Marseille Tablecloth

Colorful table linens like these have adorned Provencal kitchens since the 18th century, when merchant ships arrived in Marseille with intricately painted textiles from India. Our hand-screened cotton linens are great for mixing or matching. Each rich, mellow color features its own signature pattern that coordinates beautifully with the rest of the collection. Machine-wash. Imported. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.624 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(109 Reviews) 109
101 of 109(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Marseille Tablecloth
Review 1 for Marseille Tablecloth
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
SuzieQ21
,Orlando
,FL
October 30, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not like the Photo
October 30, 2013
I purchased the Marseille Tablecloth in Khaki - what a disappointment! The photo online shows an attractive print with what looks like a largely white background, Khaki and red main design with a nice Khaki border. What I received was a mostly Khaki tablecloth with hints of red and white. The design did not even resemble the one depicted in the online photo. I'm returning it immediately!
Cons: Design, not true to photo
Review 2 for Marseille Tablecloth
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ducks
,Hilton head
,Sc
September 15, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Favorite french tablecloth
September 15, 2013
Looks great. Rich color, great design. Washed it immediately - did not shrink - hung slightly damp and needed no ironing!
Printed french 90" round tablecloths are so hard to find. I hope you will stock many more like this in the future.
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Color, Size, Appearance, Weight
Review 3 for Marseille Tablecloth
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
MoMoPtR
,Point Richmond
,CA
July 27, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Shrinks when washed!
July 27, 2013
I washed the tablecloth and place mats in the hand-wash cycle & used the hand-wash setting in the dryer and they both faded some and shrank! I was so shocked and disappointed. I will keep them but I don't have high hopes they'll last long. My other W-S tablecloth (boutis) has literally lasted me 10 yrs & I use it often so I was surprised that the quality was so off with this one.
Pros: Good for Entertaining, Color
Cons: Not Durable, shrinks!
Review 4 for Marseille Tablecloth
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ShirleyZ
,Riverton
,Ut
July 22, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tablecloth
July 22, 2013
Concerned about the odor from this Tablecloth. Washed it, but still a slight odor. I have bought a lot of tablecloths from WS, not one of my favs.
Cons: Quality, Weight
Review 5 for Marseille Tablecloth
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
arubagirl
,Melrose
,MA
July 8, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love it, but it didn't fit
July 8, 2013
I absolutely loved this tablecloth, but 70" wide was too wide for my table which is quite a wide table. Unfortunately, all these tablecloths are the same width. Another person I met in the store said that she had the same problem. It would be great if they could make one 60" wide.
Pros: Quality, Color, Appearance, Design
Cons: Size
Review 6 for Marseille Tablecloth
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MailorderCustomer
,Whitefish Bay
,WI
March 25, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great tablecloth/great service
March 25, 2013
The tablecloth, napkins and placements are excellent purchases. Tablecloth drapes nicely and the colors are vibrant. I washed the tablecloth and napkins in cool water and on a low dryer setting. There was no shrinkage. Very pleased with the purchase.
I was very happy with customer service also. Due to an oversight on my part I did not insert the proper code for free delivery of the order. Even after the order was processed, the customer service rep. credited the delivery charges. The credit showed up in my account three days later.
I would have purchased the runner in the same pattern but with only one length offered, it was way too long for my table. Any reason why the runners are not offered in shorter lenghts?
Review 7 for Marseille Tablecloth
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chowder
,Albemarle
,NC
March 19, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful tablecloth
March 19, 2013
I love the tablecloth and the matching napkins. Looks great!
Review 8 for Marseille Tablecloth
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
NTTL
,Chattanooga
,TN
January 16, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+8points
9of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointing Quality
January 16, 2013
We loved the design and colors of this tablecloth from the online pictures but when it finally came, we were extremely disappointed. The fabric is very thin and feels very cheap. I guess that's why the price seemed great... Needless to say, we will be returning this.
Review 9 for Marseille Tablecloth
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spaingirl
,Saint Louis
,MO
November 6, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
light and bright
November 6, 2012
I used the blue tablecloth on my extra wide dining table. Good for informal occasions, in this case I had a lunch, and paired up with my white and blue china it made for a very festive tabletop. In fact, I am going to purchase one in a few minutes for the holiday season. Great job
Review 10 for Marseille Tablecloth
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
funmom2two
,Deep South
August 15, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful!
August 15, 2012
Beautifully detailed pattern. All cotton, so it will wrinkle. Pull out of the dryer when hot and put directly on table or fold neatly to avoid wrinkles. Lovely colors and generous overhang. The only fabric tablecloths I buy are W-S.
Review 11 for Marseille Tablecloth
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LemonLimeChicago
Chicago, IL
April 3, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Cute and good quality
April 3, 2012
Looks great on my table. Doesn't feel cheesy or tacky as many tablecloths do. Looks tasteful. I hope it washes well!
Pros: Texture, Quality, Design
Review 12 for Marseille Tablecloth
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RosanaDana
,Charleston
,SC
January 1, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
7of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Provencal Pattern Tablecloth
January 1, 2012
Bought as a gift for my daughter who has a new table & loves Provencal patterns. She has sterling silverware but her china is dishwasher-safe white porcelain from France so the dijon colorway creates a perfect transition between formal & informal. After searching many cloths with similar Provencal patterns online, the Williams-Sonoma Marseille was the ONLY one I found with a 70" width. My daughter's antique table is an odd size & the proportions work best with 70 inches, rather than the usual 60"-65" width.
My daughter was so pleased with the quality, pattern & fit of this tablecloth that I gave one in the navy colorway to my son who has recently purchased an oriental rug in blue shades for his Great Room. It's also practical with 3 young children.
Pros: Quality, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design
Review 13 for Marseille Tablecloth
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SusanVaca
,Vacaville
,CA
November 25, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
1of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
How do they do it?
November 25, 2011
This is the perfect 90" round, bordered tablecloth. No seams! How do they do it? The price is great and the look is wonderful for home decor. I'll definitely buy more. What a winner.
Pros: Durable, Texture, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Strength, Versatile, Design, Weight, pretty
Review 14 for Marseille Tablecloth
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CONSTAR
,Bozeman
,MT
November 15, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
What a great find!
November 15, 2011
I was so pleased to find tablecloths to fit my antique 70" square table...not an easy feat I've discovered. These tablecloths are durable, have lovely patterns and wash up really well. I have bought 3 of the 4 patterns and plan on purchasing the 4th one as well. Additionally, I bought the seat covers and napkins and have been impressed with those as well.
My only request is to have more tablecloths available in the 70" square size!
Pros: Durable, Texture, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Design, Weight
Review 15 for Marseille Tablecloth
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
AnnC
,Northern Virginia
Northern Virginia, USA
October 20, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nice tablecloth, but not a good color for me
October 20, 2011
This is a lovely, good quality tablecloth if you're looking for something in very soft tones. I didn't know when I ordered this (but I do now!) that I really prefer the darker or brighter colors and bolder prints. Sure surprised me when I put this nice cloth on my table - it looked washed out to me! (So did the other lovely-but soft-toned cloth I ordered.) Could be from months and years of "wearing" brighter prints. Whatever, I had to regretfully return them. I do know from similar cloths in this line that they should wash okay - if you treat them like your most delicate lingerie, and wash each alone (or with matching napkins) - gentlest cycle, mild detergent, etc. Good substantial-feeling fabric, drapes nicely over sides of table. Pretty, classic design.
Pros: Texture, Quality, Easy to Store, Design, Weight, drapes nicely
Cons: Difficult to Clean, too pale-colored for my taste
Review 16 for Marseille Tablecloth
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
domina
,fl
October 20, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
lovely color and style,but it bled
October 20, 2011
I loved the color and pattern when i bought it. I washed and rinsed the table cloth in cold water with other kitchen cotton items and the orange-brick color is all over on those items. I truly did not expect this situation with wm-sonoma merchandises.
Anyone knows how to remove the color-bled?
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
lizg789
WA
Posted November 2, 2011
Removing color-bleed
I've had really good luck with oxygen bleach when this happens. (I use Oxi-clean.) Dissolve at least one or two full scoops in the hottest tapwater, preferably in the machine set to the smallest load because you can agitate it to be sure it's thoroughly dissolved. After it's dissolved, add your detergent, then fill the machine so the water temperature is no more than lukewarm. You can let let it sit until it *is* lukewarm if you have to. Then, put in the laundry and agitate it until it's thoroughly mixed in. Let it soak, at least overnight and even more is better. Agitate it a couple of times while it's soaking. Then, spin dry and wash as usual.
Next time you get something cotton or linen with deep, bright colors try washing it by itself with a cup of salt dissolved in the water. Salt is a mordant and may fix the color more thoroughly depending on the dye.
As you may have guessed, my kids and DH often help by doing the laundry... and I don't want to discourage them. <g>
+2points
2of 2found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Marseille Tablecloth
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MsValerie
,Fredericksburg
,VA
September 21, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy Maintenance
September 21, 2011
This is the second tablecloth I've purchased in this fabric. It launders beautifully and doesn't require heavy duty ironing. Just a light touch up. After many washings, it looks as beautiful as the first time I put it on my table. I love that the colors coordinate with the table runner. Also, it's hard to find khaki color linens, so thanks to WS buyers! And as always purchasing on the WS website is sooo convenient.
Pros: Durable, Texture, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Design
Review 18 for Marseille Tablecloth
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bluemuffin58
,Panama City
,FL
September 18, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful tablecloth
September 18, 2011
I had searched the internet for a 72x72 tableloth. This one is exactly what I was looking for. I am sure I will enjoy it for years to come.
Pros: Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Design
Review 19 for Marseille Tablecloth
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MaryWinDenver
,Denver
,CO
September 12, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A bit of France in Denver
September 12, 2011
I bought this for a backyard party and it was exactly perfect, as I knew it would be. Over the years I have purchased a number of cotton printed tablecloths from Wm-Sonoma and they are all still in use. A bit faded, but they wash up well and continue to provide a bit of Provence in Denver.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Design
Review 20 for Marseille Tablecloth
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kwalker
,Mount Vernon
,IN
September 12, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect Size
September 12, 2011
I was having problems finding a tablecloth to fit my pub size table when I came across this one on the internet. The color and print are beautiful, it's well made and fits my table perfectly! Highly recommend!
Pros: Texture, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Design
page1 2 3 4 5 6 next