This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Lodge Cast Iron 5-Piece Cookware Set

America's oldest family-owned cookware foundry, Lodge has been turning out cast-iron pots and pans since 1896. Preseasoned and ready to use, the pieces in this complete set represent Lodge's most-asked-for cast-iron pots and pans. Heavyweight cast iron transfers and retains heat evenly. Preseasoned for a smooth finish that resists sticking and rust. Ideal for use on any type of cooktop, including induction. Made in USA. 5-Piece Set includes: 8" skillet. 10 1/4" skillet. 10 1/2" round griddle. 5-qt. Dutch oven with lid. Please note: lids are counted as individual pieces.
Average Customer Rating:
3.667 out of 5
 out of 
(3 Reviews) 3
2 of 3(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Lodge Cast Iron 5-Piece Cookware Set
Review 1 for Lodge Cast Iron 5-Piece Cookware Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
December 31, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
1of 1found this review helpful.
Love my set
December 31, 2014
I really wanted the dutch oven but since I got everything on sale the skillets were a bonus. So far so good. I love my set.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size
Review 2 for Lodge Cast Iron 5-Piece Cookware Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
August 26, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
19of 20found this review helpful.
high quality cast iron
August 26, 2013
great product -lodge stands for quality! but, i am not sure if people know/take the time to learn how to take proper care of cast iron cookware, because they are used to their non-stick pans. the "factory seasoning" is just a start... i have never had a problem with sticking, and thoroughly enjoy these pans.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Versatile, Weight, even heat distribution
Review 3 for Lodge Cast Iron 5-Piece Cookware Set
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Corn Country Illinois
May 5, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Would You Recommend? No
40of 56found this review helpful.
WS says preseasoned, but....
May 5, 2013
I'm not so sure about that. When you read the summary section of these skillets, it says: "Preseasoned for a smooth finish that resists sticking and rust."
My skillets are not smooth, at all. The first time I used a pan, the food stuck! And, after I washed them (no soap), they got rust spots! I decided to go ahead and season the pans "again." We'll see if that helps matters. Of course, I have put vegetable oil on them.
If I could return these pans, I would.
The reason I bought these Lodge skillets is that I have ONE cast iron skillet (not a Lodge) that is just perfect. I am used to using cast iron and love it. I decided I wanted more b/c my other one cooks beautifully and is actually smooth. You really can't beat it for cooking.
These new Lodge skillets are very disappointing. Not at all what they are advertised to be.
Cons: Quality
Response from Williams-Sonomaby Katie, Cookware BuyerMay 14, 2013
I’m so sorry your experience with Lodge Cast Iron did not meet your expectations. Hopefully the following information offers some explanation. Lodge Cast Iron is created in sand molds, so there is a slight texture on the products from the grains of sand. Lodge’s foundry seasoning is just the beginning of the seasoning process—it’s merely a starting place for you to build on. The seasoning that you add yourself over time develops the finish that resists sticking and rust. As the piece is used and re-seasoned, it will reach that desired smooth surface that also increases the ease of release.
Seasoned cast iron must be washed, dried thoroughly and then lightly oiled after each use. As you might imagine, more care must be taken when cleaning newly seasoned cast iron in order to protect the cookware and the seasoned finish. Drying thoroughly is a must and soap can be used but is not necessary, as it will remove some of the valued seasoning that you are building up on your piece. It is always necessary to lightly oil the cookware immediately after drying to protect and maintain the seasoning.
I hope this information helps improve your experience and satisfaction with your Lodge cookware.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer avatar
Greenwood, LA
Posted January 16, 2015
reply to WS
You are correct about the non smooth finish. Lodge used to polish the interior of their products. Not sure why they stopped. I wish they would do it again. Their product now ,without the polished interior is less desirable. I am from the era that knows about the older skillets. LODGE, go back to polishing your interiors. We will pay more for doing so. It makes a better product. JJ
Customer avatar
Poughkeepsie, New York
Posted August 17, 2013
Seasoning Cast Iron Cookware
All my cast iron cookware is re-seasoned in the oven every year, no matter what. Whether you purchase new cast or find an antique that you wish to put back into service. You can restore new or old rusty cast iron cookware easily by scraping and removing the rust and old carbon buildup with a razor scraper and a wire brush; wash clean; then re-season a few times in the oven before using, (see YouTube videos). The results should be a shiny black pot or pan, non stick surface. I have purchased new and old cast over the years and restored them. My wife has said, “What are you going to do with that piece of junk? Cook with it! And so I have. P.S. Always sauté or cook something, like onions a couple of times prior to putting any piece of cookware into service in your kitchen.
1of 1found this comment helpful.
Customer avatar
Roseburg, OR
Posted May 17, 2013
My Lodge Cast Iron Experience
So I just wanted to let you know how I have worked with my Lodge pieces that I purchased from WS. The first few times I use them I use a bit more oil than I usually would because even though they are pre-seasoned, its not like my 50 year old pan my mother gave have to baby them a bit. I have found that cooking bacon or something like that really helps get the beginning seasoning down. If you don't eat meat, just use extra oil. And after cleaning I always brush on more oil. Hopefully you can get them seasoned well and they will work better for you. Cast iron is truly wonderful!
5of 5found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)