Meyer Lemon Braising Base

Preparing a memorable meal is simple when you have this timesaving starter on your pantry shelf. Showcasing the bright flavors of Meyer lemons, our braising base is the foundation for a dish that's perfect for family meals and easy, elegant entertaining.We've combined the delicate, tangy taste of Meyer lemons with roasted California garlic, whole-grain French Dijon mustard, Italian extra-virgin olive oil and California Chardonnay wine.Ingredients are simmered together for hours to create a savory, aromatic sauce with rich complexity and depth of flavor.Preparation couldn't be easier. Just brown chicken pieces on the stovetop, then add the base and simmer in a Dutch oven or slow cooker.24.5 oz.Made in USA.A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.846 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
12 of 13(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Meyer Lemon Braising Base
Review 1 for Meyer Lemon Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chicautke
,Holliston
,MA
January 5, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing!!!
January 5, 2014
This is so delicious. I made it in a dutch oven with a mix of chicken breast and drumsticks. The chicken comes out so tender and flavorful. Mashed potatoes were a perfect pairing because they taste fantastic with the sauce. It is so easy to make and tastes like you've been cooking for hours.
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 2 for Meyer Lemon Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JEM45
,Lakeland
,Fl
July 29, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Crazy Good!!
July 29, 2013
My husband made this in our Staub oval cocotte. The instructions say to cut the chicken into pieces and brown. He just browned the whole chicken in the Staub pot with vegetable oil, poured the sauce over the chicken, put the lid on and put it in the oven. Easy breezy! It was delicious! We loved it so much we bought two more jars over the weekend.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, Great Gift
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 3 for Meyer Lemon Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TessInHouston
,Houston
,TX
July 12, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Have You Started The Chicken Yet, Mom?
July 12, 2013
Wow...what can I say? It is so easy, so quick. My picky eater gets upset with me if I don't get it started right when I get home from work. His brother loves pretty much everything, and yet still manages to compliment this dish every single time I make it! He will spoon the extra sauce over whatever I have made with it ... from mashed potatoes to rolls to rice. It's a staple in our pantry, and a dish a working mom loves to serve (especially with all of those compliments)!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, Healthy, pleases many preferences
Review 4 for Meyer Lemon Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Goldfinch
,San Diego
,Ca
July 6, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Meyer Lemon braising Sauce
July 6, 2013
This is a delicious braising sauce! I added mushrooms which deepened the flavor. Great dish for last minute guests!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Healthy
Review 5 for Meyer Lemon Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
suzanne1945
,Calabash
,NC
March 26, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious!
March 26, 2013
I put this in my crockpot with 3 lbs.of skinless chicken thighs on low for 8 hours and had lots of sauce. The 2nd time I made it with 5 lbs. of skinless chicken thighs and still had lots of sauce. Excellent flavor and the chicken was fall-off-the-bone tender. I prefer my chicken without the fatty skin. Will buy this sauce again and again.
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, Healthy
Review 6 for Meyer Lemon Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KHUFF33
,San Jose
,CA
February 25, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Oh So Tastey!!!
February 25, 2013
I tried this sauce on a lark and boy am I glad I did. It is delicious and my family loved it! I have used the sauce a couple of time now. The last time I added about 1/4 to 1/2 cup white wine and it added a nice flavor. I would add the wine again, but it is good with or without it.
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 7 for Meyer Lemon Braising Base
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
daydreambeliever
,Chino
,CA
Chino, CA
February 12, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not that wonderful
February 12, 2013
I purchased this braising sauce based on the reviews online. I received it by mail and decided to use it that night with chicken. Using a crockpot, I cooked the chicken accordingly and served it over noodles. My family thought it was just okay and wasn't thrilled with the flavor. It wasn't bad or awful, it just seemed too bland for us. You could hardly taste the lemon in it and it seemed to lack seasoning. I had to add my own. I wouldn't buy it again. Definitely, not worth the money. I have purchased other WS sauces and bases and they were good, but not this one.
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
Review 8 for Meyer Lemon Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Koob
,Millbury
,MA
December 13, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful sauce - will buy again!
December 13, 2012
Great braising sauce that does not taste like it came from a jar.
Wonderful bright flavors - you can really taste the quality ingredients that are used. My family loved it and it's perfect for a weeknight meal.
Will definately buy again.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 9 for Meyer Lemon Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CandyK
,Va Beach
,VA
November 4, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy and tastes gourmet!
November 4, 2012
I follow browning directions then bake covered wiith sauce about 45 minutes. Remove from oven, top with sliced zucchini, and continue to bake until vegetables are to your liking. I also topped with some leftover sauteed onions and a tiny bit more sauce. Served over Jasmine rice. Yum!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Review 10 for Meyer Lemon Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Eames
,Olympia
,WA
June 21, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My family loved the chicken
June 21, 2012
The Meyer Lemon sauce with chicken was incredibly easy to make and delicious. I will definitely use this again.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Flavor
Review 11 for Meyer Lemon Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LAnnette
,Milwaukee
,WI
May 28, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tastes like you Simmered For Hours
May 28, 2012
A wonderful sauce that tastes complex and intense. Fresh lemon taste that totally transformed our chicken.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Flavor
Review 12 for Meyer Lemon Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gazarro
,Ponce
,PR
April 27, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I use it with Chicken, pasta or fish
April 27, 2012
This sauce gives the slow cooking home made taste. I love it.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 13 for Meyer Lemon Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cathij
March 6, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
One of my favorite crock pot sauces
March 6, 2012
Both my husband & I loved it. I can't wait to make it the next time our family visits.