Microplane(R) Garlic Mincer

Mince garlic with minimal effort using this small but mighty tool from Microplane. Simply drop two or three cloves into the box top, then slide it back and forth to create small uniform pieces. An included scraper makes it easy to remove minced garlic from the catch chamber. Stainless-steel grating blade and durable plastic housing. Produces finely textured garlic pieces that retain their natural oils for optimum flavor. Can be used for shallots and other small flavorful vegetables. Includes scraper to easily remove garlic from chamber. Top-rack dishwasher safe.
Average Customer Rating:
1.625 out of 5
1.6
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
1 of 8(12%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Microplane(R) Garlic Mincer
Review 1 for Microplane(R) Garlic Mincer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,CA
January 27, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointment
January 27, 2013
I think I saw this on the Today show but not positive. It looked like it was the perfect thing for me because I don't like getting garlic all over my hands. Geeze I could't get the thing to work at all! The garlic got stuck on the little screen and then I couldn't get the screen out.. It was so frustrating! I gave up and will keep wearing gloves until I find something that actually works.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality, Difficult to Clean, Temperamental
Review 2 for Microplane(R) Garlic Mincer
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
,Wassenaar
,NL
December 5, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Poor Quality
December 5, 2012
The miner cut the garlic as expected and the clean up was not bad. However, the pastic bolt continually popped out. Eventually the internal springs were ejected and the unit became unusable. Very dissappointing quality.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accuracy, Time-saver
Cons: Quality, Temperamental, Fragile
Review 3 for Microplane(R) Garlic Mincer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,West Islip
November 24, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
JUNK-JUNK-JUNK
November 24, 2012
Impossible to crush even 1 piece of garlic--let alone the "4" instructions state you can crush @ one time. Self-destructed on 4th attempt--the plastic nail flew out from side of device while squeezing/mincing the garlic. Plastic grid gets jammed with pieces of garlic and wedges out of place while using--this was such a rip off--this product should be discontinued from your inventory WS!!!
Cons: junk/flimsy, broke on 1st use
Review 4 for Microplane(R) Garlic Mincer
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
,Fresno
,CA
October 23, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Worked Great but Broke on 3rd Use
October 23, 2012
I found the garlic mincer worked fine and sure beat doing it by hand. Clean up wasn't a real probem either. However, the plastic screen at the end of the ram broke after the 3rd use. I would buy it agian if this issue is resolved (SS metal screen??).
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Store, Size
Cons: Quality, Temperamental, Fragile
Review 5 for Microplane(R) Garlic Mincer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Arlington
,VA
October 12, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Would You Recommend? No
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nice Idea---but Impractical, questionable quality
October 12, 2012
Like others who bought this gadget, I thought it would be an efficient way to mince whole garlic. But, no. It is not as easy to use as the description would have you believe, and it is VERY DIFFICULT to clean. I actually suspect that mine was defective as the grid never seemed to fit correctly and the blade broke during second use. I would have returned this to W-S except that I can't find the receipt. Don't waste your money.
Pros: Easy to Store
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality, Difficult to Clean, Temperamental
Review 6 for Microplane(R) Garlic Mincer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,San Juan Capistrano
,CA
August 1, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+10points
10of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Microplane Garlic Mincer
August 1, 2012
I was so excited to view this mincer in the recent catalog. I bought it immediately, but to my surprise, the cloves did get stuck which pushing the ram down. Most of all,
the clean up was impossible. Horrible. So yes this will be returned ASAP.
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Review 7 for Microplane(R) Garlic Mincer
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,Montevallo
,AL
June 18, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I like it very much
June 18, 2012
I think this garlic mincer works great, I like it and it does its job. The only problem is that it is very difficult to clean.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Review 8 for Microplane(R) Garlic Mincer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Livermore
,Ca
May 13, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
+17points
18of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Don't buy this
May 13, 2012
Great looking, and a good idea, but it doesn't work. As soon as the garlic reachs the cutting blade, the plastic grid pushs down, preventing the blade from ever getting to the garlic. This is going back to the store. Does not live up to the normal WS quality.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Clean
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
ChefMax
Houston, TX
Posted October 12, 2012
Works well, not hard to clean.
This mincer works well if assembled properly. The grid removes for easy cleaning with a brush under running water. The pusher removes completely so that the inside be cleaned with soapy water and a bottle brush. There is no way the grid can push though if installed correctly.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)