This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Microplane Gourmet Paddle Graters

The Microplane grater originated as an excellent smoothing tool for woodworkers, which proved to be an indispensable grating tool for cooks. We offer three exclusive versions of this American-made precision tool for handling an array of prep tasks. Razor-sharp stainless-steel teeth. Fine grater zests citrus fruits, grates nutmeg and purees onions, garlic and ginger. Medium ribbon grater allows grating in both directions and is ideal for grating soft cheeses and chocolate and shredding coconut. Coarse grater is designed for grating hard cheeses and chocolate as well as shredding cabbage and potatoes. Soft-grip handles ensure a firm, comfortable hold. Dishwasher safe.
Average Customer Rating:
4.871 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
30 of 31(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Microplane Gourmet Paddle Graters
Review 1 for Microplane Gourmet Paddle Graters
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
granny5
,Oceanside
,CA
California
June 21, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Everything
June 21, 2012
I love these graters. I use them for everything from garlic to parmesan cheese & zest in between. Great product.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Size
Review 2 for Microplane Gourmet Paddle Graters
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
justjack
,Los Angeles
,CA
June 16, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
best ever1
June 16, 2012
i have these in 3 different sizes. love them. don't know why they are no longer available? these are sturdy, easy to clean, and made in the U.S.A.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Design, Weight
Review 3 for Microplane Gourmet Paddle Graters
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CherP1
,Peoria
,Az
December 31, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Microplane Gourmet Paddle Graters.
December 31, 2011
I had bought some graters before, but not from WS. These graters work so well you can zest a entire lemon or orange in less that 1 minute. They are made of SS. If you buy these grater you will have them for life. I love WS. I have to pase myself. ha ha. No really best kitchen store.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Store, Size, Design, Weight
Review 4 for Microplane Gourmet Paddle Graters
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
valerb
,Iowa City
December 8, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
The Best Graters!
December 8, 2011
These microplane graters have changed the way I cook. I never buy already shredded cheese. These make grating so quick and easy, and it tastes so fresh. I have them all and use them regularly. They are a little hard to clean because the cheese gets stuck, as in any grater, and they are so sharp they rip a sponge. So I use my cleaning brush to wash them.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Design
Review 5 for Microplane Gourmet Paddle Graters
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ensey70
,winston salem
,nc
October 25, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
substantial heft
October 25, 2011
This is not a wimpy grater. It stands up to hard cheeses and produces lovely ribbons. It is larger than my other microplanes and heavier, a small problem with arthritic hands, but I recommend the quality and performance.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality
Review 6 for Microplane Gourmet Paddle Graters
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DrParker
Spokane, WA
July 29, 2011
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
On My Top 10 List
July 29, 2011
These Microplane Paddle Graters are on my Top 10 List of essential kitchen tools! I use at least one of them every day and appreciate the variety and ease in cleaning. I've just finished writing a cookbook and these tools were invaluable to creating both beautiful and delicious recipes.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Design
Review 7 for Microplane Gourmet Paddle Graters
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Diva22
Florida, USA
June 10, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Impressive Graters: A Must in Your Kitchen
June 10, 2011
I can't give these graters enough praise and recognition. A must for any kitchen and I can't believe I cooked so long without one of these highly professional graters.
I was impressed with the ease of which the they worked and grated the food. It was with such ease when using this food that I wanted another in my kitchen for more coarse grating. I like that they are designed for specific sizes and purposes. This makes it so much easier for me while preparing my meals to have the right equipment. My daughter who cooks with me often, said, "WOW Mom, these are awesome!" We both are impressed.
Review 8 for Microplane Gourmet Paddle Graters
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hilltopper
Cranford, NJ
April 15, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Registry Purchase
April 15, 2011
I was very happy with the expediency and great customer service upon ordering this gift. The bride received the gift well before the wedding. As usual, it was wrapped and delivered without any concerns to me, and to the delight of the young couple.
Review 9 for Microplane Gourmet Paddle Graters
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pattyo2
Littleton, CO
April 13, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Grate Tool!!
April 13, 2011
This microplane grater is one of my favorite kitchen tools. It is comfortable to hold, and sharp enough to make quick work of any job. I would highly suggest it for your next purchase. You won't be disappointed. .
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Design, Weight
Review 10 for Microplane Gourmet Paddle Graters
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jenbalaya
New Orleans, LA
April 2, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
I couldnt' ask for a better grater ....
April 2, 2011
and then I went for a pedicure and the woman pulled out a Microplane coarse grater and preceded to use it on my foot. ... I've used it for zesting, cheese and chocolate and never been disapppointed. And then this tiny Asian woman whipped it ou and used it on my heels and took off all the dead skin. Total unsanitary I know, but I will never doubt microplane again.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Design
Review 11 for Microplane Gourmet Paddle Graters
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Valley Falls, NY
January 18, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Microplane Zester
January 18, 2011
I am very pleased with this tool. Very well made, a breeze to use and clean and produces a fine citrus zest for easy incorporation in recipes.
Review 12 for Microplane Gourmet Paddle Graters
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KansasKate
Kansas
January 13, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Grater, good. Label, bad.
January 13, 2011
The graters, we love.
Williams-Sonoma, not so much.
We ordered a full set of Microplane graters. Each one came with a plastic shield which clips on the front and protects the grating surface. Each one also had a W-S bar code label stuck to the back of the grater. It takes for ever to get it peeled off and get the adhesive cleaned off. They should come w/ a bottle of adhesive remover.
Review 13 for Microplane Gourmet Paddle Graters
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kateprefersgoodproducts
St. Pete, FL
December 22, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
excellent grater
December 22, 2010
My sister and niece helped me prepare Thanksgiving dinner. They used the fine grater to grate a nutmeg and to zest an orange. They were both so impressed with the grater that we gave them each one for Christmas.
Review 14 for Microplane Gourmet Paddle Graters
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nanaof5
Novato CA
May 20, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Love them.
May 20, 2010
They fit the hand well and work great. I'm tending to use the smaller graters because they are easy and better to handle.
Review 15 for Microplane Gourmet Paddle Graters
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Iowagirl4ever
Iowa
February 6, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Perfect for citrus zest
February 6, 2010
I use a lot of lemon and orange zest in my cooking and baking. The fine paddle grater produces perfect zest. I gave one to my mother, who freezes orange and lemon zest (and juice) to bring home with her after each winter in Arizona. She loves it as much as I do! I use the larger graters for quick, fresh cheese sprinkles.
Review 16 for Microplane Gourmet Paddle Graters
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kenois
Flemington, NJ
October 9, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Kitchen Essential!
October 9, 2009
I have never used any tool that is more effective at zesting citrus, grating hard cheeses, and making pastes of garlic cloves and fresh ginger root. Simply incomparable!
Review 17 for Microplane Gourmet Paddle Graters
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
drewski
San Francisco, CA
September 29, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Fantastic kitchen tool
September 29, 2009
Microplane graters are great. Sharp, well made / sturdy . . . well except for the "Ultimate Citrus Tool" which has a flimsy plastic frame that breaks very easily. Buy one of these paddle graters and be happy. Remember, avoid the Citrus Tool at all costs!!! :)
Review 18 for Microplane Gourmet Paddle Graters
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sue1955
Frederick, MD
August 11, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Works Very Well
August 11, 2009
I bought this for my daughter who does virtually all of the cooking at home and wanted a grater that would grate fine (as opposed to coarse). She loves it! It does a beautiful job.
Review 19 for Microplane Gourmet Paddle Graters
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cervantes
Santa Fe, NM
July 18, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Cleaning Microplane Grater
July 18, 2009
They're great graters.
They are impossible to clean.
Cheese sticks in the holes; takes hours to pick it out.
Review 20 for Microplane Gourmet Paddle Graters
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
piebaker
Waretown, New Jersey
June 22, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
absolute must have
June 22, 2009
the graters are the best to have in the kitchen to
save time. I have 3 different ones and would not be without them. They are excellent for grating anything from lemons for zest to cheese for pizza.
page1 2 next