Mesh Sugar Shaker

Use this shaker to dust plain or Bundt-type cakes, cookies and tarts with confectioners' sugar or cocoa. It's a simple, attractive way to decorate baked treats - and less rich than using a butter-based frosting.Easily sifts powdered sugar or cocoa onto baked goods.Plastic storage cap prevents spills and keeps contents fresh.18/10 stainless steel.
Average Customer Rating:
3.857 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
21 of 28(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Mesh Sugar Shaker
Review 1 for Mesh Sugar Shaker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EJAN
,Trondheim - Norway
September 19, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Gift to surprise my mom
September 19, 2013
Purchased as a gift to my mom and she really loved it.
Great quality. Worth every penny!
Once again thanks William Sonoma for providing such a quality product!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 2 for Mesh Sugar Shaker
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
MzSuzy
,Oak Harbor
,WA
March 7, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Size does matter...
March 7, 2013
The shaker is very attractive with mesh the perfect size for my use, which is strictly powdered sugar.
I also had difficulty with removing the lid, and unlike another reviewer, continue to have the problem after initial use...so I can only use the hot water/ice trick by removing the entire top of the full shaker, which is bothersome. Consequently, I just 'lean' the lid on, which defeats the containment purpose!
I have small hands and didn't realize how tiring the width (3 1/2 inches) would become after continual use..luckily, I don't make sweet things that often, but for the daily user, it could be a problem.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Design
Cons: Size, plastic lid
Review 3 for Mesh Sugar Shaker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
,Salt Lake City
,Ut
January 18, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
No mess shaker
January 18, 2013
Love it It really keeps the mess down working with powder sugar. It looks great too!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Shape, Design
Review 4 for Mesh Sugar Shaker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SousAndy
,Wichita
,KS
Wichita, Kansas
September 18, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Handy Kitchen Device
September 18, 2012
I have several of these: One I use for powdered sugar, and I have another that I use for sprinkling flour when I'm baking.
Great to have around.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Design
Review 5 for Mesh Sugar Shaker
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
brandy23
,Monmouth County
,NJ
December 25, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great job but hard to clean
December 25, 2011
This is a great product but I did have a hard time getting the top off.
Pros: Easy to Store
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Review 6 for Mesh Sugar Shaker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EmiStar
Houston
June 26, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The perfect Sugar Shaker
June 26, 2011
I needed a new sugar shaker as my old one tend to clog! This new shaker does the job so well - sugar flows beautifully without a lot of effort. The shape is practical and beautiful - I do not feel embarrased to use it with the rest of my fine china....
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Store, Shape, Design
Review 7 for Mesh Sugar Shaker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
macerdoodle
Chipley, Florida
December 31, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
a gift for my wife
December 31, 2010
the mesh is too fine. I read other reviews concerning the difficulty some had removing the top/lid, we have had no such problem. It is a beautiful, quality
kitchen/bakers tool.
I am surprised that a company as large as Williams-Sonoma would offer only one style of a powered sugar shaker!
Review 8 for Mesh Sugar Shaker
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
PASuburbanmom
Main Line
December 26, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Thank goodness for first review!
December 26, 2010
Thank goodness for Leia in Georgia who let everyone know how to get the lid off. Mine was from several years ago and I kept it hoping I could figure a way to remove it down the road. Sure enough the hot water/ice water treatment worked. I think William-Sonoma needs to let their customers know about this design flaw. Haven't used it yet, but like the idea of having evenly distributed confection sugar.
Review 9 for Mesh Sugar Shaker
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Leia
Georgia
April 15, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+11points
12of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
TO OPEN TIGHT COVER
April 15, 2010
I bought this and could not get the mesh cover off to wash and fill it. Went online and read that it was a common problem. Ladies even had their husbands try and some said they returned it. Apparently my husband is a genius. He heated it up under scalding hot water then shoved it in a bunch of ice and got the lid to come off! I was worried it might stick again, but it doesn't and now works fine! Hope this helps other people get it open!
Review 10 for Mesh Sugar Shaker
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
choth21
New York
April 11, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Top Will Not Come Off
April 11, 2010
How in the world do you take the top off? It sticks and is impossible to get off.
In addition, the mesh also gets clogged.
Overall, a very bad product.
Review 11 for Mesh Sugar Shaker
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
JGCHinAlaska
Anchorage, AK
April 3, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Many uses
April 3, 2010
This is great for adding the final touch to any baked goody. Bought it for the filled-pancakes, but use it for so many things. It is difficult to get the protective cover off without taking the whole lid off. Otherwise, it's great.
Review 12 for Mesh Sugar Shaker
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
MommaS
Basking Ridge, NJ
March 1, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wm Sonoma Sugar Shaker
March 1, 2010
I bought this item about 6 months ago, and for a while had no problem. At Christmas time when I went to use it, I could not remove the mesh cover to refill the shaker, nor could my husband. I even put it under warm water but the cover would not budge. I put the shaker in my car at my last trip to Williams Sonoma a few weeks ago (which is wonderful and has backed up all products we purchase) but I forgot to bring it into the mall. In desperation, I thew it out! This is the first time a purchase from Sonoma was defective, for me.
Review 13 for Mesh Sugar Shaker
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Coaster
Corvallis, OR
February 22, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Sugar Shaker Stuck
February 22, 2010
I haven't been able to get the lid off the sugar shaker to fill it. I have had two other people try and the lid won't come off. I guess it will be sent back.
Review 14 for Mesh Sugar Shaker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
khoesche
Palm Harbor, FL
January 7, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Sugar really Shakes!
January 7, 2010
There is nothing more anoying than trying to top off your baked goods with powdered sugar only to have it land in lumps and clumps! This shaker eliminates those problems and provides a light coat where ever you want it!
Review 15 for Mesh Sugar Shaker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
curlyjane
new jersey
December 31, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
great for baking cookies
December 31, 2009
i had got this to put my confectionary sugar in it for dusting my cookies and cakes. this is great! does the job well!
Review 16 for Mesh Sugar Shaker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Boca Raton, FL
November 8, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great tool
November 8, 2009
I had been using dusting pouches until I found this shaker. It is so easy to use, gives great result and stores well when not in use. Excellent tool to have
Review 17 for Mesh Sugar Shaker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NannyQueenie
Texas
November 2, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Keep that sugar on the plate
November 2, 2009
This mesh sugar shaker keeps powdered suga under control. You can actuallyshake the sugar on an item and not have it blow allover the room..
Review 18 for Mesh Sugar Shaker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
onecook
phila PA
October 21, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
sugar shake
October 21, 2009
excellent!
usually I make a mess when trying to dust a cake. this thing keeps the sugar contained except where I want it to go, and I can store the sugar in the shaker between uses!
Review 19 for Mesh Sugar Shaker
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sharonjoh
Midlothian, VA
September 27, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great little dusting tool
September 27, 2009
I've been very pleased with this product. I read the previous reviews on how hard it is to get the lid off, but I'm not having a problem. It has grooves that the lid turns and locks into and I've always been able to easily take it off. I've used it to dust cupcakes and pancakes and it works perfectly.
Review 20 for Mesh Sugar Shaker
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
HelKat
Lafayette, LA
March 11, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
sugar shaker
March 11, 2009
A perfect way to serve powdered sugar with many breakfast specialties and desserts. An easy pour container with an airtight lid.
page1 2 next