Classic Meatloaf Starter

Meatloaf is classic comfort food. Our time-saving starter, prepared in small batches to ensure homemade flavor, makes it easy to enjoy this American family favorite - even on the busiest weeknights.Our premium recipe consists of California tomatoes and sweet onions enriched with extra-virgin olive oil, roasted garlic and traditional seasonings.Simply combine the starter with ground beef, pork or turkey, along with fresh eggs and bread crumbs, place mixture into a loaf pan and bake.17 oz. (enough for one 2-lb. meatloaf).Made in USA.A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(48 Reviews) 48
41 of 48(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Classic Meatloaf Starter
Review 1 for Classic Meatloaf Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
,Austin
,TX
August 24, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious & a Nice Surprise
August 24, 2013
I was visiting Williams-Sonoma in person recently, and discovered the Classic Meatloaf Starter. I admit, I was surprised to find a product like this at Williams-Sonoma, but I thought I would give it a try, and it was delicious. I already "pinned" it on Pinterest.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, Healthy
Review 2 for Classic Meatloaf Starter
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Minnetonka12
,Minnetonka
,MN
January 6, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
mushy mess
January 6, 2013
The flavor is great but if i ever make it again will have to figure out some way to make it hold together. it was a mushy mess. maybe double the amount of beef?
Pros: Flavor
Cons: Disappointing, Texture
Review 3 for Classic Meatloaf Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bduffy
,Mountain View
,CA
September 24, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Meatloaf Ever!
September 24, 2012
I use this with 1lb. beef, 1/2lb. pork, and 1/2lb. veal and it is awesome! Sometimes I find that I need to add more breadcrumbs than the recipe calls for in order to be able to shape in into a loaf on a rimmed cookie sheet (I find that cooking meatloaf in a loaf pan makes it too mushy). Otherwise, I follow the recipe on the jar. My family can't get enough! I love that I can make a delicious weekday meal with minimal work.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 4 for Classic Meatloaf Starter
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LindaBinda
,Bedford
,NH
September 18, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
tasty timesaver
September 18, 2012
a good alternative to "made from scratch" meatloaf.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 5 for Classic Meatloaf Starter
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
JeaninBexley
,Bexley
,Oh
Bexley Ohio
May 27, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy weeknight recipe
May 27, 2012
I read several reviews before I purchased this product. I have to gree with one reviewer that thought it was too moist. I added extra bread crumbs untill I liked the consistency. Good flavor. Not a fake taste at all. If you're not in a mood to chop a lot of vegetables this is a great substitute.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Time-saver, Flavor
Cons: Texture
Review 6 for Classic Meatloaf Starter
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
BobDobbs
May 14, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good but not awesome
May 14, 2012
Having read all the reviews about this being the best meatloaf ever, I think my expectations were artificially high for this product. Sure, it was good, but not as good as my family recipe and certainly not the best I ever had. It had a slightly sweet taste which masked some of the savoriness of the beef.
My family also commented that the meatloaf was unusually smooth in texture, not like a normal meatloaf. Might be good grilled, though, to give it a little surface roughage.
I'll also note that I followed the directions explicitly and didn't have any problem with the meatloaf falling apart when it came out of the pan. It was only a little loose, but still sliceable.
Bottom line? If you're new to meatloaf, you might well like it. But if you grew up with it on a biweekly basis like I did, save your money and use your own recipe.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Flavor
Cons: Texture
Review 7 for Classic Meatloaf Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
,NV
March 22, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious Meatloaf
March 22, 2012
We have been looking for a delicious meatloaf recipe for many years and now we've found it!
Pros: Texture, Quality, Flavor
Review 8 for Classic Meatloaf Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Porschedude
,Virginia Beach
,VA
February 5, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent product
February 5, 2012
Just tried this today. Used buttered texas toast croutons as the filler and cooked for 90 minutes at 350 degrees. The smell of it cooking was wonderful and the taste was outstanding. Looking forward to trying the other starter products.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor, Great Gift
Cons: none
Review 9 for Classic Meatloaf Starter
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
RoseM89
,Auburn
,MI
Auburn, Michigan
February 5, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tasted good but fell apart
February 5, 2012
I am so bummed! I followed the directions but ended up throwing almost the whole thing away--what a waste! It tasted good but it was a crumbled mess that we could hardly find more than a few bite sized pieces to salvage. I actually split the meat mixture between 2 loaf pans so it would cook better but it did not help. My family liked the taste but not the texture.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Flavor
Cons: Disappointing, Texture
Review 10 for Classic Meatloaf Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HopeD
,NorthportProsN
,NY
January 16, 2012
Ability level:Novice
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious for turkey
January 16, 2012
We are always looking for ways to flavor chopped turkey meat. After tasting this mix in a beef meatloaf sample at the Columbus Circle ,NYC store, we decided to try it in our turkey meatloaf . It is delicious . We would highly recommend it.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 11 for Classic Meatloaf Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sharronG18
,Brunswick Hills
,OH
January 10, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious!
January 10, 2012
This is a wonderful starter for a flavorful meatloaf. My husband loves it, and so do I! I won't make meatloaf any other way - YUM!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 12 for Classic Meatloaf Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WannabeFoodie
,Richmond
,VA
October 24, 2011
Ability level:Novice
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Absolutely delicious!
October 24, 2011
My father loves all things meatloaf. So, we gave this to him as a Christmas present. He made it for us the other night and it was AMAZING! I cleaned my plate and am headed over to Williams Sonoma to stock up on more. Absolutely delicious!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 13 for Classic Meatloaf Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Larimar
August 31, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Starter EVER!
August 31, 2011
Made it and it tasted amazing. I made it for an older American couple and they told me it was the best meatloaf they every had in thier life. I purchased it because it was my first time making it and I wanted it done right the first time. True American classic done right. Use with the meatloaf pan and perfect! I want this reciepe. Williams and Sonoma-hand it over!
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 14 for Classic Meatloaf Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JamesinPhoenix
Phoenix, Arizona
August 26, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I hate meatloaf....but not with this product!
August 26, 2011
Growing up, I would always try to get out of eating the meat loaf my mother would make. As a result of horrible memories of my distaste for meat loaf, I haven't tried it in years. When I came upon this starter, I decided to give it another try; afterall, it seemed, if nothing else, a very quick simple meal to make. I went to the butcher and bought a meatloaf mix (ground veal, beef, and pork) and threw this together in a few minutes. It was very moist and baked in an Emile Henry loaf pan the edges were perfect. I will say that this meat loaf tasted better with each passing day, as my family ate the left overs. I will absolutely keep a couple of jars of this starter in the pantry. This meat loaf with a salad and mac and cheese= easy dinner comfort food bliss. Buy it and give it a shot. By the way, whoever it was that mentioned this as being too spicy has got to have the palate of a 2 year old; it's truly flavorful, but hardly spicy in the sense of being too hot!
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 15 for Classic Meatloaf Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kumasmom
July 26, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
must try !
July 26, 2011
I made this meatloaf with the starter and used 1lb ground turkey and 1lb ground beef. It was perfect! I heard that 2lbs of ground beef made it salty. I place a thin layer of WS olive oil before placing the meat on top the foil. The top and the bottom were both crispy. everyone in our family loved it. just follow the directions. it makes a ton of meatloaf. I served with collard greens and homemade mac and cheese. we'll snack on it all of this week. Huge success! HUGE!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 16 for Classic Meatloaf Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LLM1
June 15, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
YUMMY! Must try this!
June 15, 2011
I don't understand the spicy comment that someone wrote. I didn't find this spicy at all and I hate spicy foods. We use this with ground turkey breast and it is the first product we have found that makes it super moist - we love it!!!!!
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Flavor
Review 17 for Classic Meatloaf Starter
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
BBarb
Michigan
June 1, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Too spicy hot !
June 1, 2011
This should've been labeled extra spicy----luckily I tasted it before ruining 2 lbs of meat! Put it right in the trash!!!!
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor, hot and spicy
Review 18 for Classic Meatloaf Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JohnBoy9
North Andover, Mass
May 18, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The best Meatloaf
May 18, 2011
This makes the best meatloaf that I have ever had. My wife and mother in law agree. I will be getting more.
Have bought a lot of stuff from WS and have been pleased with it all, especially the Able Skeever (easiest way to spell and say) set up, love to cook and feed the neighbors. Today doing some Strawberry/Rhubarb with ricotta cheese filling.
Thanks
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 19 for Classic Meatloaf Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mamato2
Mission Viejo, CA
May 17, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Kid approved!
May 17, 2011
I must not be the only one who adores this product because every time I go into my WS store-it's sold out! I was lucky today and bought the last one and surprised the entire family (including 2 picky kids) with meatloaf for dinner.
I half the recipe on the back of the jar and place the starter in the fridge for next time. That way my small family of four can finish a loaf and look forward to another one in the coming weeks.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 20 for Classic Meatloaf Starter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nort
Santa MAria Ca
March 31, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
too good!!!
March 31, 2011
I have become so dependent on this meatloaf starter that I don't make meatloaf anymore with out it. It is sure a time saver and it's there in the pantry when meatloaf sounds soo good. I just add about 1/2 c bread crumbs to the hamburger mixtue and I'm set to go. I have also formed meatballs out of the starter. I'll probably experiment more later on.
page1 2 3 next