Classic Meatloaf Starter

Meatloaf is classic comfort food. Our time-saving starter, prepared in small batches to ensure homemade flavor, makes it easy to enjoy this American family favorite - even on the busiest weeknights.Our premium recipe consists of California tomatoes and sweet onions enriched with extra-virgin olive oil, roasted garlic and traditional seasonings.Simply combine the starter with ground beef, pork or turkey, along with fresh eggs and bread crumbs, place mixture into a loaf pan and bake.17 oz. (enough for one 2-lb. meatloaf).Made in USA.A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
10 of 12(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Classic Meatloaf Starter
Review 1 for Classic Meatloaf Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Barbqueen
,Hartford
,CT
June 21, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Our favorite meatloaf
June 21, 2014
I love this sauce! I use panko breadcrumbs, crush them and use only half the amount. 1 1/2 cups with a little over 2 lbs of hamburg. Put it on the WS perforated roasting pan. Then cook it on the barbecue. Wow! It's a family favorite!!
Pros: Flavor
Review 2 for Classic Meatloaf Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
,Austin
,TX
August 24, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious & a Nice Surprise
August 24, 2013
I was visiting Williams-Sonoma in person recently, and discovered the Classic Meatloaf Starter. I admit, I was surprised to find a product like this at Williams-Sonoma, but I thought I would give it a try, and it was delicious. I already "pinned" it on Pinterest.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, Healthy
Review 3 for Classic Meatloaf Starter
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Minnetonka12
,Minnetonka
,MN
January 6, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
mushy mess
January 6, 2013
The flavor is great but if i ever make it again will have to figure out some way to make it hold together. it was a mushy mess. maybe double the amount of beef?
Pros: Flavor
Cons: Disappointing, Texture
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
OliveOyl
Chesapeake Va
Posted October 26, 2014
" Mushy Mess"
I would look at what you're using for bread crumbs, panko or normal bread crumbs. I think you aren't using enough. I use both types and just put it in by experience. It won't be mushy. Also how many eggs are you using? You can also use pork/ sirloin mix instead of straight ground meat.Hope this helps.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Classic Meatloaf Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bduffy
,Mountain View
,CA
September 24, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Meatloaf Ever!
September 24, 2012
I use this with 1lb. beef, 1/2lb. pork, and 1/2lb. veal and it is awesome! Sometimes I find that I need to add more breadcrumbs than the recipe calls for in order to be able to shape in into a loaf on a rimmed cookie sheet (I find that cooking meatloaf in a loaf pan makes it too mushy). Otherwise, I follow the recipe on the jar. My family can't get enough! I love that I can make a delicious weekday meal with minimal work.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 5 for Classic Meatloaf Starter
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LindaBinda
,Bedford
,NH
September 18, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
tasty timesaver
September 18, 2012
a good alternative to "made from scratch" meatloaf.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 6 for Classic Meatloaf Starter
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
JeaninBexley
,Bexley
,Oh
Bexley Ohio
May 27, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy weeknight recipe
May 27, 2012
I read several reviews before I purchased this product. I have to gree with one reviewer that thought it was too moist. I added extra bread crumbs untill I liked the consistency. Good flavor. Not a fake taste at all. If you're not in a mood to chop a lot of vegetables this is a great substitute.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Time-saver, Flavor
Cons: Texture
Review 7 for Classic Meatloaf Starter
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
BobDobbs
May 14, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good but not awesome
May 14, 2012
Having read all the reviews about this being the best meatloaf ever, I think my expectations were artificially high for this product. Sure, it was good, but not as good as my family recipe and certainly not the best I ever had. It had a slightly sweet taste which masked some of the savoriness of the beef.
My family also commented that the meatloaf was unusually smooth in texture, not like a normal meatloaf. Might be good grilled, though, to give it a little surface roughage.
I'll also note that I followed the directions explicitly and didn't have any problem with the meatloaf falling apart when it came out of the pan. It was only a little loose, but still sliceable.
Bottom line? If you're new to meatloaf, you might well like it. But if you grew up with it on a biweekly basis like I did, save your money and use your own recipe.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Flavor
Cons: Texture
Review 8 for Classic Meatloaf Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
,NV
March 22, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious Meatloaf
March 22, 2012
We have been looking for a delicious meatloaf recipe for many years and now we've found it!
Pros: Texture, Quality, Flavor
Review 9 for Classic Meatloaf Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Porschedude
,Virginia Beach
,VA
February 5, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent product
February 5, 2012
Just tried this today. Used buttered texas toast croutons as the filler and cooked for 90 minutes at 350 degrees. The smell of it cooking was wonderful and the taste was outstanding. Looking forward to trying the other starter products.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor, Great Gift
Cons: none
Review 10 for Classic Meatloaf Starter
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
RoseM89
,Auburn
,MI
Auburn, Michigan
February 5, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tasted good but fell apart
February 5, 2012
I am so bummed! I followed the directions but ended up throwing almost the whole thing away--what a waste! It tasted good but it was a crumbled mess that we could hardly find more than a few bite sized pieces to salvage. I actually split the meat mixture between 2 loaf pans so it would cook better but it did not help. My family liked the taste but not the texture.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Flavor
Cons: Disappointing, Texture
Review 11 for Classic Meatloaf Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HopeD
,NorthportProsN
,NY
January 16, 2012
Ability level:Novice
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious for turkey
January 16, 2012
We are always looking for ways to flavor chopped turkey meat. After tasting this mix in a beef meatloaf sample at the Columbus Circle ,NYC store, we decided to try it in our turkey meatloaf . It is delicious . We would highly recommend it.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 12 for Classic Meatloaf Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sharronG18
,Brunswick Hills
,OH
January 10, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious!
January 10, 2012
This is a wonderful starter for a flavorful meatloaf. My husband loves it, and so do I! I won't make meatloaf any other way - YUM!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor, Great Gift