This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Metro Steel Shelving

Originally produced for commercial kitchens, our exceptionally strong chrome-plated-steel shelving brings sleek open storage to your home kitchen, pantry, laundry or utility room.Sleek superstrong shelving originally made for commercial kitchens.Shelves adjust in 1" increments.Tower and wide shelves support up to 500 lb. each; corner shelves support up to 100 lb. each.Self-leveling feet compensate for uneven floors.Made from rugged chrome-plated steel.Includes shelves, posts and wall-fastener kit.Simple assembly required.Extra shelves, additional units and casters are sold separately.
Average Customer Rating:
4.425 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(47 Reviews) 47
41 of 47(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Metro Steel Shelving
Review 1 for Metro Steel Shelving
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
imdone
,Rockingham
,NC
November 23, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
metro-shelving units
November 23, 2012
DO NOT ORDER THESE SHELVING UNITS UNLESS YOU WANT TO SCRATCH UP YOUR FLOORS or unless you want to buy the wheels. They used to have rubber caps to cover the bolts (levelers) on the legs but after trying to get them for three months, I was told they no longer make them. So for me, THEY ARE WORTHLESS!!
Cons: Quality, incomplete
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
summerlover97
Atlanta, GA
Posted January 11, 2013
regarding metro shelving caps
They do sell the metro shelving floor protectors at the Container Store, if there isn't one close by they can be ordered online. I hope this helps so you are able to enjoy your shelves.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Metro Steel Shelving
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jaytoz2002
September 10, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Lots of room
September 10, 2012
It is a spacious and classy rack. I have it comfortably snug in a corner of my kitchen.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Strength, Versatile, Design, Assembly, Weight
Review 3 for Metro Steel Shelving
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PAPundit
,Waymart
,Pa
May 10, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Very Happy So Far
May 10, 2012
I have similar shelving units that cost less, but Metro looks better, is better built and more durable.
Pros: Durable, Design
Cons: price
Review 4 for Metro Steel Shelving
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cook99
,Boxford
,Ma
January 25, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Perfect!!!
January 25, 2012
Just what I was looking for to store appliances on in my pantry...very sturdy, love the big wheels. I now have a very organized and attractive storage area. Another WS success
Pros: Durable, Quality, Design, Weight
Review 5 for Metro Steel Shelving
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WildCouture
,Rahway
,NJ
October 25, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Exactly what I needed!
October 25, 2011
This was exactly what I needed for my laundry area.
I live in an apartment with a small laundry room within my apartment, and in this space we also keeps my boyfriends tools (which are very heavy). So this helped us organize every aspect. It actually gave my boyfriend the additional motivation that was needed to install the shelves that were meant as well for that area. :-)
Pros: Durable, Quality, Size, Strength, Design
Cons: price
Review 6 for Metro Steel Shelving
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
somenickname
July 10, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
1of 4found this review helpful.
Disappointing
July 10, 2011
Not a good knock-off. Harder to set up and holds far less weight. I don't yet know about the quality of the chrome plate, but I don't expect much. The larger size would be useful...
Pros: Size
Cons: Strength, Quality, Assembly
Review 7 for Metro Steel Shelving
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BobF
Washington, DC
June 28, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Attractive, functional shelving
June 28, 2011
This was probably the easiest set of shelves that I ever assembled. They seem pretty sturdy, and the individual shelves are tall enough to let me store my small appliances on it (mixer, bread machine, etc.). A lot of storage with a small footprint.
Pros: Quality, Assembly
Review 8 for Metro Steel Shelving
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AndyVet
Idaho
May 27, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Easy Assembly
May 27, 2011
After reading several reviews, I was almost scared away from this product. Many reviewers said that that the assembly was difficult and that they needed to use a file to remove metal to make iit work. I found the opposite to be true. I set up the 24" wide shelf in less than 45 minutes, by myself. I am 6'3" so that may have helped a little, but I think that a step stool would work too. The one tool that I found helpful was a rubber mallet. It helped to pound the shelves down over the plastic collett. It also helped to pound the shelves up to loosen them so I could move the shelves and change the shelf height.
I have the 48" wide shelf also. I haven't assembled that one yet. I will try that one tomorrow night. Maybe the 48" unit was the hard one they were refering to in the reviews. I guess I'll find out.
I think that the unit is attractive and sturdy. I also purchased castors, a shelf and a bin. They have not come yet though, so I cannot comment on them.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Size, Strength, Design, Assembly
Review 9 for Metro Steel Shelving
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
deniinnola
new orleans
April 28, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
best kitchen rack ever
April 28, 2011
wow i love this. holds all i need and more. thanks!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Design, Assembly, Weight
Review 10 for Metro Steel Shelving
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
anne7121
Minocqua, WI
April 5, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
LOVE IT!!!
April 5, 2011
I love this shelving unit! It is bigger than I had expected, but it is so strong and sturdy and holds tons of stuff-highly recommended!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Strength, Versatile, Design, Assembly, Weight
Review 11 for Metro Steel Shelving
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
zozo
San Diego
January 12, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
When right item arrived
January 12, 2011
Ordered the shelving unit and originally received a toaster over. When shelves arrived after the promised delivery date they looked sturdy. Few broken plastic pieces but overall the shelves look good and are very sturdy.
Review 12 for Metro Steel Shelving
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PrettyinCT
Central CT
January 5, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Love love love!
January 5, 2011
I hoped Santa would bring me the Metro shelves (wide unit) for Xmas, and he came through! At first, I wanted to cry as I unpacked the box, it looked like a lot of pieces. After assembling alone, for an hour or so, it was upright and perfect! You don't need a mallet to put this together, as long as you are somewhat strong. Also, make sure that when you put the black fasteners on the poles, that they CLICK into place. Also make sure they are all in the same place on each pole. This will keep the clips from slipping when you pull the metal shelves down into place. If I had known to listen for the "click" it would have saved me lots of time. Good luck. Wonderful shelves.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 13 for Metro Steel Shelving
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WindD
Clinton, LA
December 22, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Perfect for us!
December 22, 2010
My new Tower shelf arrived today. 3 days ahead of scheduled delivery. Hubby and I assembled without difficulty with a simple mallet/hammer in very short period of time! LOADED it up with dry goods I had already prepped. It looks great and holds tons of stuff I need to store to free up cabinet space! I have tons more stuff to rack up, so to speak... figured out easy way to add additional hooks, for hanging herbs and such to dry when needed. We ordered the wheels too, which were definitely helpful in leveling the unit and keeping it portable! I need and would certainly use several more units to complete a very efficient pantry! For us, in our home... Perfect fit!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 14 for Metro Steel Shelving
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anamenotpreviouslyused
Punta Gorda FL
August 19, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Great shelves, lousy packaging & quality control
August 19, 2010
First shipment was missing parts from a box that appeared to have been opened previously. The replacement shipment came in a box that was starting to fall apart, but, at least, it contained all the parts. Once I had everything, assembly was very easy and straight forward with everything fitting together easily and securely. The materials and design are high quality.
Review 15 for Metro Steel Shelving
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hadley
Pine Isalnd, MN
August 8, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Good Shelves
August 8, 2010
Very nice shelving; easy to assemble; good quality
Review 16 for Metro Steel Shelving
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
butterfly1
Smithfield, NC
August 5, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Metro Storage
August 5, 2010
Goes great with colored or stainless steel appliances. This helps to overcome my shortage of cabinets, gets things off the floor, since a mouse found its way into my house. Now when I open my cabinet doors things do not fall out of the cabinets. Wish I had this 17 yrs ago.
Review 17 for Metro Steel Shelving
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kalaheobeachbaby
Kauai, Hi
July 6, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
metro shelving
July 6, 2010
This is my 2nd metro shelving unit & worth the slight setup hassle and $. One shelf was bent and WS worked out a solution with just 1 call. WS takes customer satisfaction seriously for a positive outcome for the client. Back to the shelving. It's really easy to put together, the wheels are a great addition for mobility if moving the shelf around. I love the pro-kitchen look in my pantry. They hold alot and I can see/ reach everything easily. I will get more as the need arises.
Review 18 for Metro Steel Shelving
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
AdrienneJ
Arlington, VA
June 26, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Solid and fairly utilitarian, but good looking
June 26, 2010
I put this unit together today all by my lonesome in a small space, and it worked out pretty well. Two people would make the work go quickly, but one person can put it together without a problem, if you take care and can spend a little time determining the shelf heights you want. It holds quite a bit, but I think I will plan on securing it to the wall, as I'm not so sure it will stand up to people bumping into it often.
Review 19 for Metro Steel Shelving
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dottie1
blacksburg, va
June 18, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Attractive way to organize oneself
June 18, 2010
sturdy 5 shelving, easy to assemble, worth the price. never will go out of style. i have mine in the laundry room. my friends love it. thinking about purchasing another.
Review 20 for Metro Steel Shelving
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
MrsDavis
Brooklyn, NY
June 18, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
It's in pieces on my floor
June 18, 2010
The rods use another steel piece to connect to each other. One rod fit rather well. The other 3 rods did not fit the other 3 connectors so the unit can not be assembled.
W-S is sending me new connectors that we hope will fit. If not, I'll have to send this item back for considerable defects. With the cost of this item, I would not expect such shoddy workmanship.
page1 2 3 next