Maple Salt Box

Crafted in the USA from North American maple, this handsome box is just the thing for keeping up to 1/2 cup of salt or herbs on the countertop so you can grab a pinch while cooking. Its magnetic lid swivels open for easy one-handed access.Keeps salt, spices or dried herbs at your fingertips.Made from North American maple.Hand sanded and oiled to highlight and preserve the beauty of the wood.Compact for easy placement beside the stove or on the prep counter.Swiveling lid provides easy one-handed access.Magnetic latch.
Average Customer Rating:
3.879 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(58 Reviews) 58
42 of 58(72%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Maple Salt Box
Review 1 for Maple Salt Box
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
greencook
,Chicago
,IL
November 5, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
pretty and useful
November 5, 2013
I picked this salt box for its look, wood and where its made. It is a bit small and lightweight so if you have medium to larger hands, I recommend a larger box.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Design
Cons: Size
Review 2 for Maple Salt Box
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
TxGmom
,Arlington
,Tx
February 3, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
3of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointed
February 3, 2013
I guess it's my own fault for talking myself into the Maple versus the Olive wood salt keeper due to the price. The wood is rough and unattractive and it has been sitting in the box it arrived in ever since I opened it up and saw the product. It doesn't deserve a place on my new granite cabinet top. I could have gotten this quality at a hobby shop for half the cost and the top may have been flush with the bottom, even.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Quality, rough and unfinished
Review 3 for Maple Salt Box
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EBH3
,Fort Worth
,TX
September 14, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Just As Advertised
September 14, 2012
Recieved the product and was very pleased with what I got. The product matched the description given perfectly. Looks great in the kitchen. Great product for the price.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Design
Review 4 for Maple Salt Box
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
RealHousewifeOfRaleigh
,Raleigh
,NC
June 26, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+9points
9of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Description is Misleading But Easy to Fix at Home
June 26, 2012
Although the description promises "Hand sanded and oiled to highlight and preserve the beauty of the wood" the texture is as rough and as extremely dry as other reviewers have stated. It truly looks like an unfinished piece of wood.
HOWEVER, this is all easily fixed by applying mineral oil as stated in the Use & Care tab of the product. I applied two coats of slightly warmed oil, and it drank it right up. You must do this task any way every 4-6 weeks once you've owned it - just like wood cutting boards.
Williams-Sonoma should have sanded the wood and oiled it before shipping: to give what is promised and to preserve their inventory! It was a bummer to open the package and see what looks like I could have gotten at a craft store at half the price.
Now that I oiled it, I'm happier - but it's all about the presentation if you're shopping at and paying Williams-Sonoma prices!
Pros: Easy to Store
Cons: bad presentation/appears bad quality, rough texture, extremely dry wood
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 5 for Maple Salt Box
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
skier1010
,New York
June 14, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
functional but disappointing
June 14, 2012
I was being economical and did not buy the gorgeous olive wood salt keeper. I thought this one would be almost as nice. It is NOT. It is functional, but the wood feels like it could be smoother. It needs more "sanding". If you have the extra cash, buy the olive wood salt keeper. I would have given it 2 1/2 stars rather than 3 if the site would let me.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use
Cons: Quality, wood is not smooth enough
Review 6 for Maple Salt Box
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
barb1
,NC
Monroe, NC
March 28, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Gift!
March 28, 2012
My granddaughter was VERY happy with the salt box! I hesitated about the maple wood as opposed to the Olive. The maple is everything I wanted it to be, most of all she loves it in her kitchen.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Design
Review 7 for Maple Salt Box
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EJMF
,Dunkirk
,MD
January 2, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Maple Salt Box
January 2, 2012
Does exactly the job I wanted it for. Very attractive and functional.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Store, Size, Design, Weight, attractive
Review 8 for Maple Salt Box
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RaeS
,Ponchatoula
,LA
December 30, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great addition to my kitchen
December 30, 2011
Love it! Looks great in my kitchen. Beautiful finish. I definitely recommend this item.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Design
Review 9 for Maple Salt Box
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
,London, England
September 21, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best salt box ever
September 21, 2011
This is a terrific design object: functional and beautiful. I can't think of a better material to use than maple since it keeps the salt dry, nor a better shape with its pivoting lid, a sensible and convenient way to keep salt handy when cooking.
I suggest that future models should be given a factory-applied food-friendly hard wax finish. That would stop the wood from getting accidentally stained, and keep it looking good for a long time. The user could then periodically clean and rewax it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Store, Size, Design, Weight
Review 10 for Maple Salt Box
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
susie97
Richmond, VA
July 12, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great cooks tool!
July 12, 2011
I have been wanting a wooden salt box and this one is great. Easy to open and looks good sitting on my counter. Would recommend to others.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Store, Design
Review 11 for Maple Salt Box
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Aksailorette
Ketchikan, AK
June 23, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Poorly finished
June 23, 2011
I was extremely dissapointed in the finish of this box. It had rough cut edges and was insufficiently sanded, honestly the planed sunwood on my deck has a nicer finish than this box
Cons: Quality
Review 12 for Maple Salt Box
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Notafan
Litchfield, nh
January 4, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disapointed
January 4, 2011
Disapointed in the finish on this piece. It was dull, flat and looked weathered
Review 13 for Maple Salt Box
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChefFrosty
Waterford, MIchigan
August 10, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Looks good on the counter
August 10, 2010
I love this salt well. It looks good, keeps my salt handy by the stove, keeps my salt dry, and I really like the magnet built into the lid to keep it closed.
Review 14 for Maple Salt Box
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CKay
Lincolnwood, Illinois
August 10, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My favorite thing
August 10, 2010
I love Williams Sonoma, their catalogs, and their recipes. This item caught my eye, I ordered it and it is one my prized possessions in my kitchen. Buy one, you won't regret it and it'll make your inner chef happy..
Review 15 for Maple Salt Box
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BradZ
Minnesota
January 19, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
cute
January 19, 2010
bought it for my mother as a little present. she loves it. it's nice, good design, looks like it's good quality, and it has a little weight to it. Overall, it's very good value for the price.
Review 16 for Maple Salt Box
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
UHOhio
Cleveland, OH
January 12, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Just so so
January 12, 2010
Nice enough looking, but the sliding lid can be in the way when quickly reaching for a bit of salt when your hands are occupied.
In my opinion, not worth the $. If I had been able to see it in the store I probably would have not purchased it.
Review 17 for Maple Salt Box
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gramsters
Darien, NY
January 12, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A must for cooks!
January 12, 2010
I wanted one with a lid and I love the top that is attached as it easily glides off for easy access to the salt--the maple wood container, not only saves me time by being right by my stove but looks great in my country kitchen.
Review 18 for Maple Salt Box
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
lackawanna
West Seneca, New York
January 9, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-6points
1of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
salt box
January 9, 2010
Unfortunately I was not thoroughly pleased with this item so I have mailed it back and I am waiting for a credit. I was able to purchase a comparable item at the local William Sonoma store and it was just want I needed. Thank you for the chance to write a review and for your strong customer service. It means I will continue to shop here. Terry
Review 19 for Maple Salt Box
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
jacny61
New York
January 7, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Too small a box
January 7, 2010
The carftsmanship of the salt box is great. Unfortunately the desgn falls short. The opening is way too small for anyone with a medium to large hand.
Review 20 for Maple Salt Box
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Jodira
Central NY
October 7, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not worth it.
October 7, 2009
I was so excited to receive this only to be extremely dissapointed on the quality. The wood was very unfinished, almost raw like, and looked like it had been used. I called WS and they said the ones on the shelf too looked very warn out. I wouldn't pay more than 5 dollars for an item of this quality. Not even worth the simple 20 they are asking. I sent it back and budged for the olive wood salt box. We shall see.
page1 2 3 next