Mamie's Cheese Wafers

In the hospitable South, no party is complete without cheese wafers, and Mamie's cheddar cheese version is famous in the region for good reason. Made from a family recipe using all-natural freshly grated cheddar cheese, butter, pecans and cayenne pepper, this slice-and-bake dough combines convenience with true homemade flavor. It bakes up so quickly and beautifully that it alleviates all the anxiety of last-minute entertaining. Two 14 oz. dough logs; each log makes forty-two 1 1/2" diam. wafers. Shipped frozen. Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.364 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
19 of 22(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Mamie's Cheese Wafers
Review 1 for Mamie's Cheese Wafers
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DALEX
,Santa Fe
,NM
August 4, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great with wine
August 4, 2013
We had these with Pinot Grigio as an appetizer and everyone loved them.
Review 2 for Mamie's Cheese Wafers
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AlabamaTony
May 16, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy last minute appetizer
May 16, 2013
I received these as a gift. They were wonderful. These are the perfect mix between cheese straws and slice and bake cookies. I keep a roll in my freezer for spur of the moments guests.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 3 for Mamie's Cheese Wafers
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
SueQW
,Piitsburgh
,PA
May 8, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not my thing
May 8, 2013
I was expecting to like these based on reviews and that they were made up things that I like: cheese, nuts, and pastry, but they are blah to me and not worth the calories. My husband loved them, thus, you either really like them or could easily skip. I would rather have a triscuit with cheese on it instead:)They were easy to make on the plus side.
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
Review 4 for Mamie's Cheese Wafers
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MTHH
,HOSCHTON
,GA
Hoschton, GA
January 2, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy tasty treat
January 2, 2013
I recommend this product. Tastes great and lasts a good while if taken care off. I bought over a year ago, put in freezer. Then, over the 2012 holiday season invited my in-laws. I thawed and served the wafers as appetizers and they raved about them. Thumbs up and I'm not usually crazy about nuts.
Pros: Texture, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor
Review 5 for Mamie's Cheese Wafers
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
SEMS
,Atlanta
,GA
December 31, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A lot of money for something so tasteless
December 31, 2012
I made these wafers for a New Years Eve party. I was very disappointed. They are easy to make and look nice but they are not very flavorful.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Time-saver
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
Review 6 for Mamie's Cheese Wafers
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Patlynn
,Grosse Pointe
,MI
Michigan
November 11, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious!
November 11, 2012
My family loves these. My daughter, who normally abhorrs nuts of any kind, can't stop eating these. They are rich, cheesy, with just a hint of nutty flavor. I sliced a few a bit thicker, and found that it tasted great that way too! Remember to keep the product almost fully frozen for easy slicing.
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift, cheesy
Review 7 for Mamie's Cheese Wafers
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Izzy
,Detroit
,MI
Plymouth, MI
September 13, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So Good! So Easy!
September 13, 2012
These are great! It is so much fun to entertain when you can serve something different and wonderfully good - AND - so easy to prepare.
Try them - your guests will think you're a kitchen goddess...
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 8 for Mamie's Cheese Wafers
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MzBiddle
,Wilmington
,NC
USA
December 11, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tasty Wafers
December 11, 2011
These cheese wafers are great to have in the freezer for a quick appetizer when guests drop by. I would recommend slicing them as thin as possible and sprinkling a little sea salt on before popping them into the oven. If your slices are not thin enough, you don't get the "wafer" effect...you end up with a cheese cookie.
Cons: a little pricey
Review 9 for Mamie's Cheese Wafers
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CariPie
,Orange County
,CA
November 28, 2011
Ability level:Professional
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So good they are addictive!
November 28, 2011
These wafers bake up perfectly and are an excellent accompaniment to all types of wines. I love the flavor combination of the cheese and nuts, and their light texture is fabulous. They are super easy to prepare, just slice and bake. My friends and family loved them so much last time that I had to double my order this time around! I will order them again soon.
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 10 for Mamie's Cheese Wafers
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MDantz
,Winter Park
,FL
November 13, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Appetizer and wine!
November 13, 2011
Absolutely a great appetizer to have on hand in your freezer. Rich and very tasty! Third time ordering, though found the cost surprisingly a bit high on this order.
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
Cons: Cost
Review 11 for Mamie's Cheese Wafers
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Pittsburgh
August 5, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious and so easy!
August 5, 2010
These cheese wafers arrive frozen in tubes for slicing. I used only one tube for my party and used the other with a spur of the moment company. Easy, buttery and great with wine. Cheesy, nutty, with a bite.
Review 12 for Mamie's Cheese Wafers
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Athenaz
St. Petersburg, Florida
April 24, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful & Addictive
April 24, 2010
I love these wafers - they have an excellent flavor and they are so EASY. If friends stop by and you want a quick appetizer, you can have these warm wafers in less than 30 minutes. I leave the frozen roll out by the oven while the oven is preheating and that is all the time it takes to thaw them. Then slice & presto another 12-14 minutes and they are finished. I hate running out of them in my freezer.
Review 13 for Mamie's Cheese Wafers
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SadieOfNewHaven
New Haven, CT
January 18, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Festive, Fun Appetizer!
January 18, 2010
These are fabulous. I ordered some for the holidays to serve at various functions and parties, and they were a huge hit! They smell divine while cooking and are quick and easy to prepare. I'll be ordering more very soon!!
Review 14 for Mamie's Cheese Wafers
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dcht
North Carolina
January 13, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Better than Home made
January 13, 2010
These wafers were so easy to fix, just cut and bake. I served them at a party . My guest thought I made them and I took all the good comments. I will not ever work hard to make hors d'oeuvres for a party, when SN makes them so easy and no one ever has to know.lol
Review 15 for Mamie's Cheese Wafers
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous
Nacogdoches, TX
January 7, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good not Great
January 7, 2010
These weren't bad a little dry and not nearly spicy enough but still tasty. It was nice to serve a fresh baked cracker with "fixins" at our Christmas Eve gathering
Review 16 for Mamie's Cheese Wafers
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
nikek
Traverse City Michigan
January 5, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
cheese wafers
January 5, 2010
First of all i didn't realize I was going to have to bake them. They were too heavy-they did not look like the picture when I served them-perhaps I cut them too thick.
Review 17 for Mamie's Cheese Wafers
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lorebeau
Pompano Beach, FL
December 8, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very Yummy!!!
December 8, 2009
Simple to make, everyone loves them. A party must have!
Review 18 for Mamie's Cheese Wafers
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ManhattanMomma
New York, NY
September 25, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Mamie's Cheese Wafers are Incredible
September 25, 2009
These cheese wafers are nothing short of fantastic. I am a caterer, and I purchased on a whim. Boy am I glad I did. My kids absolutely love them, and I serve them as an appetizer at all of my events. I would strongly recommend these scrumptious cheese wafers.
Review 19 for Mamie's Cheese Wafers
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LittleRockCook
Little Rock, AR
September 12, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
lifesafer for drop-in guests
September 12, 2009
I keep these in the freezer -- a real lifesaver when friends drop by and you need a quick snack. My child says they are delicious -- and her friends love them also. They smell great when you pull them out of the oven!
**Slice and bake and give a "homemade" Christmas or hostess gift -- maybe along with a bottle of wine.
**Volunteer to bring the cheese wafers for a shower or church event.
**Easy to prepare. Make sure you slice them very thin to get the full quantity and so they'll be crispy.
**Good quality. Cheese wafers look and taste like you started from scratch.
Review 20 for Mamie's Cheese Wafers
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GUCCI
Alabama
August 28, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My favorite party snack.
August 28, 2009
Mamies cheese wafers are the bomb!They are so easy to prepare. Delicious warm out of the oven. Great hostess gift too.
page1 2 next