Luster Decorating Pearls

For a touch of sparkle, embellish frosted cookies, cupcakes, cakes and petit fours with our luster decorating pearls. Sprinkle them onto frosting before it sets to add an ornate finish to home-baked treats. Their neutral flavor pairs with any cake and frosting, and they're perfectly safe to eat. 4.5 oz. Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
9 of 10(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Luster Decorating Pearls
Review 1 for Luster Decorating Pearls
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Magret
,Boca Raton
,Fl
March 29, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Smaller than I expected
March 29, 2013
When I ordered these pearls, I thought they would be the size that is in the picture but they're smaller (about 3 mm in diameter). They're still great to use as decorations on various desserts; I used them on my Easter cupcakes - such a dainty, pretty detail on top of icing!
My husband was worried that they'd be too hard and get stuck in his teeth, BUT they melt in your mouth - soft! You don't have to worry about kids breaking their teeth on these pearls.
The only downside is that because of their small size, it's difficult to place them on top of icing without dropping a few or messing up the icing. TIP: Try using clean tweezers to place them on icing.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Flavor
Cons: Difficult to Prepare
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 2 for Luster Decorating Pearls
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bearmom
December 31, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Cookie Decoration
December 31, 2012
Granddaughter loved decorating her Christmas cookies with these "pearls".
Pros: Quality, Great Gift
Review 3 for Luster Decorating Pearls
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JuliaMM4
,Costa Rica
October 8, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Lovely Pearls
October 8, 2012
Very, very satisfied with these Decorating pearls!! I recently used it to decorate cupcakes for a christening activity. The pearls added chic and lovely finish to my cupcakes. Excellent Quality and Flavor
Pros: Texture, Quality, Flavor
Review 4 for Luster Decorating Pearls
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Concordenerd
,Central
,PA
Central, PA
October 27, 2011
Ability level:Professional
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Luster pearls work great
October 27, 2011
I have sed these from decorating wedding cakes to putting them on top of truffles. They add that kick and special appearance. A very nice product.
Review 5 for Luster Decorating Pearls
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AussieChef
New York, N.Y.
March 26, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Decorating pearls and sanding sugars
March 26, 2011
Perfectly sized glowing pearls, easy to create glamour for iced cookies, cupcakes and detailing borders for large frosted cakes. Well thought out stacking plastic jars are sturdy and clearly labeled. Pearls can be used for more things than you think. I use sanitized decorating tweezers for positioning. Try their sanding sugars too, fabulous!
Pros: Texture, Quality, Flavor
Review 6 for Luster Decorating Pearls
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fehnna
Des Moines, IA
March 10, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
perfect for my princesses
March 10, 2011
I have three granddaughters, cupcakes are their favorite treat. The pearls make them perfectly fancy for tea!
Review 7 for Luster Decorating Pearls
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
cookielady1212
December 31, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
7of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Decorating pearls
December 31, 2010
Just a note.. . This product is not suppose to be put on the cookie until after baking..on top of the icing! Happy New Year to all!
Review 8 for Luster Decorating Pearls
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mtnannie
asheville, nc
December 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Absolutely Beautiful
December 30, 2010
Made snowflake sugar cookies with white icing and topped with these pearls, silver sugar chunks. Beautiful!
Review 9 for Luster Decorating Pearls
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
daclan
New Hope, PA
December 26, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-20points
1of 22found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
melt when cooked
December 26, 2010
we made eggnog cookies (like sugar cookies with eggnog) and decorated the cookies before baking, but the decorating pearls melted in the cookies instead of keeping their shape. Oven was at 350 and baked them for about 7-10 minutes, so I'm not sure why they melted like that.
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Customer avatar
Tona
Charlotte, North Carolina
Posted January 1, 2011
melting pearls
I would think the pearls go on AFTER baking...Bake.....then decorate.
0points
Customer avatar
c2plady
Southern Maryland
Posted December 29, 2010
Does the package say...
anything about not baking them. I'm a professional cake decorator and as far as I know, none of the "pearl" products should be baked. However, this should be written clearly on the package for folks who wouldn't know. So sorry this ruined your cookies!
0points
Customer avatar
eclecticgourmand
Tennessee
Posted December 29, 2010
a baking "oops"...
Luster pearls are not meant to be applied to the cookie or dessert before baking, but rather afterward. Being composed of sugar, putting these in the oven is similar to if you put a spoon full of sugar in the oven-both of which you can expect to melt. This one star rating is undeserved as the fault lies not with the product itself but with the buyer's use of it. A good lesson was learned, but unfortunately at the expense of some delicious sounding cookies!
0points
Customer avatar
jade1598
Posted December 28, 2010
you're not supposed to cook them
Decorations like sprinkles are meant to go on AFTER baking! No wonder.
0points
Customer avatar
casae
New York
Posted December 28, 2010
Not meant to be baked
These are meant to be added to the cookies/cakes AFTER being baked. They are usually put on the icing as mentioned in the product description.
0points
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Review 10 for Luster Decorating Pearls
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
UNCRN
Chapel Hill, NC
December 23, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Luster Decorating Pearls make cookies elegant
December 23, 2010
I bought these in the store a few days ago and they have made my cookies look very professional. I am excited to show off my creations at our family gathering! I really like how the decorating condiments stack and connect into each other. I would recommend this product.
 
My Recommendations