Microplane(R) Elite Paddle Graters

Originating as a smoothing tool for woodworkers, the Microplane proved to be an indispensable grating and shredding tool in the kitchen. We offer four versions for handling an array of prep tasks. Hand-held graters allow you to grate or shred a variety of foods. Fine grater zests citrus fruits, grates nutmeg and hard cheeses. Ribbon grater is ideal for shredding chocolate and coconut. Extra-coarse grater is designed for semi-hard cheeses such as cheddar or jack. Star grater creates light, feathery gratings of parmesan cheese. Curved surfaces provide better contact. Contoured blade allows for cover to double as a receptacle holding up to 1 cup and is marked with US and metric measurements. Razor-sharp stainless-steel teeth. One-piece construction. Soft-grip handles ensure a firm, comfortable hold. Dishwasher safe. 3" wide, 11" long. Blades are made in USA; assembled in Mexico.
Average Customer Rating:
4.1 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
15 of 20(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Microplane(R) Elite Paddle Graters
Review 1 for Microplane(R) Elite Paddle Graters
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Natab0525
,Jackson
,NJ
August 4, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great grater!
August 4, 2014
Very sturdy and love the plastic measuring sheath. Sharp and cleans up well.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design
Review 2 for Microplane(R) Elite Paddle Graters
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mbs720
,Alton
,Il
August 2, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very sturdy and grate easily
August 2, 2014
I purchase 3 of the graters. Love how easy they are to hold without slipping. The cover has measurement lines therefore I do not have to pull out a measuring cup. They were larger than expected. Love them!!!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Design
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 3 for Microplane(R) Elite Paddle Graters
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Maricela
June 27, 2014
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Poor quality
June 27, 2014
I bought two types of these and they get the job done but feel poor quality. The rubber or plastic is awful. I initially thought the measuring piece would be more accurate but cheese seems to pack in it. I definitely don't like this purchase.
Cons: Quality, Weight
Review 4 for Microplane(R) Elite Paddle Graters
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
oldecook
,Kissimmee
,FL
May 23, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best grater I have used
May 23, 2014
This is the sharpest grater I have seen. It makes the job much easier than most - from citrus zest to hard cheeses, it is fast and easy to use. The shield/cup is very good for storing the tool.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Store, Versatile
Review 5 for Microplane(R) Elite Paddle Graters
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PalmSpringsBaker
,Palm Springs
,CA
Palm Springs, CA
February 9, 2014
Ability level:Professional
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Microplane(R) Elite Paddle Graters
February 9, 2014
Wonderful Product!
I have two and they always deliver a perfect grated product!
Ignore the negative reviews and remember to use the paddle graters as recommended.
If the Paddle Graters do not appeal to you. You may want to try the Microplane Box Grater.
Happy Cooking!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight, sturdy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 6 for Microplane(R) Elite Paddle Graters
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
robyncz
February 3, 2014
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not as sturdy as it seems
February 3, 2014
I received the coarse grater as a gift a little under a year ago and have used it probably once a month to grate cheddar cheese. The receptacle is nice for small jobs and it works just fine for big jobs, too. However, yesterday it simply buckled in half as I was using it. The plastic frame gave and the metal essentially folded in two. Disappointing for a product that appeared to be so sturdy and well-designed to fail under regular use.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Store
Cons: Fragile
Review 7 for Microplane(R) Elite Paddle Graters
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
lsjd
,Milwaukee
,WI
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
August 1, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-4points
1of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
ABOMINABLE
August 1, 2013
Stick with the Microplane Home Series microplane. This new design is abominable. It took me an hour to get the stickers off and when I finally used it to grate a block of parmesan, the parmesan broke into pieces because of the new curved design.
I am returning the two Elite Microplanes and purchasing the original Microplane Home Series which I use all the time. Williams Sonoma does not have these on their website. BIG mistake!
Pros: sorry there are none
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality, Weight, Temperamental, Difficult to Store, Size
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
PalmSpringsBaker
Palm Springs, CA
Posted February 9, 2014
Top 25 Contributor
ABOMINABLE
Bad Cheese Perhaps?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Microplane(R) Elite Paddle Graters
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
carlvs
,Central
,IL
July 30, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Making a great product even better
July 30, 2013
I have had various Microplane graters since they first became available. The one major drawback always seemed to be the plastic cracking on the handle. The Elite series has eliminated this flaw making for a fantastic cooking tool!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Store, Design
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Review 9 for Microplane(R) Elite Paddle Graters
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
YumYummy
,Richland
,MS
July 23, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Goodbye to my old graters!
July 23, 2013
I dont know how I ever managed without these graters. I had one of the old cheap box graters that you would use a different side of the grater for whatever you wanted to grate. I use a lot of grated cheddar cheese in recipes and for salad and this does the job and QUICK. It also has the clip on container that catches the cheese AND measures it. Sturdy and well made. It cleans easily in the dishwasher. I also got the fine grater for parmesan cheese. They were on sale for cheap and I could not be more pleased!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Design, Weight
Review 10 for Microplane(R) Elite Paddle Graters
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thorgerd
,Austin
,TX
July 11, 2013
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Most useful
July 11, 2013
I originally bought only the coarse grater but once I received and used it I had to have the others; wonderful tools. The covers not only protect the very sharp cutting edges but also prove most convenient in measuring whatever it is you are grating. I would recommend sliding the covers on as opposed to snapping them on.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Design
Review 11 for Microplane(R) Elite Paddle Graters
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Coco21
July 7, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nice quality grater
July 7, 2013
These paddle graters are nice quality, sharp, convenient, and easy to clean; Like the cover that catches the gratings- less mess on the countertop. Also really like that blades are Made in America- wish more products were!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Review 12 for Microplane(R) Elite Paddle Graters
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
JP128
,Fitzwilliam
,NH
June 29, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Star grater no good for Parmesan
June 29, 2013
I already have a microplane rasp-type grater and it's works well for many things (especially zesting) but doesn't really grate Parmesan correctly: it makes more a fluffy cloud than a powder for sprinkling, etc. (I just don't think this "fluffy" grate has the same flavor as a fine powder).
I got this grater thinking that the star pattern would grate more properly, similar to the star pattern on my box and nutmeg graters--wrong.
Instead it made the same fluffy cloud as the rasp-type grater...granted more easily contained because of the built in catcher but impossible to sprinkle over pasta...instead you really have to lay the fluff on top by hand.
I think this goes back...
Pros: not messy
Cons: no good for parmesan, same result as rasp-type grater
Review 13 for Microplane(R) Elite Paddle Graters
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ree1
,Astoria
,NY
June 10, 2013
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this Microplane Grater
June 10, 2013
One of the best if not the best grater, because of the cover/receptacle that comes with it. I just bought 2 and I plan to complete the set.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Design
Review 14 for Microplane(R) Elite Paddle Graters
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
pocohantas
,Versailles
,KY
March 25, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great product-poor quality
March 25, 2013
While I was using this product for the first time I was composing my rave review in my head. I had 6 lemons to zest and measure. The guard that doubles as a measuring cup was making the job so easy and so neat. When I was almost finished the guard/cup broke. There was no pressure on it. It just broke. So disappointing! I'm going to take it back to the store and get a replacement. Microplane usually makes a good product Hopefully this one was just defective.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Store
Cons: Quality
Review 15 for Microplane(R) Elite Paddle Graters
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Aggie24
,Brooklyn
,NY
March 17, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very good grater
March 17, 2013
This item is so easy and comfortable to use, the cutest thing is that it comes with a case like, so you can grate and it falls right into the little case.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 16 for Microplane(R) Elite Paddle Graters
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Momcancook
,Holiday
,FL
January 1, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Must Have Kitchen Tool
January 1, 2013
Love this paddle grater. It makes food prep/clean up so much easier than pulling out the old counter/table top grater and spares your fingertips too.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Design
Review 17 for Microplane(R) Elite Paddle Graters
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TuanCanCook
Los Angeles County, CA
December 13, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy to use!
December 13, 2012
I bought the fine grater a few weeks ago and finally used it last night. I needed some grated ginger and the paddle microplane worked great. Very comfortable in my hand, no slippage and the rubberized bottom stayed put on the plate so the ginger could fall onto it. It was also very easy to wash. I'm going to buy the other sized paddle graters now that I know these work!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Review 18 for Microplane(R) Elite Paddle Graters
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ItalianCoffeeLover
,London
,UK
London
October 15, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best graters
October 15, 2012
I have all the graters except for the Ribbon one. I got them to replace and old plastic microplane grater I've had for nearly 8 yrs. I was sold on the versatility and space saving of these graters and they have exceeded my expectations.
The design and weighting allow for a comfortable and sturdy grip as does the no slip rubberised edge. The covers does work amazingly well to catch and measure ingredients, but I have to admit they are a bit fiddly in terms of snapping into position (more so as a cover than as a catcher). Super-sharp and wide surface so easy to get a good grate with a decent size piece of food.
All in all the best graters I've ever owned.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Store, Versatile, Design
Cons: covers can be a bit fiddly
Review 19 for Microplane(R) Elite Paddle Graters
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ellendy
,Santa Cruz
,CA
Santa Cruz CA
August 10, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Sturdiest graters ever!
August 10, 2012
I have been using the Microplane box grater for about four years, and the plastic frame has started cracking and coming off piece by piece. Dilemma! I love the Microplane grating surfaces, and the other box graters on the market, while sturdy enough, don't really do the job once you become accustomed to Microplane. I was so happy when these came out that I ordered all four of them and have been happily grating for the past month or so! The framing is very durable, so don't worry, if like me, you have a heavy hand with a grater. I can't say enough good things about these graters. When you don't have a big enough job for the big food processor discs, these are perfect! I love their box grater for light duty, but if you need workhorse graters, buy these instead.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Store
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 20 for Microplane(R) Elite Paddle Graters
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jeanaz
,Scottsdale
,Az
Scottsdale AZ
August 6, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
What a great product!
August 6, 2012
My first two graters arrived today. I just used both of them (extra coarse and fine). I love the way they hold what you've grated and the measuring lines on them. I ordered the star grater as well, but that was back ordered. I like the two I got so much that I'm going to order the ribbon one as well. I would highly recommend these!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Size, Design