Marisol Dinnerware Place Setting

Hand painted by artists in Sicily, these dishes are decorated in the sun-drenched colors of the Mediterranean. The pattern varies among the different pieces, creating a collection of unique designs that blend with one another. Made of earthenware, the dinnerware is extremely durable and is oven, dishwasher and microwave safe. A place setting includes an 11 1/4" dinner plate, 9 3/4" salad plate, 9 1/2" soup/pasta bowl, 12-oz. cup and 7" saucer. 20-piece set, four 5-piece place settings. Made in Italy. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.643 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
12 of 14(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Marisol Dinnerware Place Setting
Review 1 for Marisol Dinnerware Place Setting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
KBCPA
April 23, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
not good in microwave
April 23, 2013
We selected these plates to replace our everyday dinnerware. Very pretty design, but I wish I knew how hot they get when putting in the microwave for even 30 seconds.
Review 2 for Marisol Dinnerware Place Setting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DeFan
April 27, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very Durable
April 27, 2012
I've had my W/S Marisol dinnerware for 19 years and use these as everyday dishes. Just a few have chipped and although a couple of the plates have broken, thats over a 19 year period, including raising 2 children. These have held up amazingly well over that time and I'm so happy William's Sonoma brought them back so I can order replacements. I have found that the white portion has become a bit marked up over that time, but a small amount of polishing compound cleans them right up. The pattern on some of the pieces has changed a bit, but this pattern will mix/match well with what I already have
Review 3 for Marisol Dinnerware Place Setting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RRANDBR
,New York
,NY
November 14, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Even better than the picture!
November 14, 2011
We tried to find these dishes at a local WS store so we could see them before buying, but we were told that they are an on-line only product. So we took our chances, and we're very pleased. The dishes are even lovelier than the pictures. We haven't had a chance to use them yet so can't comment on durability, but they are certainly beautiful.
Pros: Quality, Color, Design
Review 4 for Marisol Dinnerware Place Setting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cwlodek
,Lockport
,IL
October 10, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Sunny Touch from Italy!
October 10, 2011
I looked high and low for my next new set of dinnerware and I finally found it at WS! The handpainting is cheerful and has all the right colors I was looking for. The dinner plates are large and have a good weight to them. I just love the soup bowls! They have a good depth to them! The cups are larger in size than I had imagined. They almost resemble a small bowl. But, I love that I can wrap both my hands around it. I truely recommend this dish set to anyone who is looking for something different. My lovely Marisol dinnerware brings happiness, joy and a piece of Italian art to my kitchen!
Pros: Durable, Texture, Personalization, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 5 for Marisol Dinnerware Place Setting
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
towtrip
St. Louis, MO
June 7, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Attractive, but not durable
June 7, 2011
I love the look of my dinnerware, but have had several of the plates simply break in two when hot food was placed on them. This isn't abnormal thermal shock -- the plates were at room temperature and the food was being served to eat. I agree with another reviewer about chipping -- I have very few chips in mine (and I've had them about 8 years), but they simply break.
Pros: Size, Design
Cons: Not Durable, Weight
Review 6 for Marisol Dinnerware Place Setting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
busybees
Washington state
April 14, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
best dishes ever
April 14, 2011
I bought the full 8 place settings over 9 years ago and have had only 2 chips thus far. They are sturdy, beautiful and by far my favorite dishes ever purchased.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Strength, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 7 for Marisol Dinnerware Place Setting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
coloradomaggie
Denver, CO
January 29, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
great dishes
January 29, 2011
terrific dishes - they are pretty, study, and they clean well. we love them.
Review 8 for Marisol Dinnerware Place Setting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rothfail
South Florida
January 1, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Quality set.
January 1, 2011
Gave this set as a gift and they were perfect. Very nice quality and the painting was bright and colorful. Plates are nicely weighted and they feel good to handle not rough or uneven as other hand painted plates of less quality tend to be.
Review 9 for Marisol Dinnerware Place Setting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
newname
December 29, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Marisol Dinnerware and Serving pieces
December 29, 2010
I received my dinnerware and several serving pieces over ten years ago. In that time I've only had chips on two cereal bowls and no breakage. I use these daily, wash them in the dishwasher and the only additions I needed to make was buying the coffee mugs as I prefer them to the cups that came with the place settings. I've never found another pattern that I'd rather have. Best!
Review 10 for Marisol Dinnerware Place Setting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ablair
San Diego
June 27, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent every day china
June 27, 2010
I purchase this wonderful pattern about 5 years ago, and I was surprised to see it still available. Its a lively finish, and not any two are exactly the same as they are hand painted. Not one chip after 5 years of daily use. Highly recommended!
Review 11 for Marisol Dinnerware Place Setting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Sandwich, Ma.
June 10, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My newest dinnerware
June 10, 2010
I had my kitchen re-done about two years ago and have been looking for new dinnerware since that time. The walls in my kitchen are a dark moss green so the Marisol dinnerware was the perfect choice. I like the size of the plates, the soup bowl can also be used as a individual pasta bowl but wish that the set came with coffee mugs instead of the cups and saucers. Although I admit that the cups are a great size. I am totally thrilled with my new plates and they compliment my kitchen beautifully.
Review 12 for Marisol Dinnerware Place Setting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
karphl
Red River, NM
May 25, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
love these dishes!
May 25, 2010
These dishes are wonderful! The dishes are very sturdy and do not scratch. I love the colors and the quality. Great everyday dishes for the family. Highly recommend!
Review 13 for Marisol Dinnerware Place Setting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FLmomof2
Florida
May 23, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great everyday dishes!
May 23, 2010
Love these - Got them for our wedding and still love them after several years of everyday use. Very sturdy, resist breaking more than other dishes I've had (I'm a bit rough and clumsy). Look beautiful and brigthen up our table. Would pick these again today.
Review 14 for Marisol Dinnerware Place Setting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous
San Diego CA
February 3, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Dinnerware!
February 3, 2010
I actually purchased my dinnerware from the factory in Patti while I was visiting Scicily 5 years ago. They shipped over with no breakage. I always put them in the dishwasher and they still look like I just bought them. Plates and bowls are very sturdy. I did not get the coffee cups but the MUG. My husband likes that you actually get a cup of coffee out of them. Only thing is when you microwave the cups the handles get very hot, so I'd advise to use caution if you're heating a beverage up in them.
Absolutely love my dinnerware set and would recommend them.