Lodge Cast-Iron Round Fry Pan

America's oldest family-owned cookware foundry, Lodge has been forging cast-iron pots and pans since 1896. Preseasoned and ready to use, these heavyweight skillets heat evenly and won't cool down when you add foods, making them ideal for searing and browning. Heavyweight cast iron transfers and retains heat evenly. Preseasoned for a smooth finish that resists sticking and rust. High sides contain splatters. One long and one loop helper handle on larger sizes ease lifting (6 1/2" and 8" skillets do not have a loop helper handle). Ideal for use on any type of cooktop, including induction. Oven and broiler safe. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.775 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 40
39 of 40(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Lodge Cast-Iron Round Fry Pan
Review 1 for Lodge Cast-Iron Round Fry Pan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
May 4, 2016
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Historic, US-made Lodge
May 4, 2016
Lodge cast iron is no-nonsense, no-frills cookware. You won't find flashy, expensive copper cores or colorful enameled finishes. So versatile, there's very little it can't do, except soups and tomato-based sauces.
My one issue with Lodge is they have long since stopped sanding/polishing the finish so that it has a rough, sandy texture instead of that flat, black, shiny finish that older cast iron has.
Other than that, it's unbeatable. Just keep it dry and seasoned and it will treat you - and your children - well for ages.
Pros: Durable, Versatile, Quality, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Review 2 for Lodge Cast-Iron Round Fry Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,elizabethtown
,ky
March 19, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A kitchen "must have"!
March 19, 2016
I own two Lodge cast iron fry pans (one 10" and one 12") and absolutely love them. They are great for frying, or even for baking corn bread as it is completely oven-safe. Once seasoned properly, they clean up like a dream. My favorite use is for frying chicken. The meat comes out flavorful and succulent, and the coating comes out crispy and delicious. This is a time-tested gem which has proven its usefulness through the centuries!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Versatile, Quality, Easy to Store, timeless classic
Cons: a bit heavy at times
Review 3 for Lodge Cast-Iron Round Fry Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Columbia
,MO
March 16, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Exactly what I was looking for!
March 16, 2016
I am so happy with this purchase! I love the size and the depth. It is truly a "go to" pan for nearly everything! Clean up and oil down, and you're ready for the next use. Handwashing is not a challenge. You'll be very happy you got this one!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Versatile, Design, Quality, Size
Review 4 for Lodge Cast-Iron Round Fry Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Gainesville
,Fl
February 4, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Fry Pan.
February 4, 2016
This is a great frying pan. It is already preseasoned which makes a world of difference to prevent sticking when cooking. I do not have to use as much oil as I normally would on a new cast iron pan. Cleaning is much easier also. Great buy and good service from Williams- Sonoma as usual.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Design, Size, Color, Shape
Review 5 for Lodge Cast-Iron Round Fry Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Santa Fe
,NM
January 21, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love cast iron pans!
January 21, 2016
I needed a large skillet and this Lodge Ware piece rivals my old Wagner Ware chicken fryer for quality. I anticipate using it for many years and passing it on to another cook someday.
it *is* heavy as is all cast iron cookware, so keep that in mind. I'm sure that the other sizes are just as utilitarian as this 12 inch skillet.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Durable, Versatile, Quality
Cons: Weight
Review 6 for Lodge Cast-Iron Round Fry Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Memphis
,TN
In a messy apartment
December 26, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Water Buffalo Lodge #26
December 26, 2015
It's heavy enough to smite small vermin and be a deterrent to robbers. If you have never cooked with Lodge, you don't know what you're missing unless you own Le Creuset stuff. This is way cheaper and is marvelous to cook with.
Pros: Durable, Versatile, Weight, Color, ginobili
Review 7 for Lodge Cast-Iron Round Fry Pan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,Des Plaines
,IL
July 3, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
just what I was looking for
July 3, 2015
It's exactly the pan I wanted. Have only used it once, but I'll be using it a lot.
Pros: Durable, Versatile, Size
Cons: Weight
Review 8 for Lodge Cast-Iron Round Fry Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Taos
,NM
May 14, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fabulous fry pans
May 14, 2015
Lodge is the best! I bought both the 10" and 12" and use them all the time. Love the larger one for browning chicken halves then laying smaller one on top and tossing it all into the oven to finish roasting. The side handle is a huge help.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
mamazelin
San Mateo, CA
Posted May 12, 2016
Smaller skillet on top?
Hi, would you please explain how you use the two skillets (combined) for fried chicken? I'd love to try it.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Lodge Cast-Iron Round Fry Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Portland
,OR
April 27, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best EVER!!
April 27, 2015
This isn't my first Lodge pan. But I didn't have this size. They cook so great I rarely use any other. I fry in them and also bake in them.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size
Cons: Weight
Review 10 for Lodge Cast-Iron Round Fry Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Lawrenceville
,GA
April 21, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My new favorite pan.
April 21, 2015
This is a great pan for cooking. It cooks everything evenly and in a timely fashion. I definitely recommend this pan. I plan to purchase other Lodge items in the future.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Size
Cons: Weight
Review 11 for Lodge Cast-Iron Round Fry Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
March 16, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
GREAT FRY PAN.
March 16, 2015
I HAVE A SMALLER CAST IRON PAN THAT I USE OFTEN BUT NEEDED A LARGER ONE TO DO LARGER AMOUNTS. THEY ARE HEAVY BUT ARE THE BEST FRY PAN.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Size, Versatile
Cons: Weight
Review 12 for Lodge Cast-Iron Round Fry Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Kissimmee
,FL
March 14, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
New to Cast Iron Skillets
March 14, 2015
I read many reviews before choosing this pan and followed suggestions, such as fry bacon before first use, dry thoroughly, and store with a light coating of oil. It's a great pan, well made and versatile. Heats evenly, food releases easily, just be sure to take useful advice from cooks who are experienced with cast iron cookware. I really enjoy cooking with this pan!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Design
Review 13 for Lodge Cast-Iron Round Fry Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Cleveland
,oh
March 11, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
every cook needs one
March 11, 2015
Every cook needs one of these: Beginner to advanced. Tthe even cooking this allows for is even more superior than my Calphalon Stainless steel fry pan. Everything other reviewers have said are accurate. HOWEVER, this is Cast Iron! you need to wash, dry it, and oil it on occasion. if you take proper care of this you will not be disappointed!
Review 14 for Lodge Cast-Iron Round Fry Pan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,San diego
,Ca
August 24, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
-26points
5of 36found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Don't buy high maintenance
August 24, 2014
Says it is treated. Followed instructions.
Clearly not treated. Not accurate. Waste of money
Cons: Quality, Difficult to Clean, High-Maintenance
Review 15 for Lodge Cast-Iron Round Fry Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Fort Myers
,FL
August 3, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Cast Iron Skillet for Even Heat
August 3, 2014
I've always meant to get a cast iron skillet, but ended up with non-stick, hard anodized aluminum pans. I finally got this American-made cast iron skillet and I LOVE IT! What a difference frying (especially bacon). I'll use it the rest of my life and hope to pass it down to my son's future family. What a difference it makes frying my favorite dishes.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Design, even browning, heat retention
Cons: Weight
Review 16 for Lodge Cast-Iron Round Fry Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Central New York
June 22, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Versatile, Durable, Essential
June 22, 2014
On a whim I bought this pan because I've seen dozens of cooking shows use a similar tool with excellent results. I have not regretted the purchase since.
It is one of the most versatile pieces of hardware I have in my kitchen, and use it for everything from frying to searing to casseroles and quiches. Maintenance is fussy and specific (keep dry, season with oil regularly), but well worth the effort. Every kitchen should have one.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Versatile, Weight
Review 17 for Lodge Cast-Iron Round Fry Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,CA
June 7, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
6of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
THE Fry Pan
June 7, 2014
This pan is a kitchen essential! I own 5 cast iron skillets from Lodge & I love all of them. I love the heavy weight and durability of the pan. You can do anything in this pan and it will last you forever! You need at least one.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 18 for Lodge Cast-Iron Round Fry Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Houston
,TX
Houston, TX
June 6, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+15points
15of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I love this cast iron skillet!
June 6, 2014
My mother bought this for me when I moved in with my fiance. I had no cookware of my own at the time and she bought this for me because she said that everyone needs at least 1 cast iron skillet. She was right! I love mine and I use it at least 2-3 times a week on the stove top, in the oven, or on the grill or open fire. This pan can do it all!
She suggested that I cook bacon on it before I use it for anything else and to cook more bacon if I'm struggling with the pan. I've followed her advice and I've had absolutely no problems with it. Cleaning and storing this pan is a bit of extra work, but it is definitely worth it.
Mother knows best! Buy the Lodge Round Fry Pan! ^_^
Pros: Durable, Quality, Size, Versatile, Weight, affordable
Cons: Difficult to Store, High-Maintenance
Review 19 for Lodge Cast-Iron Round Fry Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Southern California
,CA
Dallas, TX
November 21, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+25points
25of 25found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A kitchen essential!
November 21, 2013
A cast iron skillet is a must have for any kitchen and Lodge makes the best one out there. This pan does just about everything a top of the line clad stainless steel or enameled cast iron skillet can do and for a fraction of the cost. This pan holds heat extremely well so if you want to sear it can do it and do it well. If you want to cook something low and slow, it can do it and do it well. I use my cast iron skillet daily. Something to think about when selecting your cast iron skillet is what size is best for you. My suggestion, pick the size you think you need and then buy the next larger size. Why? As with any pan you want to avoid over crowding the pan so that you can brown your food. A crowded pan prevents foods from browning and just "sweats" your food instead. So, give yourself enough room to achieve golden brown deliciousness.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 20 for Lodge Cast-Iron Round Fry Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,New York
,NY
August 15, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+11points
12of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The most used pan in my kitchen!
August 15, 2013
I am new to fry pans, and I have to say, this one is the BEST! In the short few months I've had it, I have used it for eggs, bacon, chicken cutlets, stir-fry, and so much more.
Here are my two knocks, which shouldn't deter you from purchasing:
1) It's heavy. So heavy that it's easier to just keep out instead of storing it in a cabinet. But I use it often enough that I don't mind keeping it out.
2) It's not the easiest to maintain. Since it requires some major scrubbing (especially at first, since everything seems to stick to the bottom of the pan), I always try to clean on the same night I use to cook. I clean using one of those chain-link "sponges" with only water, no soap. Once all scrubbed, I leave it out (see #1) with some peanut oil rubbed in.
Over time, of course, it's becoming less sticky, easier to clean, and you can tell there is great seasoning.
10" also seems to be a perfect size for 2-4.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Size, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Difficult to Store
page1 2 next