Michel Bras Santoku Knives

World-renowned French chef Michel Bras believes cooking, like any art, requires the finest tools. Created in Japan in collaboration with Kai, the producer of Shun knives, these santokus have wide blades for greater precision, with a slight curvature for ease of movement.Hand assembled to exacting specifications.Matte-finish blade is composed of three stainless-steel layers: a hardened VG-10 core sandwiched between two layers of more flexible steel for increased durability and resistance.Blade is coated in titanium to enhance its antioxidation properties.Etched with a unique serial number and Bras's signature emblem of cistre, the delicate Alpine fennel that grows in the hills above his Aubrac restaurant.For quick identification, the handle is inscribed with the knife item number, signifying the blade's form and function.Black PakkaWood handle is designed in the traditional Japanese chestnut shape, to sit comfortably in the hand.Comes in a maple sheath with a magnetized interior that holds the blade snugly in place for safe drawer storage.
Average Customer Rating:
4.857 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
6 of 7(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Michel Bras Santoku Knives
Review 1 for Michel Bras Santoku Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Blades
San Francisco, CA
February 12, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Michel Bras 6" Santoku
February 12, 2011
Excellent knife and beautiful aesthetic. A few notable things:
1) Steel quality: The cutting core is standard Japanese-fare VG10 steel. At 0.95-1.05% carbon, VG10 takes and holds a screaming edge. Final fit and finish on this knife was significantly better than some of Kai/Shun's other lines. There are more exotic steels, with significantly higher carbon content, at this price point, but VG10 remains a favorite in my kitchen.
2) Titanium: The titanium finish does take a patina with use/washing. Per usual, hand wash only, dry immediately, no heavy abrasives.
3) Maintenance: With regular honing after every use (I recommend ceramic or borosilicate rods), I only need to sharpen about once a year.
4) Brittleness: DO NOT use high-carbon steels on bone, frozen meat, hard cutting surfaces, etc. These knives have significantly higher carbon content than their German counterparts and have been heat-treated in kind.
Review 2 for Michel Bras Santoku Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
San Antonio, TX
February 1, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Michel Bras 8" Santoku
February 1, 2011
Absolutely Beautiful knife in both aesthetics and in performance. Perfectly balanced and scary sharp. I had two gift receipts that I had to use totaling $570 so I bought this knife and an All-Clad 4-square waffle maker. I only have the one santoku but would love to purchase the rest of the set. These knives are made by Kai knife company. Kai also makes the Shun knives as well as Kershaw brand knives. So it seems they know how to make a nice blade. I am glad I know to be careful while cleaning. What a shame it would be to scratch up this beauty. Crazy expensive but pretty fun to use. I did read on the braskai.net website that they recommend using a whetstone after each use to maintain the razor sharp edge. I'm a little worried to do this on my own though. Any suggestions? is it also important to strop this knife?
Review 3 for Michel Bras Santoku Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Snacks
Villa Hills KY
August 22, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Sharp and performs beautifully
August 22, 2010
I love love this knife. I have many knives and do much cooking, each time I will reach for this knife!
Review 4 for Michel Bras Santoku Knives
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Roberto1710
Maryland
February 16, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+11points
11of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful knife, but finish can rub off
February 16, 2010
Great knife, but be careful when cleaning to only use a soft cloth and nothing abrasive as the titanium finish WILL rub off, revealing the steel layer beneath and dulling the beautiful finish. I would expect more durability from a knife at this price. Lesson learned.
Review 5 for Michel Bras Santoku Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wlc21742
Denver, CO
June 11, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome
June 11, 2009
This knife as well as the whole knife set are amazing. I would definitely recommend spending a little extra to buy this knife. It fits great in the hand. The weight distribution is awesome and it cuts through anything. A knife should last you forever and this one is the one to get.
Review 6 for Michel Bras Santoku Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sidney
Houston, TX
April 27, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
best all around knife
April 27, 2009
Just like the great chef from France, the knife performs outstanding. Perfect for all kitchcen taskes.
Review 7 for Michel Bras Santoku Knives
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LG01
Huntsville, AL
February 4, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Incredible Knife
February 4, 2009
Beautiful and functional. Truly and incredible knife.