Mauviel Copper Fry Pans

Our heavy-gauge copper fry pan is made in the French town of Villedieu-les-Poeles, appropriately translated as the "revered city of frying pans." Favored by professional chefs, Mauviel copper pans are heat-sensitive, allowing precise timing and providing maximum control.Heavy-gauge 2mm copper for superior heat conductivity and temperature control.Stainless-steel interior is nonreactive and easy to clean.Long riveted bronze handle keeps hands well away from the heat.A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.167 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
10 of 12(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Mauviel Copper Fry Pans
Review 1 for Mauviel Copper Fry Pans
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NJGal
,Franklin Lakes
,NJ
September 2, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Make your Favorite French Dishes
September 2, 2013
Nice for browning meats and making sauces in the same pan. Heats up well and conducts heat well. Not a non-stick pan. You must season the pan with a non-stick food like butter or oil or it could be hard to clean. The copper requires maintenance but it is beautiful.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Design, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Clean, High-Maintenance
Review 2 for Mauviel Copper Fry Pans
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mpearson
,New York
,Ny
November 29, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+8points
16of 24found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Decent, but not "real" copper cookware
November 29, 2012
I was given a number of these as a wedding gift. I have always had really good copper in my kitchen and I'm afraid these just dont compare. First it's only 2mm thick and for a stainless lined pan that really does hinder control. 2mm would be fine if it was tin or sterling lined but you want between 2.5 and 3mm for stainless lining. These are fine but truth be told no pro would touch anything mauviel except for their stock pots. The pros use Matfer Bourgeat which is hands down the best copper in the world still produced. It's not often sold in consumer stores and it cost a bit more, but it will make you understand how amazing real copper cookware is. Oh and real copper has cast iron handles that take far longer to heat up.
Cons: Quality, adapted for the home cook at the expense everythin
Review 3 for Mauviel Copper Fry Pans
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MJROFL
October 3, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Best Pan, Hands Down!
October 3, 2012
I always heard copper was the best, and Mauviel proves it. The heat distribution is amazing! I read the instructions that came with it, and really have never had to turn my electric stovetop past a 4 or 5 to cook anything - high heat becomes irrelevant with such superior cookware.
We bought this with giftcards we got for our wedding and I'm SO glad we did. It's a dream to use!
It is heavy but I don't mind. It's worth it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Design
Cons: Weight
Review 4 for Mauviel Copper Fry Pans
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ellabee
August 24, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
4of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
9.5" pan: nice, but weighs 13 oz more
August 24, 2011
This pan is described as weighing 2 lb, 10 oz. In fact, it weights 3 lb, 7 oz.
It's a great pan, versatile, and durable. But it weighs significantly more than the W-S specifications say.
Review 5 for Mauviel Copper Fry Pans
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Internationalcook
Chicago IL, Paris France
July 31, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
8of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Professional grade pans
July 31, 2010
These are wonderful, made to last pans. Of course the handles can get hot - they are meant to go from stove top to oven and vice versa. That is why cooks love them, they are a multi-purpose one cook pan. They also last forever. After cooking with them many times they still retain their beauty and high polish finish.
You can buy pot handles( silicone) that slip right on over the handle & can stay on for the duration of your cooking if you just intend to use them for the stove top only.
The construction, core, heat displacement and cooking control of these pans are what make them superior.
Any serious cook will be thrilled with this cookware! Highly recommend!
Review 6 for Mauviel Copper Fry Pans
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
CSchoenberg
Boxford, MA
January 21, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+15points
19of 23found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Heat-conducting handle
January 21, 2010
First review... Have a number of Mauviel copper pans and pots. I have been extremely satisfied with Mauviel UNTIL I received the 7 and 9½" frying pans. Yes, sure, it's nice that they do not use tin ling but the handles are disasters. The "long riveted bronze handle" may keep your hands away from the heat, but the bronze in the handle conducts heat almost as well as copper (since bronze consists mainly of copper, if I'm not mistaken) and this results in an incredibly HOT handle. The other Mauviel pots I have seem to have cast-iron handles, and remain fairly cool. Disappointing. Just my two cents...
Review 7 for Mauviel Copper Fry Pans
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tamitee1
Kosciusko, MS
July 10, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
-4points
0of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love the Mauviel copper
July 10, 2009
Great fry pan! I love to cook and wanted to start collecting the Mauviel copper cookware.
Williams-Sonoma has a good selection and price. The delivery was very fast!
Highly recommend this store.
Review 8 for Mauviel Copper Fry Pans
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
GuitarGuy
Houston, TX
May 8, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
7of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Mostly good
May 8, 2009
I bought this in an 8-piece set. My only problem with these copper items is that if you do not dry the exterior immediately after washing they will develop ugly, black spots as the water dries. While most of these spots come off with copper cleaner, they will never return to the original state, even using CopperBrill. That being said, copper is the best for quick heating and cooling and the stainless steel interior is much easier to maintain than traditional tinned copper pots (I have one of these as well). Be sure to add salt with the food or as the water boils or you risk pitting the interior if salt sits on the botom of the pot while cooking.
Review 9 for Mauviel Copper Fry Pans
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MSPcook
Minneapolis, MN
April 17, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A fantastic fry pan
April 17, 2009
I used my American Express Rewards points to purchase the 11" pan after becoming impressed with an old copper sauce pan I inherited. The Mauviel pan heats and cools quickly and evenly, and I like that it can go from stovetop to oven and back. I have cooked fish, vegetables and meat in this pan and am thrilled every time. My only complaint is that I haven't figured out how to cook eggs in it without major sticking and mess. Nevertheless, I love this pan more every time I use it, and it looks so beautiful I leave it out to see. I plan to buy more Mauviel cookware in the future.
Review 10 for Mauviel Copper Fry Pans
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
suze7
Arkansas
October 24, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
fantastic fry pan
October 24, 2008
I just bought the 11" Mauviel copper fry pan and tested it out on my electric cooktop.
This pan heats up so much faster than my AllClad LTD fry pan or my Caphalon nonstick pan. The difference is quite noticeable. It also cooks alot faster (I tried it out by frying an egg). The egg cooked in the AllClad would take a while to cook and it would stick to the pan. In the Mauviel it cooked very fast and evenly, didn't burn and didn't stick. Mauviel is expensive, but well worth it. I was skeptical at first, but after using it I'm sold!
Review 11 for Mauviel Copper Fry Pans
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
mld27
danvers, ma
October 20, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
high maintenance
October 20, 2008
i find this pan to heat up very quickly and is great for searing. i find it hard to keep shiny and spotless. my set is all clad copper core and i find it to work as well and easier to clean.
Review 12 for Mauviel Copper Fry Pans
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CEJB
Georgia
October 3, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The best for meat
October 3, 2008
I absolutely love these pans. I have both the small and the larger one. I use it for filet mignon, salmon, sautéing veggies, stir fry and so much more. I can brown my steak on the stove, and then put it right in the oven using the same pan to melt the goat cheese. I love how they can go from stove top to oven. It's wonderful. The temperature of the pans are great. When you take it off the heat, everything stops cooking, unlike my other set of cookware. Perfect in every way.