Michel Bras 7-Piece Knife Set

Renowned French chef Michel Bras collaborated with Kai, the producer of Shun knives, to bring together the best traditions of French and Japanese cutlery. Made in Japan, these knives feature razor-sharp stainless-steel blades tightly joined to comfortable PakkaWood handles. All knives are hand assembled to exacting specifications. Matte-finish blades is composed of three stainless-steel layers: a hardened VG-10 core sandwiched between two layers of more flexible steel for increased durability and resistance. Blades are coated in titanium to enhance their antioxidation properties. Each blade is etched with a unique serial number and Bras's signature emblem of cistre, the delicate Alpine fennel that grows in the hills above his Aubrac restaurant. For quick identification, each handle is inscribed with the knife item number (1-7), signifying the blade's form and function. Black PakkaWood handles are designed in the traditional Japanese chestnut shape, to sit comfortably in the hand. Storage block sold separately. 7-Piece Set includes: 3" sheep's-foot paring knife (#1). 4" steak knife (#7). 6" utility knife (#2). 6 1/4", 8 3/4" and 10 1/2" santokus (#4, #5 and #6). 9" hollow-ground slicing knife (#3).
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
6 of 6(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Michel Bras 7-Piece Knife Set
Review 1 for Michel Bras 7-Piece Knife Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AJBento
Toronto, Canada
August 4, 2011
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A piece of art with function
August 4, 2011
the market place is saturated with so called knives but nothing as brilliant as these. They are not only beautiful to look at but are increadible to use, perfict balance. It is important to remember that the knife is an extention of your hand so i highly recomend If anyone is looking into investing into a set of knives make it a Michel Bras.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Size, Strength, Versatile, Sharpness, Shape, Weight
Review 2 for Michel Bras 7-Piece Knife Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
yuduponjp
NY
May 13, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
1of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
very cheap!!
May 13, 2011
This is a special price of Williams Sonoma. Then this is the best quality for my life nevertheless I have used Japanese famous knives made in Kyoto for a long time. And a remarkable point, Michel Bras knife user will be able to have a professional sharping service in free of charge. I can use these knifes without anxiety.
Pros: Sharpness, Shape
Cons: High-Maintenance
Review 3 for Michel Bras 7-Piece Knife Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HeathcliffHuxtable
May 2, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Blades
May 2, 2011
As a foodie, quality blades are important to me in my kitchen. I have used blades from all the heavy hitters in the knife world but nothing cuts and fits the hand as well as these blades. Take care of them and use a quality block and they will never let you down.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Balance, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Sharpness, Weight
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 4 for Michel Bras 7-Piece Knife Set
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Roberto1710
Maryland
May 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Special knives, but beware...
May 14, 2010
I bought this set two years ago and they are incredible, BUT make sure you do not clean them with anything abrasive. The titanium finish WILL wear off over time, revealing the dull steel layer underneath.
Review 5 for Michel Bras 7-Piece Knife Set
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
macbera
Deerfield Beach Florida
January 1, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
At this price, they could have individual sheaths
January 1, 2010
These are wonderful knives and they are a great addition to my kitchen. The service offered by Michel Bras seems outstanding (but I haven't yet used it).
And by the way, Williams Sonoma sells them cheaper than the list price in France, so don't hesitate a second if you really want them.
I don't give them a 5-star rating because at that price they could definitely come with an individual protective sheath or scabbard.
Review 6 for Michel Bras 7-Piece Knife Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Auburn, Seattle Washington
January 16, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
-3points
7of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
If money is not an issue, this is a perfect set.
January 16, 2009
I have been using a cutco 32 piece ultimate set. Just bought this set for christmas. If money is not an issue, this is a wonderful addition to any kitchen.
Highly Recommended.