Mauviel Copper Paella Pan

Paella, the Spanish dish made with succulent seafood, savory meats and saffron-scented rice, is traditionally served straight from the pan. Our copper and stainless-steel pan is made in France and produces an exceptional infusion of flavors (one of the secrets to paella's characteristic richness and depth of flavor).Heavy-gauge 2mm copper for superior heat conductivity and temperature control.Stainless-steel interior is nonreactive and easy to clean.Deep enough to layer ingredients for cooking.Riveted bronze handles.Classic stove-to-table presentation.
Average Customer Rating:
4.143 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
6 of 7(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Mauviel Copper Paella Pan
Review 1 for Mauviel Copper Paella Pan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CookingCajun
July 27, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent for paella!
July 27, 2012
I have had this pan for more than 10 years. It was a gift after I had begun purchasing other Mauviel copper cookware pieces...thank goodness I bought my pieces when 2.5mm copper/stainless was within my means. Anyway, as another reviewer has mentioned this piece is 2mm thick, rather than 2.5mm, but given the diameter, I would hate to think what this piece in 2.5mm would weigh! Also, I find that even at 2mm the copper radiates heat much more evenly than a traditional paella pan, which is typically made from a thinner carbon steel. Also, a prepared paella is such a lovely presentation, worthy of this copper pan at tableside!
We've even placed this pan on our charcoal grill when making paella alfresco...the copper radiates this heat beautifully, too, and the favors from the touch of smoke are incomparable...worth the extra bit of time spent afterwards with Bar Keepers Friend!
Review 2 for Mauviel Copper Paella Pan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SherriB
Great Neck, NY
September 11, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
3of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good Pan for More than Just Paella
September 11, 2010
Full disclosure - I've never made paella nor do I intend to. Bought this pan because I got it for an insanely good deal - straight off the shelf, no box, some scratches, and some cruddy stuff inside and out. Cleaned it up (looks like new) and used it to fry a large batch of breaded flounder. I kinda expected all the pieces to cook evenly (isn't that what copper's for??). But even copper couldn't heat evenly when far from the heat source - this pan is very very large in diameter. I do use it as a roasting pan and for that, it works wonderfully (I find foods/veggies don't burn as easily). At 2mm, it's not considered professional quality but is, regardless, useful for more than just paella. Any discoloration from use and heat has come out very quickly and easily with a little Bar Keeper's.
Review 3 for Mauviel Copper Paella Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RegFelix
Montreal
August 8, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Paella 40cm
August 8, 2010
I purchased this Paella Pan last week in Cape Cod, I find it excellent and everything I was expecting. We have a full series of copper Mauviel pots and pans.
The wonderful thing about these is that you have to heat the pan slowly (mid temp) before starting to cook therefore when you place your ingredients, the preheated pan will cook the food evenly.
You know when the pan is ready to cook when the handles are hot.
Review 4 for Mauviel Copper Paella Pan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
oldshack
Maine
April 25, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
5of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
big pan, but expected better for the money
April 25, 2010
I was excited to get the pan, expecting great things = the great price. Unfortunately, not so. I have not seen the high quality I expected for high price
First off, the pan does not heat evenly, and while that is not unusual, I expected far better of what was supposed to be a wonderful copper pan. When cooking over low heat, there are very hot spots directly over the burners, while the other areas tend to not cook at all. 2.0mm is evidently not thick enough and there are other copper cookware pans readily available 25% thicker than that.
Also, the pan is tough to clean. It looks clean when wet, but when dried, residual stains clearly show. I have not had that problem with other copper brands that use a satin instead of shiny finish, and do not have to buy "special" cleansers for those pans.
The pan simply does not live up to the standards set by my other copper pieces and I would not recommend spending the money for this piece.
Review 5 for Mauviel Copper Paella Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sanfrannovice
San Francisco, CA
September 7, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
3of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A wonderful Paella pan
September 7, 2009
I decided to try making my first paella and bought this pan because it was the only one in the store. What good fortune! The pan is amazing, conducts heat beautifully and produced a spectacular paella. It is worth every penny and I am thrilled with it!
Review 6 for Mauviel Copper Paella Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JaneE
Oregon
May 20, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
1of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wow!
May 20, 2009
My pan arrived yesterday. I had my butcher split a whole chicken - I made sweet & sour with pineapple glaze. Unbelievable! Juicy and cooked to the bone. What a presentation for company. Look out hubby - I'm buying the entire Mauviel set. I can honestly say, cooking is at it's best with copper. The chicken browned to perfection.
Review 7 for Mauviel Copper Paella Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
attorneygirl
Sacramento, CA
February 10, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
12of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best pan we have ever used
February 10, 2009
We purchased this paella pan this past Christmas for paella. And it's fabulous. It makes great paella--its secret is that it's made of copper--which is the best heat conductor on earth. The pan is large--and so it cooks the paella all the way from the center of the pan to the outer edges. We use this pan for everything! Fish, vegetables, chicken, everything! Because it's large, it's practical. We use this all the time. My smaller All Clad pans sit in the cabinet... I am going to purchase another paella pan this year so that I'll have two going at the same time. If I had to choose one pan to cook with--it would be this one. I'm going to be purchasing other Mauviel copper pans in the future because they make cooking so much better and fun.