Madras Curry Indian Simmering Sauce

Madras-style curries are classics in family kitchens throughout southern India-and this one from Maya Kaimal shines with the bright flavors of real home cooking. Our simmering sauce is made using Maya's own family recipe, which blends ripe tomato puree with fresh curry leaves, Serrano peppers and Malabar black peppercorns. Creamy coconut milk and Indian white lentils (known as urad dahl) round out the sauce with a luscious velvety texture. 16 fl. oz. Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
6 of 6(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Madras Curry Indian Simmering Sauce
Review 1 for Madras Curry Indian Simmering Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cuanlee
August 27, 2013
Ability level:Novice
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Simple and delicious
August 27, 2013
An excellent sauce: lip-tinglingly spicy and very tasty. So quick and easy to make!
Heated the sauce with a drained can of chickpeas; sautéed and added a couple of shallots then some cubed boneless-skinless chicken thighs. Served with reheated naan bread from Whole Foods.
It made four healthy portions (±724 calories including one naan) and tasted even better a few days later.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 2 for Madras Curry Indian Simmering Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mjpino
,Miami
,Fl
July 23, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Another amazing sauce
July 23, 2013
I made this in my Dutch oven and served it with boneless skinless chicken breasts and Jasmine rice. It was a little spicy and very tasty. I only wish I made naan bread to soak up all the delicious sauce!
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 3 for Madras Curry Indian Simmering Sauce
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LemonLimeChicago
Chicago, IL
April 3, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good for Weeknights
April 3, 2012
We've tried most of the WS Curry/Indian sauces since my husband and I love Indian food and this one is our favorite. We think it tastes the most like our favorite takeout Indian restaurant, and it's fast for weekdays.
Pros: Authentic, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 4 for Madras Curry Indian Simmering Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fxpuppy
,Gold Canyon
,az
January 29, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Flavor
January 29, 2012
We have tried many Indian cooking sauces over the years and this was the Best, Great flavor and correctly spiced for a Madras. We will be buying this again...and again. We used this with left over chicken, added potatoes, cauliflower, onions, peas and carrots it was a great meal. Thanks for a superb product
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 5 for Madras Curry Indian Simmering Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Biergill
Omaha, Ne
August 24, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Full of flavor
August 24, 2011
Made it with chicken and added the suggested cashews. Super easy and full of flavor. Restaurant quality!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Review 6 for Madras Curry Indian Simmering Sauce
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CubanSpice
Miami Beach
August 13, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
yummy but a bit too spicy!!!!
August 13, 2011
I LOVE spicy food and this sauce was SPICY!!! but amazing I just wish it would come in mild. I made it with chicken just like the instructions told me and it turned out awesome and very easy :)
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Cons: too spicy and i love spicy food