Mauviel Hammered Copper Jam Pan

Prized in French kitchens, this classic copper pan helps transform fruits into delicious jams, jellies and preserves. Made of heat-responsive copper in a wide, shallow design, it's also useful for making caramel and other high-sugar foods. It's crafted in France by Mauviel, a family-owned maker of fine copper cookware since 1830.The wide, shallow bowl and heat-conductive 1.2mm-gauge copper promote a rapid boil, which develops fruits' natural pectins.Unlined interior is safe for use with foods with a high sugar content.Riveted brass handles.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
5 of 5(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Mauviel Hammered Copper Jam Pan
Review 1 for Mauviel Hammered Copper Jam Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ellendy
,Santa Cruz
,CA
Santa Cruz CA
August 3, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
An Investment, But So Worth It!!
August 3, 2013
I received this jam pan as a gift earlier this summer. I hadn't made any jams or preserves since the 70's, when I had a very minimalist batterie de cuisine. I could not believe how much hassle using a wide-mouth copper pan takes out of cooking high sugar foods. No sticking or burning! Cooking preserves quickly with less sugar allows more of the true fruit flavor to come through! I have been using Pomona Pectin to make awesome, lower sugar jams out of the summer's most perfect fruit! Also, this hammered copper pan with hefty brass handles is a thing of beauty, which adds to the joy of using it!!
Pros: Durable, Design, copper!!!
Review 2 for Mauviel Hammered Copper Jam Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChefErin
Seattle, WA
July 6, 2011
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Jam-Making Essential
July 6, 2011
This is the only pot I would use to make jams, jellies or marmalades. It has even heat distribution, the perfect surface area for adequate evaporation, and gives you a high quality product every time.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Color, Size, Shape, Design, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 3 for Mauviel Hammered Copper Jam Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Grandma805
Santa Barbara, CA
July 1, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+9points
9of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Luxury Item But Worth It
July 1, 2011
I've been making jellies, jams, and marmalades for a number of years but was never really happy with my pots, none of which were really the right shape or size. I watched a video of Rachel Saunders, of Blue Chair Jam fame, and saw that she was using large unlined copper pans. After doing some research, I decided to part with my hard-earned $$$. Am I ever glad I did. This pan is big enough that a recipe for 4 lbs. of fruit and 4 lbs. of sugar fits in in without spilling over or foaming over.
If you are seriously into jam, jelly, and marmalade making, this is the perfect tool. Go for it!
Review 4 for Mauviel Hammered Copper Jam Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dewberry
Stockbridge, GA
March 16, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+14points
14of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Just made Strawberry Jam
March 16, 2010
After having made jam in almost every kind of pan you can think of, I have finally made it the right way. No sticking, no burning and super fast heating.
This pan is an investment and well worth the price!
Review 5 for Mauviel Hammered Copper Jam Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Town of Delafield, Wisconsin
October 30, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+28points
28of 28found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The most beautiful thing in my kitchen
October 30, 2009
This pan will be my companion for as long as I'm cooking. I'll use it to make jams and jellies from my beloved fruit crops, which are grown at my own farm and gently cared-for by people I love. I chose this pan out of respect for the materials I use and I'll use only my own wonderful berries out of respect for this lovely pan. Yup, I'm nuts, but, I'm happy!