Print

Williams-Sonoma Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Williams-Sonoma
Shop or
Choose a Category

Lodge Cast-Iron Round Fry Pan

America's oldest family-owned cookware foundry, Lodge has been forging cast-iron pots and pans since 1896. Preseasoned and ready to use, these heavyweight skillets heat evenly and won't cool down when you add foods, making them ideal for searing and browning. Heavyweight cast iron transfers and retains heat evenly. Preseasoned for a smooth finish that resists sticking and rust. High sides contain splatters. One long and one loop helper handle on larger sizes ease lifting (6 1/2" and 8" skillets do not have a loop helper handle). Ideal for use on any type of cooktop, including induction. Oven and broiler safe. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.783 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(46 Reviews) 46
45 of 46(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Lodge Cast-Iron Round Fry Pan
Review 1 for Lodge Cast-Iron Round Fry Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Northern Virginia
,VA
August 1, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
lodge cast iron
August 1, 2016
I LOVE all my lodge cast iron pans. Once you season the pans some more as per instructions on the web, they cook fabulously, clean up with just water and a stiff brush. Dry thoroughly and then wipe with a thin layer of oil and then they are ready for the next time. I am slowly getting a full set! I do not cook with any other pan!! They will last for a last time if you treat them well! I bought them when William Somona has offered sales on the Lodge pans, and I am already a huge fan of their great products, having bought quite a number of them, usually on sale!
Review 2 for Lodge Cast-Iron Round Fry Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Saint Paul
,MN
August 1, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great fry pan
August 1, 2016
this pan was excellent for frying fish. Washes easily with hot water and a sponge. the next day we made scrambled eggs.
cooking a steak tonight.
Pros: Color, Design, Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Easy to Use, Quality, Shape, Size, Versatile, Weight
Review 3 for Lodge Cast-Iron Round Fry Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Ocala
,FL
July 28, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The original non-stick pan
July 28, 2016
I love my new 12" skillet! It is so simple: heat, add your favorite oil/butter (just enough for a thin coating) and then cook. I love doing scrambled eggs or omelets. They never stick. When I clean it, I use a soft green scrubbie with a little bit of liquid Dawn. Wash, rinse and place on stove with the heat on low to dry. By the time I am done with the rest of the dish, the pan is cool enough to put away. Though, I must admit that I keep it on the stove all the time since I use it every day. I bought this skillet because of the extra little handle so that I can easily pick it up. My only wish is that this skillet had a cover. Thank you, Lodge.
Pros: Design, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Quality, Size
Review 4 for Lodge Cast-Iron Round Fry Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Port Angeles
,WA
July 27, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best for breakfast
July 27, 2016
I purchased this cast iron pan not because I needed a new one but because I needed one with a flat bottom. There isn't really much one can say about a cast iron pans. You either like them or you don't. I like this pan. It's a nice size, fits a standard burner perfectly, heats evenly. It is quite heavy but with the extra small handle is easier to pick up and move about. I have washed it per instructions except I do use soap on the outside. I'm a messy cook. I also purchased one for my granddaughter. Her word for it is "amazing".
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality
Review 5 for Lodge Cast-Iron Round Fry Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Jupiter
,Fl
July 3, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
What a pan
July 3, 2016
While some may say the care required is inconvienent - the versatility and consistent quality results far out weigh this. While it might take a little practice to get use to since you can cook at lower temperatures it's heat retention and distribution are worth it. And the price cannot be beaten.
Pros: Design, Durable, Easy to Store, Easy to Use, Quality, Shape, Size, Versatile
Cons: Weight
Review 6 for Lodge Cast-Iron Round Fry Pan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,Lewisville
,TX
June 23, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Cast Iron PAn
June 23, 2016
Loved that pan-takes me back almost 30 years when I last owned one of these. Becoming my go-to for almost all my stove top and some oven finishing cooking-Easy to use, clean, and it gets better as I use it-Less oil and butter as I go
Too heavy for my wall mounted pot rack, but looks just fine sitting atop my oven
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Versatile, Quality, Size
Cons: Weight, Difficult to Store
Review 7 for Lodge Cast-Iron Round Fry Pan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
May 4, 2016
Would You Recommend? Yes
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Historic, US-made Lodge
May 4, 2016
Lodge cast iron is no-nonsense, no-frills cookware. You won't find flashy, expensive copper cores or colorful enameled finishes. So versatile, there's very little it can't do, except soups and tomato-based sauces.
My one issue with Lodge is they have long since stopped sanding/polishing the finish so that it has a rough, sandy texture instead of that flat, black, shiny finish that older cast iron has.
Other than that, it's unbeatable. Just keep it dry and seasoned and it will treat you - and your children - well for ages.
Pros: Durable, Versatile, Quality, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Review 8 for Lodge Cast-Iron Round Fry Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,elizabethtown
,ky
March 19, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A kitchen "must have"!
March 19, 2016
I own two Lodge cast iron fry pans (one 10" and one 12") and absolutely love them. They are great for frying, or even for baking corn bread as it is completely oven-safe. Once seasoned properly, they clean up like a dream. My favorite use is for frying chicken. The meat comes out flavorful and succulent, and the coating comes out crispy and delicious. This is a time-tested gem which has proven its usefulness through the centuries!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Versatile, Quality, Easy to Store, timeless classic
Cons: a bit heavy at times
Review 9 for Lodge Cast-Iron Round Fry Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Columbia
,MO
March 16, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Exactly what I was looking for!
March 16, 2016
I am so happy with this purchase! I love the size and the depth. It is truly a "go to" pan for nearly everything! Clean up and oil down, and you're ready for the next use. Handwashing is not a challenge. You'll be very happy you got this one!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Versatile, Design, Quality, Size
Review 10 for Lodge Cast-Iron Round Fry Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Gainesville
,Fl
February 4, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Fry Pan.
February 4, 2016
This is a great frying pan. It is already preseasoned which makes a world of difference to prevent sticking when cooking. I do not have to use as much oil as I normally would on a new cast iron pan. Cleaning is much easier also. Great buy and good service from Williams- Sonoma as usual.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Design, Size, Color, Shape
Review 11 for Lodge Cast-Iron Round Fry Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Santa Fe
,NM
January 21, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love cast iron pans!
January 21, 2016
I needed a large skillet and this Lodge Ware piece rivals my old Wagner Ware chicken fryer for quality. I anticipate using it for many years and passing it on to another cook someday.
it *is* heavy as is all cast iron cookware, so keep that in mind. I'm sure that the other sizes are just as utilitarian as this 12 inch skillet.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Durable, Versatile, Quality
Cons: Weight
Review 12 for Lodge Cast-Iron Round Fry Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Memphis
,TN
In a messy apartment
December 26, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Water Buffalo Lodge #26
December 26, 2015
It's heavy enough to smite small vermin and be a deterrent to robbers. If you have never cooked with Lodge, you don't know what you're missing unless you own Le Creuset stuff. This is way cheaper and is marvelous to cook with.
Pros: Durable, Versatile, Weight, Color, ginobili
Review 13 for Lodge Cast-Iron Round Fry Pan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,Des Plaines
,IL
July 3, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
just what I was looking for
July 3, 2015
It's exactly the pan I wanted. Have only used it once, but I'll be using it a lot.
Pros: Durable, Versatile, Size
Cons: Weight
Review 14 for Lodge Cast-Iron Round Fry Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Taos
,NM
May 14, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fabulous fry pans
May 14, 2015
Lodge is the best! I bought both the 10" and 12" and use them all the time. Love the larger one for browning chicken halves then laying smaller one on top and tossing it all into the oven to finish roasting. The side handle is a huge help.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
mamazelin
San Mateo, CA
Posted May 12, 2016
Smaller skillet on top?
Hi, would you please explain how you use the two skillets (combined) for fried chicken? I'd love to try it.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Lodge Cast-Iron Round Fry Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Portland
,OR
April 27, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best EVER!!
April 27, 2015
This isn't my first Lodge pan. But I didn't have this size. They cook so great I rarely use any other. I fry in them and also bake in them.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size
Cons: Weight
Review 16 for Lodge Cast-Iron Round Fry Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Lawrenceville
,GA
April 21, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My new favorite pan.
April 21, 2015
This is a great pan for cooking. It cooks everything evenly and in a timely fashion. I definitely recommend this pan. I plan to purchase other Lodge items in the future.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Size
Cons: Weight
Review 17 for Lodge Cast-Iron Round Fry Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
March 16, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
GREAT FRY PAN.
March 16, 2015
I HAVE A SMALLER CAST IRON PAN THAT I USE OFTEN BUT NEEDED A LARGER ONE TO DO LARGER AMOUNTS. THEY ARE HEAVY BUT ARE THE BEST FRY PAN.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Size, Versatile
Cons: Weight
Review 18 for Lodge Cast-Iron Round Fry Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Kissimmee
,FL
March 14, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
New to Cast Iron Skillets
March 14, 2015
I read many reviews before choosing this pan and followed suggestions, such as fry bacon before first use, dry thoroughly, and store with a light coating of oil. It's a great pan, well made and versatile. Heats evenly, food releases easily, just be sure to take useful advice from cooks who are experienced with cast iron cookware. I really enjoy cooking with this pan!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Design
Review 19 for Lodge Cast-Iron Round Fry Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Cleveland
,oh
March 11, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
every cook needs one
March 11, 2015
Every cook needs one of these: Beginner to advanced. Tthe even cooking this allows for is even more superior than my Calphalon Stainless steel fry pan. Everything other reviewers have said are accurate. HOWEVER, this is Cast Iron! you need to wash, dry it, and oil it on occasion. if you take proper care of this you will not be disappointed!
Review 20 for Lodge Cast-Iron Round Fry Pan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,San diego
,Ca
August 24, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
-28points
5of 38found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Don't buy high maintenance
August 24, 2014
Says it is treated. Followed instructions.
Clearly not treated. Not accurate. Waste of money
Cons: Quality, Difficult to Clean, High-Maintenance
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Gmike
Posted August 15, 2016
I love my pan. I clean it with a metal spatula, oil, (sometimes salt too) and paper towels. After a few uses it became well seasoned, easy to clean and non stick. Now I can do scrambled eggs with cheese, just using a pat of butter and it is completely nonstick.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
page1 2 3 next