Marseille Place Mats, Set of 4

Colorful table linens like these have adorned Provencal kitchens since the 18th century, when merchant ships arrived in Marseille with intricately painted textiles from India. Our hand-screened cotton linens are great for mixing or matching. Each rich, mellow color features its own signature pattern that coordinates beautifully with the rest of the collection. The reversible chair pads have removable covers. Machine-wash. 14" x 20". Imported. Set of four. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
6 of 6(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Marseille Place Mats, Set of 4
Review 1 for Marseille Place Mats, Set of 4
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,Asheville
,NC
July 7, 2015
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very nice quality...but those tags!
July 7, 2015
These appear very well constructed (I purchased one set of four place mats in color Khaki). Before washing, they are quite generous in size, measuring between 1/8" and 5/8" wider or longer than the stated 14" x 20" dimensions. After one hot-water washing and high-heat drying (I wanted them to shrink a bit), all four shrank to measure on average 13 1/8" x 19 1/2" -- still ample. They look great after washing and drying, but to prevent further shrinking I will lay flat to air dry in the future. The tags on the reverse are ridiculously huge and sewn into the binding, preventing use on both sides (see photo). It was rather annoying and tedious, but I was able to cut them off without damaging the mats. I think these will hold up very well over time. I'm rating at four stars due to tag issue.
Pros: Appearance, Quality, Size, Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 2 for Marseille Place Mats, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,New Hyde Park
,NY
June 13, 2015
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wow...It's a Beauty!
June 13, 2015
After purchasing my first William- Sonoma tablecloth in the Ginger Jar pattern, I was so impressed that I decided I would not buy any table linens from any other source. The Marseille Place Mats did not disappoint ! They are hand screened following centuries old technique, as stated in the packaging, and look like a work of art. (a very practical one too) I purchased the navy pattern and it is gorgeous! The thickness of the quilt is just right, and I love the rounded corners, which is hard to find anywhere but makes it look more elegant, refined. I will be purchasing more in the future. Thanks, Williams-Sonoma!
Pros: Versatile, Appearance, Quality, Size, Weight, Design, Color
Review 3 for Marseille Place Mats, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Pflugerville
,TX
January 24, 2015
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful Placemats!
January 24, 2015
The quality and workmanship of these place mats is stunning!! I absolutely love them!
Pros: Durable, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Balance, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Appearance, Design, Weight
Review 4 for Marseille Place Mats, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Orange County
,Ca
January 2, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+11points
11of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great place mats, but do not put in dryer
January 2, 2014
I purchased 2 sets of the khaki colored mats so I would not have to worry about fading. I have had them for 2 years and they have held up great and have not faded. They will shrink if put in the dryer. I take them out of the wash, hand block, and air dry.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Weight
Cons: cannot put in dryer
Review 5 for Marseille Place Mats, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Granada Hills
,CA
August 26, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
-9points
6of 21found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Mats Amore
August 26, 2013
The place mats stayed in place. Not once did they get up and run around the dining room. If they had done that they wouldn't have been place mats, would they? They'ld have been pace mats. Well, mats about it.
Review 6 for Marseille Place Mats, Set of 4
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Pittsburgh
,PA
December 5, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
6of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Bright and Colorful
December 5, 2012
I love the quilted placemats for my slate inlaid dining table. They pad the dishes and brighten the surface of the table. These will grace my Christmas table when not in use in conjunction with a red boutis cloth. I love how the WS products have coordinating and collaborating colors.