Print

Williams-Sonoma Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Williams-Sonoma
Shop or
Choose a Category

Lodge Cast-Iron Double Burner Reversible Grill/Griddle

America's oldest family-owned cookware foundry, Lodge has been forging classic cast-iron pots and pans since 1896. This two-in-one piece offers a spacious griddle on one side for cooking up big helpings of eggs and pancakes, and a grill on the opposite side for cooking fish, poultry and hamburgers. Preseasoned and ready to use, the heavyweight cast iron provides exceptionally even heating, so foods sear and brown beautifully. Heavyweight cast iron transfers and retains heat evenly. Preseasoned for a smooth finish that resists sticking and rust. Fits over two burners. A raised lip around the edge prevents spilling. Two handles make it easy to lift and move. Oven and broiler safe. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
3.917 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
8 of 12(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Lodge Cast-Iron Double Burner Reversible Grill/Griddle
Review 1 for Lodge Cast-Iron Double Burner Reversible Grill/Griddle
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
,Appleton
,WI
April 28, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
this griddle is just ok
April 28, 2016
I am not loving this griddle. I find the working surface to be too narrow--I couldn't get 2 pieces of french toast next to each other. I actually struggled to get 4 pieces on the griddle. I was using a slightly bigger loaf of bread from the breadsmith, but it wasn't that big!
However, my biggest complaint is that it doesn't dissipate heat very well. I am preheating the griddle for quite a while on medium-low heat. The pancakes over the burner are often too brown, while those in between the burners are just right.
Cons: Difficult to Use
Review 2 for Lodge Cast-Iron Double Burner Reversible Grill/Griddle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Winter park,
,FL
February 11, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Works on Bosch Induction
February 11, 2016
All of my cast iron is Lodge and just like my skillet and Dutch oven, this griddle works great on my induction stove. I have a Bosch induction cooktop that has 5 cooking areas: one large circle in the middle and two on each side. The side areas can handle two separate pans or combine to create one longer cooking area for a long griddle like this. I've cooked pancakes, French toast, various meats, etc with no issues. Just treat it like any cast iron, use a thin coat of oil before cook and no soap when cleaning.
Review 3 for Lodge Cast-Iron Double Burner Reversible Grill/Griddle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Beaufort
,SC
January 31, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great purchase
January 31, 2016
We were looking for a good indoor grill & griddle for our range...and we've found it! Great heat distribution! We love it!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Versatile, Design, Quality, Size, Weight, Easy to Store, Shape
Review 4 for Lodge Cast-Iron Double Burner Reversible Grill/Griddle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,wilmington
,NC
January 26, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Grilling
January 26, 2016
I bought this grill about 35 years ago. It finally had to be thrown out. I will buy another one. Great for a professional stove with the large burners. I grill meats, chicken, fish and veggies on it. Love it. It isn't fancy but who needs fancy. I have a lot of cabinet space so not a problem for storing. If you have limited space this could be a problem. Also follow instructions for cleaning and using and you will not have a problem.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Design, Size, Easy to Store, Shape
Cons: Weight
Review 5 for Lodge Cast-Iron Double Burner Reversible Grill/Griddle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Irvine
,CA
December 4, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Product!
December 4, 2015
Exactly what I was looking for. I own several other Lodge products and this one is just as good and exactly what I was looking for. The dual sides are perfect for all types of cooking. Highly recommended!
Pros: Durable, Versatile, Design, Quality, Size, Weight, Shape
Review 6 for Lodge Cast-Iron Double Burner Reversible Grill/Griddle
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,NJ
October 28, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
+7points
11of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not for an induction cooktop
October 28, 2014
I purchased this item because it said it could be used on an induction cooktop. It doesn't work properly on the cooktop because it does not make full contact with it. I would not recommend this item for an induction cooktop; otherwise it would be fine.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use
Cons: not for induction
Review 7 for Lodge Cast-Iron Double Burner Reversible Grill/Griddle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Las Vegas
,NV
Las Vegas, NV
July 29, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
8of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very Functional!
July 29, 2014
This is a great pan for pancakes, cooking bacon. You can use one side for both of these items or even cook alot of pancakes, french toast for brunch!! We have enjoyed it for everything that we cook. LOVE CAST IRON!!!. Just have to clean with hot water & scrubber. If the seasoning comes off just season over with oil olive & heat in oven for @ 25 minutes, then clean out excess oil with paper towel
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use
Cons: Weight
Review 8 for Lodge Cast-Iron Double Burner Reversible Grill/Griddle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Seattle
,WA
June 30, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
We love the versatility
June 30, 2014
Fits perfectly onto our La Cornue stove gas burners and fits nicely into the bottom drawer for storage. It distributes heat well. We love the versatility: pancakes for breakfast and flip the side for grilled fish that evening.
Yes, it does require a bit of elbow grease to get it clean, yet so do all pans without non-stick coating.
Lodge makes a well-seasoned grill/griddle that should be a must in any well kitted out kitchen.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 9 for Lodge Cast-Iron Double Burner Reversible Grill/Griddle
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,San Francisco
,Ca
December 13, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
-22points
9of 40found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Everything sticks to this griddle
December 13, 2013
First use and eggs totally stuck to this griddle and will NOT scrub off. Second time I used it I had to use a lot of oil and the 'grilled' chicken was basically fried and far too greasy. Even with oil, the griddle was still hard to clean. Also it is VERY heavy and awkward to clean as it will not fit in regular sink and would break the dishwasher it is so heavy (and dishwasher not recommended in any case). In buying this I was trying to avoid the chemicals of non stick but this pan's 'seasoning' just does not work and made me realize why we don't cook with cast iron any more. If this was not so heavy, I would send it back. Total waste of money.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Clean, Weight, Difficult to Store, Size
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
F18Pilot
Texas
Posted January 6, 2015
How to use and care for cast iron
First, you have to know how to use and care for cast iron. There is a great article on line from "Epicurious" (Sept 9, 2014) on this subject, "How To Wash, Season, and Maintain Cast Iron Cookware" by Rhoda Boone.
Second, if you really are looking for non-stick, then buy a non-stick pan.
I have had 2 Lodge cast iron ware for over 20 years and they perform beautifully!
0points
Customer avatar
mommychia
Honolulu, Hawaii
Posted May 30, 2014
Nonstick
I have been using Lodge cast iron pan for over 20 years and bought this grill last week. I used it once on my ceramic cooktop. To use it as nonstick pan, you need to be very patient. First, you need to heat the pan hot and add some oil to cover the entire pan. Lower the cooking temperature and cook, making pancake or sear meat.... After use, wash it with hot or cold water with mild dish wash soap like 7th Generation and dry it. Before storing the pan, heat the pan and brush or use paper towel to season the pan with oil. I hope you can enjoy your pan.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 10 for Lodge Cast-Iron Double Burner Reversible Grill/Griddle
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,Austin
,TX
September 19, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+19points
22of 25found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great product but doesn't work on induction range
September 19, 2013
The quality of this product is great I just wanted to warn people buying an induction cooktop that this skillet, even though it is magnetic, doesn't work for pancakes because the underside is not even - it has the grooves for grilling on the bottom and for induction it needs to have a smooth bottom because at least 60% of the surface area has to be detected for my induction cooktop to heat it. I'm guessing this is the case with other induction cooktop brands as well.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean
Cons: Weight, doesn't work on induction
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
KayLeo
Houston, TX
Posted July 17, 2014
Number 1 Contributor
Thanks for the warning.
I was actually wondering whether the Lodge Double Burner Reversible Grill/Griddle would really work on induction. The description says it is induction compatible, but I had my doubts because the surfaces aren't flat.
I guess my suspicions were right!
Kind of annoying how they'll just slap on "induction compatible" on the description even though it isn't. Just because the material is magnetic doesn't mean the cookware is automatically induction compatible!
Do you have an alternative grill and griddle you use instead?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Lodge Cast-Iron Double Burner Reversible Grill/Griddle
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
,lexington
,KY
September 7, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+6points
8of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
still undecided, will add more later
September 7, 2013
I used this for the first time last night. It was a disaster. The oil puddles to the drainage channel, there is a cold spot in the middle, and yes, the food stuck despite following directions. I will continue to try and master this, as I really need a griddle. The wide metal spatula really was a life saver with this griddle. And I would recommend starting with lower temps than you would predict. I really wanted this to work, but there is a definite learning curve.
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 12 for Lodge Cast-Iron Double Burner Reversible Grill/Griddle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Monroeville
,PA
Glassboro, NJ
June 3, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+35points
36of 37found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome. Raw Cast Iron = FLAVOR
June 3, 2012
Don't be scared of non-enamal coated cast iron, embrace it. Perfect cooking breakfast for the whole family. After you develop a proper seasoning sticking is not an issue. Maintenance is a pain especially with how heavy and huge this particular product is. The other down side is you do get a cold spot in the middle of the griddle. (using a traditional range with the two small burners). Give any Lodge a try.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight, Flavor, price
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Weight, Difficult to Store, High-Maintenance, Size