This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Meatball Grill Basket

Grilling is a fun way to cook homemade meatballs for outdoor dining. Our ingenious grilling tool holds a dozen meatballs securely above the fire to infuse them with smoky flavor. Sturdy stainless-steel basket has 12 perforated wells to brown meatballs while excess fat drips away. Works with beef, lamb and poultry as well as vegetable mixtures. Handle removes to free up grill space and provide clearance for the grill lid. Based on customer feedback, we've increased the size of the wells' perforations to allow for easier cleanup. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
21 of 24(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Meatball Grill Basket
Review 1 for Meatball Grill Basket
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rjsid
,IA
June 24, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Fun grilling tool
June 24, 2013
I bought two of these, one for my parents and one for my husband and I. I have used it just once so far but I love it. A very fun and unique tool to have. The only thing I do not like about it is that, while the removable handle is nice, the "springy" aspect of the handle does not work real well and does not stay in place. I can't wait to come up with more meatball recipes! Make sure to spray with non stick cooking spray first, this is a must for easy cleaning.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean
Review 2 for Meatball Grill Basket
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SLCH
,Humble
,TX
Burton, Michigan
January 11, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Had to get another one
January 11, 2013
Bought my first one last summer. Works well and "cleans up" just fine. It doesn't look brand new, just used and clean. These are good sized meatballs. I ended up buying this one (my second one) to grill two baskets at once.
Review 3 for Meatball Grill Basket
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ellendy
,Santa Cruz
,CA
Santa Cruz CA
June 15, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Just Ordered a Second One!
June 15, 2012
I love this grill basket. It usually takes me about 30 minutes to bake two dozen turkey thigh/pork meatballs in the indoor oven, and they always come out flat on the bottom. I was able to cook one basket on the gas grill in just about 10 minutes! Plus, they came out perfectly round, crisp on the outside, and tender on the inside--and they popped right out. I sprayed the basket with grapeseed oil. One basket takes about 1 lb of meat, a half cup of bread crumbs, 1 egg plus a little milk, and some cheese, parsley, pepper and salt to taste. I just ordered a second basket to be able to fly through production of 24 meatballs for company! i put mine in the dishwasher and it looks like it came out OK.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Design, Weight
Review 4 for Meatball Grill Basket
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
azdusty
,AZ
February 20, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Grilled meatballs
February 20, 2012
overall worked well for meatballs on the grill. The handel good be better. a suggestion make one hole in serveal of the well large enough for an instant reading thermometer probe
Pros: Time-saver, Size, Design, Weight
Review 5 for Meatball Grill Basket
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DeeGee
,Plymouth
,MA
Southeastern MA
October 12, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Delicious meatballs!!
October 12, 2011
I made meatballs using the recipe here on the WS site for a potluck barbecue. The one slight change is that my market carries a meatloaf mix of pork, beef and veal, so I used that instead of only pork and beef. I sprayed the inside of the meatball basket with a cooking spray made for grilling and nothing, absolutely nothing, stuck. The meatball were beautifully brown, juicy and tasted great - people were raving about them. I was leery based on some of the reviews but they exceeded my expectations. Don't hesitate to get this one.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use
Review 6 for Meatball Grill Basket
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
spemoni
Hollywood, FL
August 14, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Grilling and Meatballs? The only way to go!
August 14, 2011
We have used this item so much since our wedding. We've brought it to cookouts and grilled meatballs for our friends...who now have since purchased one too. You will never be able to keep it shiny so I look at it as well seasoned.
Take any slider recipe and make them meatballs instead. The meatballs come out crispy on the outside and juicy on the inside. About 5 minutes per side is all you need and as far as sticking goes....use some PAM.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Time-saver
Review 7 for Meatball Grill Basket
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mami123
July 6, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
This is wonderful
July 6, 2011
I was initially concerned when reading previous comments regarding difficulty of use and clean up.
I have to say, I just purchased this and used it for the first time tonight with the Meatball Starter product also from W.S., and it was VERY easy to make incredibly tasty meatballs!
No problems with the gas grill at 400 degrees melting the handle or closing the lid ( I left the handle outside of the lid). 8 mins each side.
No sticking or separation problems either with a little Pam in the wells before placing the meat.
Cleanup: Less than 5 mins to scrub and clean well with a sponge. Not for the dishwasher but, I would not put my Caphelon in the dishwasher either....This is no different. Certainly not inconvenient to clean.
I would recommend this to anyone. It is very easy, different, and the meatballs are great! I am already thinking of other recipes to use this design for...
Review 8 for Meatball Grill Basket
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
glenwood705
Greensboro NC
June 6, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
huge clean up nightmare
June 6, 2011
great idea. doesn't perform oh so hot. you have to under size the meatballs, coat them with oil, and coat the basked insides with cooking spray and they still stick at times. I don't use lean meat, so there is plenty of fat. What are you supposed to do with the huge handle when you're grilling. close the lid on top of it? don't even think of putting it in the dishwasher, get out a metal scrub pad. Meatballs are fantastic grilled. just wish they were easier to come by.
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Review 9 for Meatball Grill Basket
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous
Groton, MA
March 25, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+8points
9of 10found this review helpful.
Good idea; Very bad design
March 25, 2011
I have used this twice and the handle is mostly melted because they actually made a rather expensive grill tool without a heatproof handle. To brown the meatballs you need the grill hot and the stubby little handle means that the plastic is exposed to grill heat and melts.
In addition there is no coating of any kind so getting the meatballs out in one piece means taking a knife and cutting them loose even if the tray was sprayed heavily with non-stick oil. I also have to go back and scrape the crusty bits out with a spoon to flavor the sauce.
Since this is about twice as much as the others on the market I was expecting better performance.
Pros: great idea
Cons: plastic handle melts, handle too short, meatballs stick
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
commonsensepeople
florida
Posted July 6, 2011
read the directions
the handle removes!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Meatball Grill Basket
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tchutchu
Aliso Viejo, Ca
February 24, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
The Best Meatballs.
February 24, 2011
I highly recommend this product. Ease to have health meatballs in a short time without making a mess in your kitchen. Only thing to keep in your mind : the important, after using, the stainless steel or any other material when submitted to direct heating, can change the color. When you use it and clean, be sure is it clean, but don't spend your time to make shiny again, like a new. Some times, people, feel disappointed or, even, give up to use because is hard to clean it, but not, isn't, believe me. Go, buy it and enjoy your dinner meatballs. One more time, when you are cleaning, be sure it doesn't have any residue of food, that is all !
Review 11 for Meatball Grill Basket
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sisa
Bridgeport, Conn
October 8, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
PERFECT MEATBALLS
October 8, 2010
Absolutely loved this meatball maker. Used your recipe for "Stuffed Meatballs" and each meatball came out perfect. What I liked, was that you can do 12 meatballs at a time and as a result I was able to make enough to freeze, in a very short period of time. I'm big on making enough for future meals, so this made me excited about its versatility. Now that the weather is getting cold, I plan on trying it in my oven. Will put a cookie sheet (with sides) under it to catch the drippings.
The cleaning process wasn't as bad as I thought it would be. I just let it soak in very hot soapy water for awhile . Washed with a bottle brush and then used the sink sprayer to get any remaining residue off. It also helps if you spray the inside of the wells with a non-stick cooking spray.
Review 12 for Meatball Grill Basket
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
simplenot
Moorpark, California
August 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Love the Meatballs!
August 30, 2010
This grill basket makes excellent meatballs. I grill em up and add to spaghetti sauce and they are wonderful, perfectly formed, with just the right texture. Love it!
Review 13 for Meatball Grill Basket
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
want2beachef
reno, nv
August 3, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
It REALLY works!
August 3, 2010
After purchasing this grill basket, I was skeptical. However, it completely delivered! I made homemade elk meatballs and put them on the grill. Our first batch was perfect. The second, we did forget about them and they were pretty burnt. To my surprise, it cleaned up wonderfully! I am very glad I have this and the meatballs look professional!
Review 14 for Meatball Grill Basket
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
missy1234
North Jersey
July 31, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Worked great!
July 31, 2010
I had to have this when it came out. I read all the reviews and directions. I spayed the griller with pam. Then I rubbed a little olive oil on each meatball before putting them in. Removed the handle so it would not melt and used tongs to turn it over. They all slid out perfect with tongs. And clean up was easy since none of them stuck. Washed it in the sink. Works great if you grease it up before.
Review 15 for Meatball Grill Basket
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CanadaCook
Saskatoon, SK, Canada
July 22, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
'No problem' grill basket
July 22, 2010
I purchased this grill basket in Spokane while on vacation and could hardly wait to get home to try it. I was not disappointed. I used the recipe on the packaging and sprayed it thoroughly with cooking spray. The meatballs came out fantastic and the basket cleaned up great after letting soak briefly in soapy water. I was a bit leary that the handle would melt but followed directions and all was okay! I will be purchasing another to give to my father as a gift!
Review 16 for Meatball Grill Basket
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
StuartN
North Yorkshire, UK
July 19, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
2of 4found this review helpful.
Good idea but....
July 19, 2010
The idea looked great. Our friends in Santa Rosa bought it and shipped it to England where we tried it out over this weekend. The recipe for the meatballs is from America's Test Kitchen and delicious. No problem there. HOWEVER - the meatballs found an attachment for the holes in the pan. 5/12 stuck and broke. Some - if small - came out OK. HOWEVER - then came the cleaning. Not the easiest task. My wife handed it back to me after the dishwasher failed to clean it. get out the bottle brush.
Overall - a good idea, but not perhaps the best.
Review 17 for Meatball Grill Basket
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PSDW
St. Louis, MO
July 7, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Easy Meatballs
July 7, 2010
I used this to make meatballs from ground sirloin and ground lamb. It worked great on the grill. One flip halfway through and the meatballs were perfectly cooked. The came right out of the basket (only one had to be loosened with a fork). Clean up was very easy, I put it in sink of hot water until after dinner, then rinsed it off and put it in dishwasher. Love it!
Review 18 for Meatball Grill Basket
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
NeOrKate
Eastern Oregon
July 5, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Great Meatballs but....
July 5, 2010
I have to say that I wish this item had come with more details instructions. Having read the reviews, I knew that I needed to coat the wells with non-stick spray. So, my meatballs grilled up just fine. However, this is why I only give it three stars. From the way it is designed and the limited directions on the cardboard wrap, it seems to me that you use this with the long handle attached. Well, that is what I did and within just a minute the plastic on the end started melting. I assumed it would be made from some kind of heat-proof material but that is not the case. I hope the company will send me a new handle otherwise, I guess I am going to have to just return the whole thing.
Review 19 for Meatball Grill Basket
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reichman4
Florida
June 22, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Awesome flavor added to meatballs
June 22, 2010
We ordered the Meatball Grill Basket for Fathers day and my kids fixed meatball subs on the grill! The pan works great - the meatballs are nice and large and it makes a dozen at a time. This definitely gives the flavor of a meatball sub a great upgrade!
Review 20 for Meatball Grill Basket
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GabriellesMom
San Diego, CA
June 17, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
smoked meatballs for all
June 17, 2010
I've never tried grilling meatballs before but now that I have, I'm not sure how I went this long without. Of course, I always like the flavor of meat when grilled. I used lots of cooking spray on the basket and only 1 stuck got stuck. 1 out of 12...not bad at all!
page1 2 next