This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Maple Salt Box

Crafted in the USA from North American maple, this handsome box is just the thing for keeping up to 1/2 cup of salt or herbs on the countertop so you can grab a pinch while cooking. Its magnetic lid swivels open for easy one-handed access.Keeps salt, spices or dried herbs at your fingertips.Made from North American maple.Hand sanded and oiled to highlight and preserve the beauty of the wood.Compact for easy placement beside the stove or on the prep counter.Swiveling lid provides easy one-handed access.Magnetic latch.
Average Customer Rating:
3.714 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
6 of 7(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Maple Salt Box
Review 1 for Maple Salt Box
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
greencook
,Chicago
,IL
November 5, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
pretty and useful
November 5, 2013
I picked this salt box for its look, wood and where its made. It is a bit small and lightweight so if you have medium to larger hands, I recommend a larger box.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Design
Cons: Size
Review 2 for Maple Salt Box
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
TxGmom
,Arlington
,Tx
February 3, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
3of 7found this review helpful.
Disappointed
February 3, 2013
I guess it's my own fault for talking myself into the Maple versus the Olive wood salt keeper due to the price. The wood is rough and unattractive and it has been sitting in the box it arrived in ever since I opened it up and saw the product. It doesn't deserve a place on my new granite cabinet top. I could have gotten this quality at a hobby shop for half the cost and the top may have been flush with the bottom, even.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Quality, rough and unfinished
Review 3 for Maple Salt Box
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EBH3
,Fort Worth
,TX
September 14, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Just As Advertised
September 14, 2012
Recieved the product and was very pleased with what I got. The product matched the description given perfectly. Looks great in the kitchen. Great product for the price.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Design
Review 4 for Maple Salt Box
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
RealHousewifeOfRaleigh
,Raleigh
,NC
June 26, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+9points
9of 9found this review helpful.
Description is Misleading But Easy to Fix at Home
June 26, 2012
Although the description promises "Hand sanded and oiled to highlight and preserve the beauty of the wood" the texture is as rough and as extremely dry as other reviewers have stated. It truly looks like an unfinished piece of wood.
HOWEVER, this is all easily fixed by applying mineral oil as stated in the Use & Care tab of the product. I applied two coats of slightly warmed oil, and it drank it right up. You must do this task any way every 4-6 weeks once you've owned it - just like wood cutting boards.
Williams-Sonoma should have sanded the wood and oiled it before shipping: to give what is promised and to preserve their inventory! It was a bummer to open the package and see what looks like I could have gotten at a craft store at half the price.
Now that I oiled it, I'm happier - but it's all about the presentation if you're shopping at and paying Williams-Sonoma prices!
Pros: Easy to Store
Cons: bad presentation/appears bad quality, rough texture, extremely dry wood
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 5 for Maple Salt Box
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
skier1010
,New York
June 14, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
functional but disappointing
June 14, 2012
I was being economical and did not buy the gorgeous olive wood salt keeper. I thought this one would be almost as nice. It is NOT. It is functional, but the wood feels like it could be smoother. It needs more "sanding". If you have the extra cash, buy the olive wood salt keeper. I would have given it 2 1/2 stars rather than 3 if the site would let me.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use
Cons: Quality, wood is not smooth enough
Review 6 for Maple Salt Box
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
barb1
,NC
Monroe, NC
March 28, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Great Gift!
March 28, 2012
My granddaughter was VERY happy with the salt box! I hesitated about the maple wood as opposed to the Olive. The maple is everything I wanted it to be, most of all she loves it in her kitchen.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Design
Review 7 for Maple Salt Box
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EJMF
,Dunkirk
,MD
January 2, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Maple Salt Box
January 2, 2012
Does exactly the job I wanted it for. Very attractive and functional.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Store, Size, Design, Weight, attractive