Williams-Sonoma Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Williams-Sonoma
Shop or
Choose a Category
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Mead-Making Kit

Now you can use your own honey, or store-bought honey, to make mead, a unique low-alcohol honey wine and one the world's oldest fermented beverages. The kit is created exclusively for us by Elizabeth Ryan, an award-winning cider maker who has made appearances at the James Beard House. Just follow the simple directions and in four to six weeks you can enjoy your first batch. You supply the honey-our kit includes everything else you need. Makes five 1-gal. batches; tools can be used again and again to make subsequent batches. All-natural ingredients; contains no preservatives or chemicals. Step-by-step instructions guide you through the mead-making process. Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive. Kit includes: 1 gallon glass fermentation jug and metal lid. Adhesive temperature strip. Paper hydrometer. Airlock. Stopper. Siphoning Tube. Yeast for making five 1-gallon batches. Complete instructions.
Average Customer Rating:
1.8 out of 5
 out of 
(5 Reviews) 5
1 of 5(20%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Mead-Making Kit
Review 1 for Mead-Making Kit
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
October 13, 2015
Would You Recommend? Yes
0of 1found this review helpful.
October 13, 2015
The best drink I have ever had in my life. A must-buy.
Pros: Appearance, Design, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Quality, Size, Weight, Assembly, Time-saver, material, Durable
Review 2 for Mead-Making Kit
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
October 11, 2015
Would You Recommend? No
3of 3found this review helpful.
this product is the WORST
October 11, 2015
I'm not sure what fifth grader assembled this thing, but it was a nightmare from start to finish resulting in an undrinkable product. You do NOT just need honey, you need a slew of other things that aren't even included...I can't even go into how disappointing this whole thing was. I actually contacted the manufacturer direct (Hudson Valley Farmhouse) to inquire about some items missing and directions that were not clear, and that was a bigger joke than the kit itself. They are beyond a disorganized mess themselves. WS was amazing however, and gave me my money back no questions asked, and the employee actually told me the product had been a nightmare to deal with. RUN AWAY!!!!
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality, Assembly, High-Maintenance, instructions
Review 3 for Mead-Making Kit
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
July 15, 2015
Would You Recommend? No
5of 5found this review helpful.
THIS is NOT all you need for mead!
July 15, 2015
First off, who would only want to make 1 gallon of mead at a time, especially since it takes so long to ferment? Make a 5 gallon carboy, which fills 2 cases of wine bottles... then you can relax and enjoy for a while, and share with friends and family!
Second - you need more than just yeast! You need Irish moss, citric acid, and yeast nutrient - just for the basics.
Best bet for a beginner is to do some online research, hook up with someone who has been making it for a while, and learn by getting together and doing hands-on mead making.
It seems easy, but there are a lot of fine points to it in order to get something drinkable at the end of the NINE MONTHS it takes to ferment!
Cons: Quality, Size, materials
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted July 22, 2015
1: Most beginners whom are doing it on a whim. 1 vs. 5 gallons of commitment.
2: Yeast. just yeast and a yeast nutrient is all you need. Citrus acid? are you making a MeloMel? A simple BEGINNERS recipe takes out the complicated chemist brewing.
Irish Moss is used for Protieins that develop in the mashing process of the grains. mainly used when brewing beer.
Proteins are not as big of an issue in a Mead must, but a geletin based fining agent will clear up any protein haze that may develop. Add it a few days before you rack for aging.
I do agree with hooking up with an expert and doing hands on. But if you don't and your new. Don't waist making a 5 gallon especially if you feel as if you don't have the confidence. And Finally. It is Easy. Very. Just stick to simply honey water boil add yeast and nutrient. People make ''Show mead'' It doesnt have to be fermented 9 months and Renaissance fairs brew it in big batches. Just enough fermenting for a slight buzz. haha.
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Mead-Making Kit
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
November 22, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
45of 46found this review helpful.
Over priced and under whelming.
November 22, 2013
Got this as a wedding gift and we were VERY disappointed. We are huge Mead drinkers and on paper this should have been a GREAT gift for us.
Once open, we found You just don't "Add Honey". It was missing items listed on the box.
Let me state, the box was factory new and sealed... so this was not an "Opps" return item we got.
"1 gallon glass fermentation jug and metal lid." -Lid Missing
Yeast for making five 1-gallon batches." NOPE
and The Glass HYDROMETER was Broken
Sad to say it went back... But we found everything in this kit at a local Brew shop for Half the price.
Pros: Appearance
Cons: materials, Not Durable, Design, instructions
Review 5 for Mead-Making Kit
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Blaine, MN
October 25, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
65of 65found this review helpful.
What a joke!
October 25, 2013
"You supply the honey - our kit includes everything else you need" as it's advertised is inaccurate. When you read through the directions, they note that after you pitch the yeast, you add yeast nutrient (such as Fermax). No yeast nutrient is included in the kit, however. This seems to be the fault of the company that actually produces the kit. I sent them an email inquiring about this oversight on 9/14 and no reply. Plus, the "complete step-by-step directions" themselves are vague and confusing... not good for beginners. I bought a mead-making book and the supplies contained in this kit at a local brewing store for roughly half the cost of this kit. What a joke.
This is the first product I've ever returned to WS. Always excellent customer service from them, both online and in store, and this time was no exception. Kudos to WS - the Roseville store in particular - for always being understanding and helpful. This particular supplier was just a bad choice.
Cons: materials, Quality, instructions, incomplete