Williams-Sonoma Mexican Oregano

A classic addition to hot, spicy recipes, Mexican oregano is widely used in Latin American cuisines, as well as the regional cooking of the American Southwest. This close relative of lemon verbena is prized for its intense herbal aroma and pungent oregano flavor, often said to carry delicate notes of anise. Stronger and less sweet than Mediterranean oregano, Mexican oregano holds up better to spicy hot dishes. An aromatic, intensely flavored herb, perfect for seasoning spicy burrito and taco fillings, bean dishes and salsas. The herb's whole green leaves are harvested at the peak of flavor and aroma, then dried to preserve their bright, fresh character. This premium, all-natural herb is sourced from Mexico by a family-owned artisanal spice company in Northern California's Napa Valley. .6 oz. Product of Mexico.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
7 of 8(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Williams-Sonoma Mexican Oregano
Review 1 for Williams-Sonoma Mexican Oregano
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PalmSpringsBaker
,Palm Springs
,CA
Palm Springs, CA
February 16, 2014
Ability level:Professional
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Williams-Sonoma Mexican Oregano
February 16, 2014
The Quintessential Spice In Mexican Dishes.
Use Sparingly As This Spice Offesers A Robust Flavor. Perfect For Soups, Stews, Chili and Rice Dishes.
Enjoy!
Pros: Amount, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 2 for Williams-Sonoma Mexican Oregano
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DALEX
,Santa Fe
,NM
July 27, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pairs well with chilies
July 27, 2013
This is the oregano to use with chilies and cumin. It's a great southwest flavor combo.
Review 3 for Williams-Sonoma Mexican Oregano
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JJ28
,Marlton
,NJ
June 12, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The seasoning that goes on everything!
June 12, 2013
I originally bought this spice after attending a cooking demo at my local Williams-Sonoma. It was used to season shrimp. This Mexican oregano is not only delicious on shrimp, but also steak, chicken in sauces and marinades. It has lasted me a long time also. A lot goes a long way!
Pros: Amount, Quality, Flavor, Healthy
Review 4 for Williams-Sonoma Mexican Oregano
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SupB
,Stuart
,VA
July 16, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Mexican Oregano
July 16, 2012
When I am canning this time of year I use the Mexican Oregano in all of the tomato sauces I do. It adds so much flavor to everything my family loves the sauces.
Pros: Texture, Authentic, Flavor
Review 5 for Williams-Sonoma Mexican Oregano
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
SueSue2
,NY
New York
June 28, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not as flavorful as expected
June 28, 2012
I expected a lot more flavor based on the reviews. However, it could be due to the "Best before date is December 2012" only 6 months away. While most herbs and spices I have ordered, online from Williams Sonoma, have been good for at least 1 or 2 years from purchase.
Review 6 for Williams-Sonoma Mexican Oregano
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Elissa121
IL
September 6, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Only oregano I need
September 6, 2011
I bought this back when WS only had Mexican oregano, and it was better than any Greek oregano I've tried so I use it for everything even if that is frowned upon by food snobs. It's just as good on pizza as it is with beef braised with some tomatoes and chili peppers for tacos.
Pros: Quality, Flavor, Healthy
Review 7 for Williams-Sonoma Mexican Oregano
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ifpthnq
Cleveland OH
June 25, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
no substitute
June 25, 2011
When making central american dishes, there is no substituting regular or even greek oregano for mexican oregano. It makes all of the difference, even in simple rice and beans dishes. It's a staple in my kitchen and I was thrilled when I learned that WS carried it.
Pros: Authentic, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 8 for Williams-Sonoma Mexican Oregano
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sbanksfrg
Selma, TX
September 4, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So many uses....
September 4, 2010
I usually prefer fresh herbs, but this is a close second! It has such a wonderful smell, and it has a very distinct flavor. I've used it in my tortilla soup, as well as in my favorite pasta sauces. When you use many different herbs and spices in a recipe, they can sometimes get lost. This one is sure to stand out.