Microplane(R) Box Grater

Incorporating four of Microplane's American-made precision cutting blades in one easy-to-use tool, this sleek box grater handles everything from vegetables and citrus to hard cheeses and chocolate. Four-in-one tool offers extra-coarse, medium ribbon and fine graters and a slicer. Features Microplane's stainless-steel cutting blades. Nonslip feet provide a secure grip. Fine grater slides out to simplify cleaning of interior surfaces. A plastic cover protects blades and hands for safe storage. Grater is dishwasher safe.
Average Customer Rating:
3.516 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(95 Reviews) 95
58 of 95(61%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Microplane(R) Box Grater
Review 1 for Microplane(R) Box Grater
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pepinoir
,Seattle
,WA
January 12, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fabulous grater
January 12, 2014
I have had this grater for over 4 years and frequently given it as a gift to others, and I am quite honestly shocked at the reviews citing flimsy construction/design. One possible pertinent note - I have always hand washed my grater, even though it says dish washer safe. Perhaps it is the dishwasher breaking down the plastic?
Everyone I have given this grater to has raved about it.
If you are used to using a traditional grater for cheese or grating citrus rinds - this grater will rock your world!
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Versatile
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
rosiej
South Pasadena, CA
Posted January 15, 2014
Microplane(R) Box Grater
Many thanks for your comments. I am looking forward to receiving my order.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Microplane(R) Box Grater
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PalmSpringsBaker
,Palm Springs
,CA
Palm Springs, CA
January 1, 2014
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Microplane® Box Grater
January 1, 2014
I Love My Box Grater.
I Have Owned Mine For Over Two Years And Have Not Experienced The Cracking Issues Other Reviewers Have Mentioned.
I Always Hand Wash And Dry The Grater.
Dishwasher's And The Detergents Used In Them Can Be Harsh On Products.
Happy New Year!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Bettyboop62
San Diego, California
Posted February 1, 2014
Great review
It's always reassuring and helpful reading reviews posted by professionals.
Today I purchased the Microplane Boxed Grater and have yet to use it.
I will definitely follow the suggestion to hand wash the grater! Thanks for sharing the pics!
+1point
1of 1found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Microplane(R) Box Grater
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
4evermom
,Worthington
,OH
December 10, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Substandard
December 10, 2013
The metal graters on this are second to none, therein lies the problem. If the metal was as bad quality as the plastic it would no longer be on the market. The plastic housing is horrible. Completely lacking in quality. Sadly, the plastic breaks quite easily, through no fault of the user. I keep hoping Microplane will update and produce a product worthy of their name, but it just isn't happening. Surprised WS is still carrying it, it just doesn't meet the standard.
Pros: sharp
Cons: Quality
Review 4 for Microplane(R) Box Grater
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Insyweensy
,Madison
,WI
October 27, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Blade, Shoddy Housing
October 27, 2013
I have used this grater for the past 2+ years. In general it works like a charm. The blades are super sharp (watch your fingers), and the short side comes all the way off for cleaning. That said, the plastic that holds everything together has broken off on me piece by piece. Soon it will be completely unusable. If only they could make the whole thing metal or (much) thicker plastic...
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Weight
Cons: Fragile
Review 5 for Microplane(R) Box Grater
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
homecookster
,Finksburg
,MD
October 11, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Flimsy plastic
October 11, 2013
I was given one of these as a gift 2+ years ago. The plastic broke after the third use (grating hard cheese). I contacted Microplane and they apologized and sent me a new grater. It also quickly broke. Obviously a very poor design. I am honestly surprised that these are still for sale.... it doesn't speak well of Microplane and Williams-Sonoma.
I would have rated it 0 stars if I could.
DO NOT BUY.
Review 6 for Microplane(R) Box Grater
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
texjan
July 28, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
housing is cracking
July 28, 2013
Agree with other reviews....sadly the blades are great, but the housing is falling apart. Will replace with a metal grater when this becomes totally unusable.
Review 7 for Microplane(R) Box Grater
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
OrangeWhipGang
,Campton
,NH
July 9, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not What We Expected
July 9, 2013
The Microplane blades are fabulous, but are useless with shoddy housing. The grater was purchased to replace handheld (also plastic) models, but was no better in the long run and a waste of money. We are now in the process of replacing this with the metal models.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Quality, Fragile
Review 8 for Microplane(R) Box Grater
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Twocat
April 18, 2013
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Plastic Housing Not Very Durable
April 18, 2013
I am just going to add to the many long term reviews commenting on how fragile the plastic housing is. I had my grater for about a year when it broke. My next grater will not be a Microplane.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Versatile
Cons: Fragile
Review 9 for Microplane(R) Box Grater
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
alirose2
October 10, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The plastic will break!
October 10, 2012
I had the same problem as other reviewers, the plastic has cracked after less than a year of use, and we have never put it in the dishwasher! Don't buy this. I'm now looking for one that is all stainless steel.
Cons: Quality, Fragile
Review 10 for Microplane(R) Box Grater
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Travis035
,Portland
,OR
September 26, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very disappointed
September 26, 2012
After only a few months, cracks started to show up in the plastic housing surrounding the metal blade. They have since turned into chunks of plastic completely breaking off. The blade just bends if I try to use it now. I thought for sure with the Microplane name, as well as the fairly hefty price tag, I was getting something that would last for years. I was wrong. Save yourself the issues down the road with this one, find another brand to buy.
Pros: Size, Weight, blade
Cons: Quality, Fragile, Design
Review 11 for Microplane(R) Box Grater
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
cdavis2
August 31, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Sharp, but flimsy
August 31, 2012
The blades on this grater are exceptional, but the plate itself is flimsy. It can't hold up to grating a firm block of cheese. I have had mine less than 1 year and it has already cracked in 2 places at the top from the pressure of pushing the cheese against the grater.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, sharp
Cons: Fragile, flimsy
Review 12 for Microplane(R) Box Grater
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
hrsf
August 30, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Plastic broke on front & back
August 30, 2012
I love microplane products, but I would not purchase this one again. In fact, I will avoid all microplane products with plastic parts. The plastic breaks. The grate function is good, but the quality of the plastic is bad. This is the second microplane product with plastic pieces that has broken for me. I'm done. Look for all metal and avoid this one.
Cons: Quality
Review 13 for Microplane(R) Box Grater
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
luvt2cook
Atlanta, Ga
August 21, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love It! Easy to grate
August 21, 2012
Really makes job easier...I like the rubber grip also.
Review 14 for Microplane(R) Box Grater
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
5Meekas
,Wilton
,Ca
August 3, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
liked the size of the grate
August 3, 2012
So disapointed with how quickly the plastic portion of this grater broke down. Mine has several cracks in it and it is less than a year old. Mind you I do cook alot but I really do think that it should last a lot longer than a year. All the metal is in great condition its the plastic that is brittle.
Pros: Easy to Use, Design
Cons: Fragile, doesn't last
Review 15 for Microplane(R) Box Grater
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Norskylady
,NV
June 5, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Sharp grater but poor plastic housing
June 5, 2012
When I first got this grater, I was so very happy with it, even got one for my son-in-law. However, after a year or so, the plastic broke that houses the great blades. Very disappointing, needs to have ALL metal, I guess.
Pros: sharp blades
Cons: Fragile, plasic cracked easily
Review 16 for Microplane(R) Box Grater
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
frankelliott
,San Diego
,Ca
San Diego, CA
March 16, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Bad Design- will break in a year.
March 16, 2012
Microplane usually makes good products. However, this box grater is badly engineered. The steel grating surfaces are springy and the thin plastic frame is the only thing that keeps the grating surface rigid. When you grate hard cheese on the fine grater, the necessary pressure cracks the frame.
Williams Sonoma should drop this exclusive grater for the simpler two surface microplane box grater. That grater is sturdy enough to last through years of heavy use.
Cons: Quality, bad design
Review 17 for Microplane(R) Box Grater
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
moonboots
,Seattle
,WA
March 12, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Handle broke after 1 year
March 12, 2012
This box grater has been a pretty useful kitchen tool for the past year, but the handle broke off after I shredded some hard Grana Padano.
I've owned many varieties of handheld Microplanes plus this box grater, and I found the box grater easiest to use for extra course cheese grating. I never found the other 3 sides useful.
Unfortunately, my experience with all Microplane products is that the plastic handles at some point within a year or use of medium use.
From now on I will try their stainless-steel only Professional series.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Fragile
Review 18 for Microplane(R) Box Grater
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JThomas
,Detroit Area
,Mi
Shelby Township, MI
January 27, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Sharp Grater
January 27, 2012
I have had this grater for a year now and absolutely love it. It is the sharpest grater I've ever used and I love the fact that it's an American made product.
I haven't experienced the problem others are having (plastic cracking), but will keep an eye out as the product ages.
So far, this has been a great product and I look forward to using it for a long period of time!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, american made
Review 19 for Microplane(R) Box Grater
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kmoser
,Ephrata
,WA
January 23, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So awesome ...
January 23, 2012
My friend had one of these and I just had to order one. It is so nice to have a SHARP grater. I love everything about it, even clean-up.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight, it looks awesome!
Review 20 for Microplane(R) Box Grater
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
maytav
,West Sacramento
,CA
January 2, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Expected it to Last a Lot Longer
January 2, 2012
I bought this hoping that I would get many years of use out of it. I am a culinary instructor that depends on quality products, and unfortunately this is not one. I have been impressed with all Microplane products except for this one, as the plastic had already started to crack after 6 months of use. The blades however are still sharp, but with the frame falling apart it doesn't matter. Hopefully they are able to redesign this product in the future and make it all-metal along with a bit more stability.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Cons: Quality
page1 2 3 4 5 next