Print

Williams-Sonoma Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Williams-Sonoma
Shop or
Choose a Category

Lodge Cast-Iron Square Grill Pan

Preseasoned and ready to use, this heavyweight cast-iron pan gets very hot and won't cool down when you add foods, making it ideal for grilling meats, seafood or vegetables with minimal oil. It's made by Lodge, America's oldest family-owned cookware foundry, established in 1896. Heavyweight cast iron transfers and retains heat evenly. Preseasoned for a smooth finish that resists sticking and rust. High ridges keep foods away from drippings and sear grill marks onto foods. High sides contain splatters. One long handle and a helper handle for ease of transferring the pan. Ideal for use on any type of cooktop, including induction.
Average Customer Rating:
3.727 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
8 of 11(73%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Lodge Cast-Iron Square Grill Pan
Review 1 for Lodge Cast-Iron Square Grill Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Dallas
,Ga
Atlanta, Ga.
November 29, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great product
November 29, 2016
Before I write my review, I just want to let everyone know, I did smooth my skillets out at home. Meaning it no longer has the factory cooking surface on it, Prior to doing this, I had it for a month and it worked great. I just could not get over the texture of the cooking surface. I then decided to smooth it out using an angle grinder and a flapper wheel. It works just as good with the added benefit of a smoother surface. It took on my seasoning well after I smoothed it and has worked brilliantly since I modified it. Just keep it oiled, keep it seasoned, modifications are optional, but all in all, this is a great product.
Pros: Design, Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Easy to Use, Quality, Shape, Size, Versatile
Cons: Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 2 for Lodge Cast-Iron Square Grill Pan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Winter springs
,Fl
November 23, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My steak pan
November 23, 2016
Much too heavy and is not non stick. Hard to clean. Sorry I bought it.
Pros: Size
Cons: Difficult to Clean, High-Maintenance, Weight
Review 3 for Lodge Cast-Iron Square Grill Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Los Angeles
,CA
November 2, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Thick cuts benefit from lodge cast-iron Grill Pan
November 2, 2016
With a simple seasoning on the room temperature meat, on an oiled grill pan I brown the protein for about five to eight minutes on one side, then turn onto the other side, turn the stove off and pop the grill pan into a pre heated 350 degree oven for about 15 to 25 minutes depending on the volume of protein. Then I pull it out and let it rest for ten minutes on the grill pan on top of the stove. It comes out perfect every time. The pan also catches the drippings. The handles are easy to hold, the grill pan is the perfect weight and also super easy to clean and store. It was thoughtfully designed and almost instantly became one of my new favorites. To clean, sometimes I wipe it down with a paper towel, other times I rinse and scrub with water, a drop of soap and a brush or plastic pan scraper then dry immediately and rub oil with a paper towel.
Pros: Color, Design, Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Easy to Use, Quality, Shape, Size, Weight
Review 4 for Lodge Cast-Iron Square Grill Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
June 21, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent product
June 21, 2016
This is a wonderful product. Food doesn't stick and it cooks up perfectly. Chicken and fish come out delicious and juicy. I'm somewhat new to using cast iron, so there is a bit of a learning curve. If you've never used cast iron before, do a bit of research about using it before you buy. Remember, oil the pan and heat it up until it is very hot! You can turn down the heat later, but the pan must be hot. Also, DO NOT PRESS DOWN on the food and DO NOT MOVE THE FOOD around, otherwise it will stick to the pan. You must let the food cook for a bit, a "crust" will be created and the food will release quickly and easily. After washing the pan, DRY IT IMMEDIATELY. This is a wonderful product and I recommend it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Durable, Versatile, Design, Quality, Size, Color, Shape
Review 5 for Lodge Cast-Iron Square Grill Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,OKLAHOMA CITY
,ok
January 4, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful Product
January 4, 2015
Recently purchased this item and used it for the first time this week to make two KC strips. It worked well beyond my expectations. Simply brush on a small amount of veggie oil on the grill after it is super hot, brush your meat with a bit of olive oil! No sticking at all and perfect grill marks. Afterwards cleaning was simple (provided you don't wait along) just wipe it down with a paper towel, reapply some oil and be done.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Design, great heat conductor
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 6 for Lodge Cast-Iron Square Grill Pan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Burr Ridge
,IL
December 31, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
-7points
2of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Worst Item I Ever Purchased At WS
December 31, 2014
The woman in the WS store in Oak Brook said she swore by hers. I swear at mine. Have tried steaks, chops and burgers in the thing. As a cooking device, it is completely useless. Everything sticks to it. You cannot truly clean it so it actually smells rank after few days. It overcooks food. If I could figure out how to clean it, I'd return it. Since I can't clean it, its going into the garbage. A complete rip off.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Clean, Weight, High-Maintenance, food sticks to it, it smells bad after use
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Sue1356
Posted January 24, 2016
Did not prepare the pan
Before you use any cast iron pan you need to grease it pretty good and leave it in the oven at 350 for a couple of hours. This will help you next time you cook and preserve the pan for the future if you keep this up. Don't put them at a high heat when cooking no need for that in cast iron it does the work for you
0points
Customer avatar
darinrohrer
oklahoma city, oklahoma
Posted January 9, 2015
instructions
i think you did it wrong.... i never have any problem with sticking, cleaning or the like. You just have to do a little research on how to use these... if you dont want yours I'd be happy to buy another one.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 7 for Lodge Cast-Iron Square Grill Pan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Cortland
,NY
USA
December 26, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? No
-13points
0of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
very disappointed
December 26, 2013
When my pan first arrived the handle was broken in half. I should have simply returned it for a refund but I exchanged it for at a store. I used it and although I oiled it and sprayed it first my boneless chicken stuck. I was unable to clean it completely and it is now rusted. I am going to have to make a trip back up the Mall to return it. I am very disappointed
Cons: Quality, Difficult to Clean, food sticks
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer avatar
Maob01
Bridgeton, NJ
Posted September 2, 2016
Oil spray
There are a lot of products that do not recommend using aeorosal oil products! Maybe that was part of the issue.
0points
Customer avatar
upscalebohemian
San Francisco, CA
Posted October 14, 2014
Top 25 Contributor
Apples to ANY Cast Iron Cookware
This is going to be a fact with ANY cast iron. You need to get the cast iron fully hot BEFORE putting the meat on, and initially the meat will stick and when it's ready it will release itself (which means, you simply try to move it with tongs and if you can't then leave it there until you can).
This is simple physics on planet Earth. With ANY cast iron there is a learning curve, both about how to use it and how to care for it.
0points
Customer avatar
KayLeo
Houston, TX
Posted June 6, 2014
Number 1 Contributor
It is always good to check care instructions.
Before using any new cookware, it is always good to briefly look over care and use instructions.
Cast iron cookware that is not enameled need to be seasoned properly before use. Proper seasoning and preheating will prevent food from sticking to the pan.
Generally speaking, spray-on oils are not recommended to use on most cookware so I just stay away from that stuff all together.
When cleaning, make sure it is not submerged in water for extended periods of time. Then make sure it is dried thoroughly afterwards.
When not in use, I like to keep a very thin coat of oil on my cast iron pans.
Not enameled cast iron cookware can be high maintenance, but is, in my opinion, one of the best types of cookware there is.
 
My Recommendations
 
0points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 8 for Lodge Cast-Iron Square Grill Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Valencia, ca
June 23, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Overjoyed with this purchase!
June 23, 2013
I purchased this grille for my husband on fathers day because we are always going to the barbecue area of the community we live in. A friend suggested it after she saw it advertised. So, I decided to give it a try. Last night was our first time using it and we grilled some porkchops. All I can say is this grill is incredible! The markings the grill left on the porkchops were better than the barbecue grill. The heat evenly distributed so it didn't overcook and the flavor was absolutely wonderful. The next night we used it again to cook ribeye steaks, they were the best steaks that we have ever had. I can't wait to use it again. I can already tell it's going to be my favorite cookware. My family is in love with this grille and I'm so glad that I decided to buy it. Be careful the handle gets extremely hot so always use mits.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Size, Design
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 9 for Lodge Cast-Iron Square Grill Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Florida
August 13, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful Grill Pan
August 13, 2012
I have had this grill pan for about two years and absolutely love it. It has become extremely easy to clean and almost non stick. If washed and dried immediately after use it will not rust. I usually warm the pan a little on my stove to make sure it is completely dry before putting it away.
I have had absolutely no problem with even heating and nice grill marks on my food. You need to warm the pan for a few minutes on low heat first, then add a touch of oil or fat before adding the food. I've even roasted a whole chicken in my oven with this pan.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Versatile
Review 10 for Lodge Cast-Iron Square Grill Pan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,CA
July 19, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
VERY HEAVY, BUT DOES A GOOD JOB!
July 19, 2012
GREAT ADDITION FOR USE IN THE ELECTRIC OVER BROILER.
USE 2 HANDS IN MOVING THE PAN.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Cons: Weight, Difficult to Store
Review 11 for Lodge Cast-Iron Square Grill Pan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
July 10, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
good value
July 10, 2012
It's a great value compared to other cast iron skillets on the market. Use with a panini press/weight for the grill appearance. Hard to clean, and rusts if left out wet, but worth the trouble. Difficult to store when seasoned as it can't be layered with other pans.
Pros: Durable, Quality
Cons: Difficult to Clean, High-Maintenance