This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Mediterranean Chicken Starter

Spice up your next dinner, or dinner party, with this Mediterranean favorite. Our signature recipe begins with Chardonnay, red wine vinegar and fragrant herbs, and we add dried French plums, Moroccan apricots and Spanish Sevillano olives for irresistible sweet-savory flavor. Just add chicken for a quick, easy and crowd-pleasing meal. All-natural braising base is made with white wine, dried fruits and spices, and gently cooked for hours to achieve a rich, homemade flavor. Simply combine the starter with chicken in a slow cooker or Dutch oven, then serve over steamed rice, whole grain pilaf or couscous. 1 lb. 8 oz. Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
3.667 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
5 of 6(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Mediterranean Chicken Starter
Review 1 for Mediterranean Chicken Starter
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
AMahoney
,Willowbrook
,Il
February 13, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Disappointed
February 13, 2013
I love, love, love the starters for beef stew and pot roast. I recieved this for Christmas, was looking forward to it, and used it in my slow cooker tonight. I immediately thought it had an intense vinegar-y aroma, and after cooking it has not mellowed. All I smell and taste are the wine and vinegar, no sweetness, and I'll only try to eat what I can because of the pounds of chicken I used. The olives aren't even that great. Totally let down.
Pros: Easy to Prepare
Cons: Disappointing, smell, Flavor
Review 2 for Mediterranean Chicken Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Charlestonian
,Charleston
November 15, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
EXCELLENT! DON'T BE AFRAID TO GIVE IT A TRY
November 15, 2012
I bought this on a whim the first time. Since then, I have bought 4 more jars, even though it is kind of pricey! I just put raw or browned chicken pieces in the crock pot, pour the sauce over, anf cook on low for about 5 hours. If I am in a rush I start it on high for one hour and then reduce the heat to low. I have served it over rice, noodles and mashed potatoes. We prefer the mashed potatoes best. A time or two I sliced half a sweet onion thinly using the mandoline and put this on top of the chicken before pouring over the sauce. Delicious! My husband asks for this at least once a month. Enjoy!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
Cons: price
Review 3 for Mediterranean Chicken Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tobagogirl
,Windsor
,CT
November 10, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Excellent and unsual
November 10, 2012
I was hesitant to try this sauce based on the reviews of it being too vinegary. However, I am so glad I gave it a try. I found this to be an excellent and unusual sauce. I loved the flavor of the olives, coupled with the pieces of fruit. Good job WS! I will definitely be ordering this on an ongoing basis!
Pros: Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 4 for Mediterranean Chicken Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sportsgirl
,louisiana
May 21, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
This was absolutely great!
May 21, 2012
I bought this over the weekend and had to go back for more. It was absolutely great! I did not think it had a strong vinegar taste. It was GREAT!
Pros: Good for Entertaining, Flavor
Cons: Amount
Review 5 for Mediterranean Chicken Starter
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ajard
,Old Brooville
,NY
January 9, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
good but needs work
January 9, 2012
This is such a great concept for a unique flavored sauce, but the vinegar is so strong. I served it for a dinner party and everyones reaction was the same., great combo of fruit and spices, but too vinegary. If it was less vinegary I would highly recommend it.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver
Cons: Ingredients, needs to be balanced better
Review 6 for Mediterranean Chicken Starter
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ladyquail
,Douglas
,GA
Douglas, GA
December 4, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Mediterranean braising base
December 4, 2011
This product base is rich and although I have international taste buds, the sauce is much too sweet for me. I sit here thinking what could be served with this to cut the sweetness. I am cajun by nature/nurture, therefore used to spicy foods and this sauce certainly puts those buds to differentation. I would only recommend if asking questions as to a person's particular tastes. This sauce may hold up to a young hen but definitely not a pullet.
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Decadent, great smell
Cons: Flavor