Marble Mortar & Pestle

Indispensable for crushing herbs and spices to release their full flavors, this tool is the best choice for pounding an authentic pesto sauce. Heavy mortar is carved in Italy of fine Carrara marble. Four integral handles. Beechwood pestle. Deep sides keep food in bowl. Rough interior surface of bowl helps grind ingredients.
Average Customer Rating:
4.2 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
4 of 5(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Marble Mortar & Pestle
Review 1 for Marble Mortar & Pestle
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
WTXcook
,Midland
,TX
August 23, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
-3points
0of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Marble Mortar & Pestle
August 23, 2014
I returned this item. It is too large and too heavy for my needs. It is very pretty but cumbersome.
Pros: decorative
Cons: Difficult to Use, Weight, Difficult to Store, Size
Review 2 for Marble Mortar & Pestle
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jemari
,ME
February 4, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+13points
14of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
WS: larger sizes please!
February 4, 2013
This is an amazing design. The steep taper makes the mortar work for small or large batches. There is no need for a set of graduated sizes/smaller bowls.
Now imagine the smallest size you would want for a mixing bowl for pressing/crushing ingredients with the strengths of your whole arm... Unfortunately, only tiny apothecary sizes like this are imported to the states.
After seeing gorgeous large versions of these in several cookbooks and cooking shows, I saw large versions of these in markets in Argentina (a lucky coincidence... I am not broadly traveled). I decided against buying them because I didn't think they would fit in my suitcase. Now, I am wishing I were back in Buenos Aires, because NOBODY is willing to import these to the states. Everything is a miniature size for a pharmacist (6-7" or less). I am lusting after a true large size mortar. Please come through for us Williams Sonoma! Stop Americanizing the quality cooking products!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Design, beautiful timeless
Cons: Size, not versatile for cost
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
upscalebohemian
San Francisco, CA
Posted November 21, 2014
Top 50 Contributor
Size
This is actually a great size for everyday use. Alice Waters uses this same mortar (with a pestle from a molcajete), and I've adopted her way of making vinaigrette which is to add the garlic cloves and some coarse salt to THIS mortar, crush it into a paste, and then make the vinaigrette right in the mortar bowl. Not only does it taste good but it doesn't separate.
I tracked down the manufacturer of this mortar and did buy their larger size for making pesto (search the Net for "Mortaio Marsigliese"), but this one is one I use several times a week.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Marble Mortar & Pestle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
upscalebohemian
,San Francisco
,CA
August 10, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+11points
11of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Timeless Classic
August 10, 2012
This beauty performs perfectly. To the person who said the bottom should be polished to avoid scratching, most books recommend setting this on a kitchen towel before starting to use, and you can always buy stick-on felt feet at any Michael's store for next to nothing.
I just wish Williams Sonoma would offer the bigger sizes (this company makes several sizes, and a big one is used in Italy for big batches of pesto [and yes, it will be heavy]).
The other thing I'd like to see is replacement wooden pestles made available for sale, as the mortar will last forever but the pestle will need replacing at some point.
This is a beauty and a classic perfect for most every use.
Review 4 for Marble Mortar & Pestle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
brunetto
,flushing
,NY
May 31, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+18points
18of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It is the real thing
May 31, 2012
I was born and raised in the province of Genoa where pesto and salsa di noci is the norm and this pesto mortar is the only one that it has been used for centuries .
The wight is necessary to stabilize the work .
As soon that you take it home,wash it with soap and water; this will be the last time that
this mortar will touch soap; than apply a thin coat of olive oil. Then always clean with towel paper and always reapply olive oil. The same with the pestlet.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 5 for Marble Mortar & Pestle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jackkie
Texas
May 2, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Worth Every Penny
May 2, 2012
This is the best mortar and pestle I've ever used. It is so much more efficient than the old ones I threw out. I oiled the pestle like another reviewer suggested and it's now smooth and doesn't absorb odors or color from what it grinds. It's a little more expensive than others but it is so much better, its worth it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Design, Weight