Marble Mortar & Pestle

Indispensable for crushing herbs and spices to release their full flavors, this tool is the best choice for pounding an authentic pesto sauce. Heavy mortar is carved in Italy of fine Carrara marble. Four integral handles. Beechwood pestle. Deep sides keep food in bowl. Rough interior surface of bowl helps grind ingredients.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
4 of 4(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Marble Mortar & Pestle
Review 1 for Marble Mortar & Pestle
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jemari
,ME
February 4, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+13points
13of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
WS: larger sizes please!
February 4, 2013
This is an amazing design. The steep taper makes the mortar work for small or large batches. There is no need for a set of graduated sizes/smaller bowls.
Now imagine the smallest size you would want for a mixing bowl for pressing/crushing ingredients with the strengths of your whole arm... Unfortunately, only tiny apothecary sizes like this are imported to the states.
After seeing gorgeous large versions of these in several cookbooks and cooking shows, I saw large versions of these in markets in Argentina (a lucky coincidence... I am not broadly traveled). I decided against buying them because I didn't think they would fit in my suitcase. Now, I am wishing I were back in Buenos Aires, because NOBODY is willing to import these to the states. Everything is a miniature size for a pharmacist (6-7" or less). I am lusting after a true large size mortar. Please come through for us Williams Sonoma! Stop Americanizing the quality cooking products!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Design, beautiful timeless
Cons: Size, not versatile for cost
Review 2 for Marble Mortar & Pestle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
upscalebohemian
,San Francisco
,CA
August 10, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Timeless Classic
August 10, 2012
This beauty performs perfectly. To the person who said the bottom should be polished to avoid scratching, most books recommend setting this on a kitchen towel before starting to use, and you can always buy stick-on felt feet at any Michael's store for next to nothing.
I just wish Williams Sonoma would offer the bigger sizes (this company makes several sizes, and a big one is used in Italy for big batches of pesto [and yes, it will be heavy]).
The other thing I'd like to see is replacement wooden pestles made available for sale, as the mortar will last forever but the pestle will need replacing at some point.
This is a beauty and a classic perfect for most every use.
Review 3 for Marble Mortar & Pestle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
brunetto
,flushing
,NY
May 31, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+16points
16of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It is the real thing
May 31, 2012
I was born and raised in the province of Genoa where pesto and salsa di noci is the norm and this pesto mortar is the only one that it has been used for centuries .
The wight is necessary to stabilize the work .
As soon that you take it home,wash it with soap and water; this will be the last time that
this mortar will touch soap; than apply a thin coat of olive oil. Then always clean with towel paper and always reapply olive oil. The same with the pestlet.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 4 for Marble Mortar & Pestle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jackkie
Texas
May 2, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Worth Every Penny
May 2, 2012
This is the best mortar and pestle I've ever used. It is so much more efficient than the old ones I threw out. I oiled the pestle like another reviewer suggested and it's now smooth and doesn't absorb odors or color from what it grinds. It's a little more expensive than others but it is so much better, its worth it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Design, Weight