This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Message-in-a-Cookie Cutters

Create personalized cookies for holidays, birthdays and other notable occasions using our cutters in scalloped-rectangle, heart and star shapes. Customize the cutters by sliding in letters or pre-made words to imprint a name or message on the cookies. Set includes a variety of cutter shapes, words and letters for custom cookie designs. Three cutters in scalloped-rectangle, heart and star shapes. Seven pre-made word stamps: Welcome, Happy, Birthday, Holidays, Thank You, From and I Love You. Three sets of alphabet letter stamps (plus extra vowels and other commonly used letters). Press the cutter into the dough and your lettering is imprinted on the cookie. Mesh bag for storage. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.194 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(144 Reviews) 144
125 of 144(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Message-in-a-Cookie Cutters
Review 1 for Message-in-a-Cookie Cutters
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
skyisa
,Yucaipa
,CA
Yucaipa, CA
October 8, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Worth the trouble
October 8, 2012
I agree with other reviewers that the letters were a bit difficult to get into the cutter but that is the only problem I had. I used my own buttercookie recipe and made cookies for a baby shower. They turned out great and I would buy these cutters again. It is worth the trouble with the letters. Maybe I will use others suggestion and file them. Once that's done there won't be that issue in the future. Don't forget to dip the cutter in flour before cutting the cookies!
Pros: Size, Versatile, Design, able to personalize
Cons: letters difficult to place
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 2 for Message-in-a-Cookie Cutters
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Guro
September 23, 2012
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Worth the trouble
September 23, 2012
The first three cookies are a little hard to make. Then you learn some tricks to slide the letters in more easily. And then you learn exactly how thick the dough should be, and how hard you can stamp. When you get it, you will not be able to stop baking :) I made three batches of dough with different colors (and flavors, added a little LorAnn Oil) for my colleges for Christmas last year with their names on the cookies. So much fun!
Review 3 for Message-in-a-Cookie Cutters
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Leslie421
,TX
September 4, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a year
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Doesn't Work At All
September 4, 2012
These are soooo disappointing! I got these on clearance and am upset that I wasted $12 on these. They do not work at all! The letters are incredibly hard to slide in. It really hurts your fingers because you have to force them in since they do not actually fit. I wish that was the only problem, but the whole thing is a failure. Once you bake the cookies, the letters are no longer legible. It just looks like a bunch of chicken scratch. Waste of money! I spent about 4 hours on these, thinking maybe I was doing something wrong. After putting a ton of work into these and fixing each cookie with a toothpick, I realized these things are horrible! Don't waste your money or your time!
Cons: Quality, doesn't work at all, Difficult to Use, very time consuming, does not produce promised results
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
skyisa
Yucaipa, CA
Posted October 4, 2012
Recipe at fault?
I wonder if your cookie dough is to blame. I used a German buttercookie recipe and they turned out wonderful. I would give it another shot with a different recipe. Make sure the dough is chilled!
0points
Customer avatar
missaliice
Vancouver BC
Posted September 8, 2012
Clearance?
You got the set on clearance? It's probably a long shot but is it still going on? If you got it for $12 and don't like it and if you still have it, would I be able to get it from you? I live in Vancouver BC Canada though...
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 4 for Message-in-a-Cookie Cutters
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DaisyC
,PA
September 2, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Fun Cookie Cutters
September 2, 2012
I was concerned about reviews I read for these cookie cutters. I was pleased to find that I was able to get the letters into the cookie cutter with no trouble at all. Another concern I had was that the cookies would puff too much while baking, making the writing difficult to read. I used the recipe that came with the cookie cutters and found that it worked beautifully! The cookies were a hit.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Design
Review 5 for Message-in-a-Cookie Cutters
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
,Monroe
,MI
August 8, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Excellent cookie cutters, fun to use
August 8, 2012
These cookie cutters are so much fun to use! They've held up over the past several months and I love the variety I have with shapes/letters. I haven't had any difficulty using the letters, as previous reviews state. I love my cookie cutters!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Review 6 for Message-in-a-Cookie Cutters
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
mamabean45
,Cincinnati
,Oh
July 21, 2012
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Wonderful concept in need of some improvement!
July 21, 2012
My family and friends LOVE the cookies that I make with these. They are so unique and creative! I have used the heart cutout for Valentine's Day and Bachelorette Parties and Bridal Showers! Like the other reviews, the letters are difficult to put on. I sprayed some Pam on the trays to make them easier to move which helped A LOT.
Pros: Design, unique
Cons: difficult to slide letters on
Review 7 for Message-in-a-Cookie Cutters
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
SusieAlex
,Greenhurst
,NY
March 5, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Letters don't fit!
March 5, 2012
I received these cutters as a gift and they look like they would be great fun but they are so hard to use that it spoils the fun. I see that other users have filed the letters to make them fit but that seems like a difficult step for a relatively expensive item to need to make it usable!
The recipe is good. It has less butter than my standard recipe but I wanted to use the recommended recipe for the first try.
They're versatile if you can keep your fingers from bleeding.
Pros: Size, Versatile
Cons: Quality, very hard to use letters don't fit
Review 8 for Message-in-a-Cookie Cutters
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
nicolean
,wa
March 4, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Not So Impressive Cookie-Cutters
March 4, 2012
I was not really impressed with these cutters. The letters were too big to slide in the holders for them, therefore I had to modify them by sanding down the edges so they would slide easily. Also, if you have a dishwasher I could see the clean up being easy, but since I do not have one in my house it was difficult to clean each individual letter. I learned not to press too hard on the cookie press otherwise the letter holders would imprint on the cookie as well. Next time may be easier now that I have worked out the kinks but I was not something I was impressed by.
Pros: Durable, Shape
Cons: Quality, Difficult to Clean, letters not sized properly
Review 9 for Message-in-a-Cookie Cutters
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
3smallboys
,Claremont
,CA
February 20, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Wish I could give 5 stars
February 20, 2012
The recipe makes for delicious and adorable cookies but...the letters are nearly impossible to get in and out! So frustrating!
Pros: beautiful cookies
Cons: difficult to get letters in and out
Review 10 for Message-in-a-Cookie Cutters
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
jr4osu
,Tulsa
,OK
February 17, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
I couldn't wait to get these, but Beware!
February 17, 2012
Great concept! However, the letters are hard to insert in the cutters. They seem to be manufactured wrong, they are just too big. Other reviewers say to file down, so I filed, and filed, and filed........takes forever to do all the letters. The heart shape was the cutter that had the most trouble with the letters! So disappointing, definitely won't get much use out of these cutters, just takes too long to file.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Store
Cons: Quality, Size, not easy to use
Review 11 for Message-in-a-Cookie Cutters
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MomofTwokiddos
February 14, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Love these!
February 14, 2012
I was very skeptical of these when I got them as a gift but LOVE them! We used them for my daughter's valentine's and they turned out so adorable. They were easy to use and I will be using them again.
Pros: Easy to Use, adorable, great for kids, fun
Review 12 for Message-in-a-Cookie Cutters
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jvakers
,belmont shore
,ca
February 8, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
love these! patience needed, but necessary
February 8, 2012
i adore these cutters. yes, the letters are a bit tricky to get in and out, but they HAVE to be, else they would side around and everyone would complain about that instead. i haven't had to file my letters, and angling them in, instead of trying to slide them flat and straight across helps, i.e., tip one corner of a letter in a bit, then attempt to get the whole letter in.
also, keep this in mind - i had my husband try to put in a phrase while i worked on another cutter. he tried for 10 minutes to no avail and said these were garbage. i finished two cutters in the time he tried to do his (i bought 2 sets). he claimed the cutter he was working on had defective channels. i cried spaz ;) grabbed it from him and finished with no issues in under 3 minutes. again, if the channels weren't tight, the messages would not look professional. if you have patience (and being craft inclined might help) these will be right up your alley.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Versatile
Review 13 for Message-in-a-Cookie Cutters
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
jenuine
January 22, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Great Idea but Poor Quality
January 22, 2012
I was really excited to find this product even at $10 more in Canada I was willing to drive quite a distance to get them. When I arrived home I opened the box and the recipe was missing and a letter was broken...no problem I grab a recipe on the WS site and there are extra letters. Once I started putting letters I realized it was HARD to get them in and impossible to get them out. My fingers are so numb...I liked the tip another reviewer said to file the letters a bit...that works but sadly the heart cookie now say "en uin e na" permanently. Not happy. I paid more and got less. I think it is a great idea but needssome quality control because obviously some customers kits are fine. I do not recommend until improvements are implemented.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Design
Cons: Quality
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
jenuine
Posted April 2, 2012
Canadian Availability
To answer the question I purchased them at Williams-Sonoma at the Toronto Eaton Centre. In fact this items is exclusive to WS if you look up in locations there are a few in Canada (search locations below). I called around to ensure it was in-stock and had it put aside for me...the staff are really helpful. I wish the product was better though...also the cookie recipe was missing from the box so I used the one on the WS site and it was disappointing...you would think you can't go wrong with butter and sugar but it had zero taste. Hope this helps others!
0points
Customer avatar
dollytom
Sudbury, Ontario,Ca.
Posted March 30, 2012
Where in Canada?
Hi! I would love to get a set of Message in a Cookie Cutter set. I read about the flaws but am willing to give it a try. Where in Canada can I get a set from? Don't mind buying a used set.
Looking forward to hearing from you.
Thanks.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 14 for Message-in-a-Cookie Cutters
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
casarah29
,Brooklyn
,NY
December 20, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Great gifts
December 20, 2011
These are great I used them to make Christmas Ornaments for my friends. I only wish they included numbers as well as letters. Other than that they are awesome.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 15 for Message-in-a-Cookie Cutters
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kp1234
October 3, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
3of 6found this review helpful.
good design
October 3, 2011
it was hard to understand from the website, but these are basically shaped cutters with room to put in "printing press" - like type. The possibilities are endless!
Pros: Easy to Use
Review 16 for Message-in-a-Cookie Cutters
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
StacyAngel
,Fort Myers
,FL
September 24, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
So disappointed
September 24, 2011
Loved the idea, but soooo diffucult to get these letters in and out. Wasted so much time trying to figure them out. I also hate the way the b's and D's look. I wish they were so much better, my quest continues!
Review 17 for Message-in-a-Cookie Cutters
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
irishbkenney
,WIlliamsville
,NY
September 12, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Great Idea/ Poor Design
September 12, 2011
Loved the idea of these cookie cutters, but the letters do not slide into the tracks, basically rendering them unuseable.
Cons: Quality
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Wilmington, NC
Posted November 10, 2011
Quick Fix
You can use an emery board to kind of file down the edges of the letter pieces, allowing them to slide in MUCH easier!
0points
Customer avatar
Tamette
Indiana
Posted September 19, 2011
useable cookie cutters
The letters are small and tedious to work with but like anything new you learn as you go. It also took a little while to get constant with the pressure needed to cut. All in all I love these.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 18 for Message-in-a-Cookie Cutters
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
vmadaoag
san antonio, tx
August 29, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
easier said than done
August 29, 2011
the cookie cutters take some getting used to. some of the individual letters were easier to slip in than others. others were just not cut to fit into the slots at all. i've made 2 batches of cookies using these cookie cutters. the cookies come out just fine after a period of trial and error. my biggest complaint would be the difficulty with inserting individual letters. this limits the use of the product--there's no way children or bakers with arthritis will be able to insert the letters. removing letters is just a difficult as inserting them. for the most part, i would NOT recommend this product.
Cons: Quality, Difficult to Prepare, Design
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Wilmington, NC
Posted November 10, 2011
Quick Fix
Use an emery board to "file down" the edges and the letter will slide right in!!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Message-in-a-Cookie Cutters
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
NapaMom
Napa, CA
August 26, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Wonderful product
August 26, 2011
I have used these cookie cutters twice in one week and I love them. They are easy to use and the personalized cookies are truly lovely. The letters were a little challenging to slide into the slot, but I'd prefer that than letters that move around while in use. I agree with the other reviewers that numbers and punctuation should be included in the set of letters. Otherwise, I LOVE this product. I also bought the Holiday set and can't wait to use them.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Review 20 for Message-in-a-Cookie Cutters
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pumpkin3411
Hemlock, Michigan
August 21, 2011
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Fun Decorating
August 21, 2011
I have made many of these cookie for friends birthdays. Some of the letters were too hard to slide in. What I did was to file some of the letters down. Then they slid in just great.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Design
page1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next