use a little common sense and you'll love it, too!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Store, Size, Design
Review 9 for Microplane(R) Herb Mill
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Chris119
,Arlington
,VA
October 12, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good Mill for Fresh Herbs
October 12, 2012
Very efficient way to grind fresh herbs. Worth the money, I believe.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Store, Design
Review 10 for Microplane(R) Herb Mill
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
kayjay1
,Merced
,CA
Merced, CA
July 31, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Glad I tried this!
July 31, 2012
I purchased even though some of the reviews were unfavorable...and am I glad I did! i TRIED IT WITH BASIL EVEN THOUGH THAT WAS NOT ONE OF THE RECOMMENDED HERBS. It worked wonderfully and saved so much time. Some said it was hard to take a part to clean. If you follow the directions it's no problem.
Kathy
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Store, Design
Review 11 for Microplane(R) Herb Mill
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GourmetTXNCook
,Fort Worth
,TX
July 10, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great herb grinder
July 10, 2012
I received this as a gift and Love it!! I'm surprised to see the bad reviews, as I was about to order it for another family member. I use it for parsley and cilantro mainly and only shake off the water before grinding the herbs. Easy to clean and maintain. I would recommend to anyone.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 12 for Microplane(R) Herb Mill
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Futurechef
,Dallas
,TX
May 19, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Did NOT work at all for fresh basil
May 19, 2012
I tried the herb mill with fresh basil. I could not get it to work at all. I ended up having to dig the basil out of the herb mill and chop it by hand (which was much easier anyway). I was disappointed because I was so hopeful this would speed the chopping process. I am curious as to why it works so good for some people and not for others? I made sure my basil was completely dry as recommended...
Wish I could get my money back!!! This is an unfortunate waste of money
Cons: Difficult to Use, Temperamental
Review 13 for Microplane(R) Herb Mill
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
sunshineliz
,lake elsinore
,ca
May 1, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
herb cutter
May 1, 2012
Fresh herbs got stuck in the cutter and took forever to get the darn thing apart and cleaned because they got stuck.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality, Temperamental
Review 14 for Microplane(R) Herb Mill
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LaHitch
May 1, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy to use
May 1, 2012
I was a little concerned about this product after reading many of the reviews that stated it was "hard to use" and "fragile or difficult to use". I do not have these problems at all. The herb mill works great and I just pop it in the dishwasher to clean. I use this product weekly.
Pros: Time-saver
Review 15 for Microplane(R) Herb Mill
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ShaKaRoo2
,Bangor
,Pa
March 12, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Greatest gadget
March 12, 2012
I bought this for my husband who has arthritis and has trouble dicing things. He loves this herb mill. He now doesn't have any problems cutting rosemary or thyme and the pieces are small and easy to eat not hunks and chunks like before. A great product and we both give it 5 stars. He has difficulty cleaning it so I get that job. Other then that it's great.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Review 16 for Microplane(R) Herb Mill
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Aiva
March 1, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good idea, but doesn't quite work
March 1, 2012
I tried this mill with a couple of fresh herbs, like cilantro, dill, and parsley, but it kept falling apart and not really cutting the herbs. A knife is much faster and gets the job done much better. This was a good idea, but sadly a waste of money.
Pros: Easy to Clean
Cons: Difficult to Use, inefficient, wasteful
Review 17 for Microplane(R) Herb Mill
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
rnrn
February 8, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good idea that needs improvement
February 8, 2012
This mill falls apart easily. It's a good idea for those of us that like fresh herbs but not well thought out in the design.
Cons: Temperamental, Fragile
Review 18 for Microplane(R) Herb Mill
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ChrissieT
January 27, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Would not recommend
January 27, 2012
The cavity is really small (2 seperated sections)- very limited on amount of herbs you can hold and difficult to use. I tried with fresh cilantro, but maybe it would work better with dried herbs. I'm happier with my knife.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality