Marble Mortar & Pestle

Indispensable for crushing herbs and spices to release their full flavors, this tool is the best choice for pounding an authentic pesto sauce. Heavy mortar is carved in Italy of fine Carrara marble. Four integral handles. Beechwood pestle. Deep sides keep food in bowl. Rough interior surface of bowl helps grind ingredients.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
12 of 12(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Marble Mortar & Pestle
Review 1 for Marble Mortar & Pestle
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jemari
,ME
February 4, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+9points
9of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
WS: larger sizes please!
February 4, 2013
This is an amazing design. The steep taper makes the mortar work for small or large batches. There is no need for a set of graduated sizes/smaller bowls.
Now imagine the smallest size you would want for a mixing bowl for pressing/crushing ingredients with the strengths of your whole arm... Unfortunately, only tiny apothecary sizes like this are imported to the states.
After seeing gorgeous large versions of these in several cookbooks and cooking shows, I saw large versions of these in markets in Argentina (a lucky coincidence... I am not broadly traveled). I decided against buying them because I didn't think they would fit in my suitcase. Now, I am wishing I were back in Buenos Aires, because NOBODY is willing to import these to the states. Everything is a miniature size for a pharmacist (6-7" or less). I am lusting after a true large size mortar. Please come through for us Williams Sonoma! Stop Americanizing the quality cooking products!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Design, beautiful timeless
Cons: Size, not versatile for cost
Review 2 for Marble Mortar & Pestle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
upscalebohemian
,San Francisco
,CA
August 10, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Timeless Classic
August 10, 2012
This beauty performs perfectly. To the person who said the bottom should be polished to avoid scratching, most books recommend setting this on a kitchen towel before starting to use, and you can always buy stick-on felt feet at any Michael's store for next to nothing.
I just wish Williams Sonoma would offer the bigger sizes (this company makes several sizes, and a big one is used in Italy for big batches of pesto [and yes, it will be heavy]).
The other thing I'd like to see is replacement wooden pestles made available for sale, as the mortar will last forever but the pestle will need replacing at some point.
This is a beauty and a classic perfect for most every use.
Review 3 for Marble Mortar & Pestle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
brunetto
,flushing
,NY
May 31, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+14points
14of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It is the real thing
May 31, 2012
I was born and raised in the province of Genoa where pesto and salsa di noci is the norm and this pesto mortar is the only one that it has been used for centuries .
The wight is necessary to stabilize the work .
As soon that you take it home,wash it with soap and water; this will be the last time that
this mortar will touch soap; than apply a thin coat of olive oil. Then always clean with towel paper and always reapply olive oil. The same with the pestlet.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 4 for Marble Mortar & Pestle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jackkie
Texas
May 2, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Worth Every Penny
May 2, 2012
This is the best mortar and pestle I've ever used. It is so much more efficient than the old ones I threw out. I oiled the pestle like another reviewer suggested and it's now smooth and doesn't absorb odors or color from what it grinds. It's a little more expensive than others but it is so much better, its worth it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Design, Weight
Review 5 for Marble Mortar & Pestle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MsPhyto
La Verne, CA
August 4, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
3of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect Size!
August 4, 2010
I've wanted a mortar and pestle for sometime. But most are small and didn't seem to be worth the money. Then I saw this one and after reading all the great reviews - I decided to try it.
The size is great for all my needs. I couldn't be happier!
Review 6 for Marble Mortar & Pestle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
IL
June 2, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-11points
0of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for grinding herbs.
June 2, 2010
This was a gift. So I can only go by what the gift recipient said. "We love it, it's perfect. Thanks".
Review 7 for Marble Mortar & Pestle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
artistfran
Ashburn, VA
March 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Lovely marble mortar and pestle
March 30, 2010
I enjoy knowing that the marble for my mortar and pestle is from the same area that Michaelangelo got the stone for his sculptures. I'm an artist so this connection makes this item more meaningful. It also works great and is very handsome sitting on my kitchen island.
Review 8 for Marble Mortar & Pestle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sarah668
Madison, WI
January 13, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+10points
11of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Worth the extra money
January 13, 2010
Okay, call me crazy, but this marble mortar is worth its weight in gold. I've been looking around for years trying to find the perfect mortar and pestle and finally found it. It's heavy, but you want that in a mortar and the pestle, at first I was leary of using a wooden pestle, but it makes all the difference. This set works wonderfully together - I've never had a pestle that fit so comfortably in my hand. The depth of the mortar is perfect. As soon as I got home with this I put little rubber feet on the bottom of the marble mortar so it wouldn't scratch my counters as other's have noted and rubbed mineral oil all over the handle. I've found my mortar and pestle for life. Highly recommend - one of my favorite kitchen tools.
Review 9 for Marble Mortar & Pestle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Keith
Dallas
February 7, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I Can Not Believe I Waited So Long to Get This
February 7, 2009
This Mortar & Pestle is great. It really grinds the herbs fine. It does it qucikly and cleeanly. Also I like the fact that it is made in Italy.
Review 10 for Marble Mortar & Pestle
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ChefALB
Baltimore, MD
December 20, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great!
December 20, 2008
This mortar and pestle makes crushing and grinding effortless. Only drawbacks are that it's very heavy and does not have a polished bottom, which makes it more likely to scratch whatever it's sitting on.
Review 11 for Marble Mortar & Pestle
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
rdiana
Boise, ID
October 29, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
-10points
0of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Great Gift
October 29, 2008
It loses a star because it is so heavy. I have plans to send it to others. People love it.
Review 12 for Marble Mortar & Pestle
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous
Beverly Hills, CA
September 4, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Heavy but lovely!
September 4, 2008
Though you have to be careful when/if moving this mortal & pestle around the kitchen, it works like a charm every time.
Because the mortar is marble, it cleans very easily... but the wooden pestle can hold onto the odor & color of several seeds/herbs. I'd recommend it.