Le Creuset Stoneware Butter Crock

A fixture in European kitchens, this vessel keeps butter fresh and spreadable at the breakfast table or countertop. Le Creuset Stoneware is an extremely strong and durable choice for serving and storing, as it resists chips, cracks and stains and will not take on food odors or flavors. Holds 6 oz. butter (about 1 1/2 sticks) packed into cup on underside of lid. Fill the crock with cold water to keep butter soft and spreadable-without refrigeration-for 3 to 5 days. Change the water to keep butter fresh. High-fired stoneware is exceptionally strong. Durable porcelain enamel-glaze finish is easy to clean and resists chips, scratches and stains. Will not absorb odors or flavors. Colors coordinate with Le Creuset enameled cast-iron cookware.
Average Customer Rating:
4.294 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
14 of 17(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Le Creuset Stoneware Butter Crock
Review 1 for Le Creuset Stoneware Butter Crock
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AddingComment
,Longmeadow
,MA
Longmeadow, MASS
January 5, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great idea and looks nice
January 5, 2014
We enjoy having our little red butter bell on our cooking island. The butter stays soft and can quickly and easily be spread. we use salted butter. We make sure to stuff the butter down hard against the bell with an expresso spoon.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Appearance, makes using butter much easier than from frig
Review 2 for Le Creuset Stoneware Butter Crock
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
sterlinghawk
,seattle
,wa
November 26, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
really wanted to like this!
November 26, 2013
Looked cute, read the reviews and I ordered. Butter did not last that long and then fell into the water. Will be returning it and will order the more standard butter dish.
Review 3 for Le Creuset Stoneware Butter Crock
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Linds40
,Dallas
,TX
November 14, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It keeps your butter fresh!!
November 14, 2013
We LOVE this butter crock. All you have to do is change out the water once a week or so, and it keeps your butter fresh for much longer than a traditional butter dish. It's also prettier on the counter. You don't have to keep it full of butter to work properly.
Pros: Quality, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Appearance, Design
Review 4 for Le Creuset Stoneware Butter Crock
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LouT
June 12, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Satisfactory product
June 12, 2013
The butter crock is a good product. Two important tips: make sure the butter is not too soft and pack it in as tightly as possible. Then don't fill the water any higher than the marked water line. I'm happy I bought this.
Review 5 for Le Creuset Stoneware Butter Crock
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Melissa6113
,Junction city
,KS
February 11, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this butter crock.
February 11, 2013
I love the color and the weight of this product. It feels sturdy and the color really pops the picture does not do it justice.
Review 6 for Le Creuset Stoneware Butter Crock
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TexasShopper
January 22, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love Love LOVE
January 22, 2013
Adorable way to store my butter, and very unique. Works well, love this item!
Pros: petite, stores at least 2 sticks
Review 7 for Le Creuset Stoneware Butter Crock
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CynAnn
,Mobile
,AL
October 23, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this Crock!
October 23, 2012
I recently purchased this butter crock and I love it! We enjoy real butter and like it soft for spreading, so this is perfect. It is very easy to use and looks great. I just wish it was available in other colors, because neither red or blue matches my kitchen. However, the red looks fine!
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: limited colors
Review 8 for Le Creuset Stoneware Butter Crock
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buttercrock
,Reno
,Nv
Reno, Nv
October 4, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Blue Butter Crock
October 4, 2012
I am very happy to finally have a Le Creuset Butter Crock. It works perfectly, and keeps the butter fresh. I freshen the water daily. It looks really nice on my prep island, and the butter is easily spread.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
fuzzy
Harrisburg, PA
Posted October 16, 2012
I Agree
Not sure why the 2 previous reviewers had problems with the butter not staying in the crock. I don't need to put the crock in the frig either which would defeat the purpose of having pliable butter. I just freshen it every other day with ice water, therefore it stay cool enough.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Le Creuset Stoneware Butter Crock
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
RachelnTexas
,Corinth
,TX
Corinth, TX
July 26, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Butter kept falling out
July 26, 2012
I too had a problem with my butter crock. I followed all the directions and I could not get it to work. I packed the butter in the bell and made sure to fill the water to the line. I found that when I closed the lid the butter dipped into the water so I lowered the water level to well below the fill-line. Then I found that after a couple of days the butter just plopped out of the bell into the water. Finally ended up packing it back in box and I also can't return.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
ellyP
Posted August 7, 2012
I think you are using it incorrectly
The water in the crock serves to seal air away from the butter, thereby preserving it. By leaving a space between the butter and the water you are defeating the function of the crock. Butter crocks are genius.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Le Creuset Stoneware Butter Crock
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
MsShineItUp
,Sacramento
,CA
May 12, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I love My Butter
May 12, 2012
I was just reading all the excellent reviews for this crock and wondering: Why doesn't my cute little red Le Creuset crock work like others'. The butter plops out of the container and into the water. A small amount of black mold has developed on the side of the container after three days. After calling the store and speaking to someone at the Pavillion's, I was told the crock should go in the fridge. ??? And was told that it will not keep butter for more than three days. If only I could find my receipt, I would take mine back. Really disappointed in the product and the store rep.
Pros: nice color
Cons: doesn't work
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Maas
PA
Posted July 24, 2012
Salted vs. unsalted butter
Do you use unsalted butter? I have used a butter bell before, and my experience was similar to yours. Then I learned that salted butter keeps better than unsalted. If you salt the water, unsalted butter will keep better in the bell though the salted water will still need to be changed. I did not notice a salty taste in my butter either.
0points
Customer avatar
jeanelane
NM
Posted May 30, 2012
You need more info!
I have used a butter bell before and found:
. Must change water frequently.
. In warmer weather, the butter should not sit on the counter for too many days.
Putting it in the fridge defeats the purpose of the bell. Maybe put in less butter at a time, whatever you can use in 3-5 days.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 11 for Le Creuset Stoneware Butter Crock
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jakemi
,Troy
,MI
April 8, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Keep butter soft & fresh
April 8, 2012
Love these butter crocks. Clever design lets you keep the butter out on counter so it is soft and prevents it from spoiling. Just refresh water every few days. Great gift idea too.
Review 12 for Le Creuset Stoneware Butter Crock
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sammycat1
,Needham
,Ma
March 6, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
my favorite way to store butter
March 6, 2012
I was looking for a butter keeper after seeing one only one time. I love it so much !! It keeps the butter fresh, on the counter and makes the butter spreadable on bread etc. instead of butter from the fridge which is cold and tears the bread apart while getting clumps of butter on the bread. I highly recommend this product for those who like a nice spreadable butter. Laura
Pros: Durable, Texture, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Design, Weight
Review 13 for Le Creuset Stoneware Butter Crock
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
,Clarksville
,TN
December 15, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Butter Keeper
December 15, 2011
So excited to receive this! It is of high quality, beautiful color, and functions as advertised. It isnso nice to be able to spread safe room temperature butter.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Versatile, Design
Review 14 for Le Creuset Stoneware Butter Crock
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jeepster
Nebraska
August 9, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Better Butter
August 9, 2011
Love my little butter crock. Matches my red LeCreuset pieces perfectly and is so nice to have soft butter readily available. It's easy to fill and easy to handle. The top which holds the butter cup inside sits and balances perfectly on the handle when out of the crock. The butter really does stay put and it stays fresh. Something to be said for the old ways I think!
Pros: Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Design
Review 15 for Le Creuset Stoneware Butter Crock
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
scdba
South Carolina
March 22, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Keep butter easy to spread
March 22, 2011
Keeps butter fresh and easy to spread - change the water out every 2-3 days - cleans up easy in the dishwasher. Never tear up your toast again!
Review 16 for Le Creuset Stoneware Butter Crock
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lovi
Clear Lake, IA
January 23, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Butter Crock
January 23, 2011
I have purchased other crocks and this is the best. Le Creuset is my choice of cookware. This crock is yet another fabulous item from the Le Creuset line, very durable and beautifully crafted.
Review 17 for Le Creuset Stoneware Butter Crock
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fuzzy
Harrisburg, PA
September 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Butter Crock
September 14, 2010
After purchasing another brand I was leery about the Le Creuset but after taking a look at the inside I could see it is easier to fill, remove, and clean it due to it's design.
I intend to purchase more as gifts.