Le Creuset Cast-Iron Chef's Oven

Inspired by nearly a century of culinary craftsmanship, this Le Creuset chef's oven is especially useful for reducing soups and simmering risotto and other grains. Its gently rounded shape facilitates whisking, and its depth and broad surface area speed evaporation. 4 1/4-qt. cap. Cast iron coated with durable porcelain enamel distributes heat slowly and evenly. Wide, sloped sides make this piece ideal for cooking soup, risotto or stew. Design allows for easy stirring, circulation and rapid evaporation to help concentrate flavors. The tight-fitting lid with oven-safe composite knob makes the pot well suited to braising. Made in France.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
8 of 8(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Chef's Oven
Review 1 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Chef's Oven
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Selfrisin55
,NC
January 18, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The perfect pot
January 18, 2015
Perfect size,shape and weight. This has added to my collection Le Creuset and I use it often. One great pot!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 2 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Chef's Oven
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TeeLK
,New York
,NY
New York City
January 8, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I love this pot
January 8, 2015
I bought it in quince and find it to be very beautiful. It is sitting on my stove, where I can look at it. I have used it to make soup, and of course, it was perfect for that. I am taking very good, loving care of this pot — but I will say, in all honesty. that Le Creuset cast iron pots are fragile. You have to be completely careful not to use metal implements with them and to clean them carefully after each use or they will discolor to the point where they can't be cleaned. Nevertheless, this pot makes me happy.
Pros: Color, Size, Shape
Cons: High-Maintenance, Fragile
Review 3 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Chef's Oven
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
enigmachef
,IL
August 13, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Le Creuset continues to beat expectations!
August 13, 2014
I took a shot with this pot (in ocean, VERY beautiful color!)...I have to say I LOVE it! It is so beautiful it stays on my counter all the time! I love the curved bottom when I'm sautéing, it makes it so easy and things just don't want to stick to it! The best part is the size, it is a perfect size for a small family's normal cooking, big enough to mix pasta in with sauces etc. (ex. 1lb meat, one package spaghetti and 1 jar sauce fit easily) and small enough to not be burdensome. This pot has performed gorgeously for making ragouts, layered lasagna and even roasting a full chicken (plenty of room, though I didn't try with the lid on). It cleans up so well, my hubby says it cleans better than any other pot he's ever tried to clean! I replaced the plastic knob immediately with the stainless version for aesthetics but have had no problem with it in the oven. I cannot wait to use it for bread! Also it's surprisingly light considering its size.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Review 4 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Chef's Oven
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HappiestCook
,Clovis
,CA
Tx
June 28, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great value, great pot
June 28, 2014
I bought this pot with 20%discount price, very pleased with how well it cooks, the curved side is really good for mixing and stirring, and I think this is the main advantage of this pot compare to the regular shaped french oven. I cook for two, the size is perfect, I can get some left over for lunch for the following day. Also fits into the sink nicely, easy for washing. I love white, very rare color, I think it will look better with time as it develops "character" . This one pot replace two of my other le creuset pots, it is my go-to pot for almost everything thing, I highly recommend this product.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Cons: Weight
Review 5 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Chef's Oven
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lovingit
,Rockville
,MD
May 29, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
LOVE Le Creuset Cast-Iron in White
May 29, 2014
Beautiful, easy to clean. WS please offer more choice of Le Creuset in white. Perfect size for stew, chili and soup. I cooked stuffed peppers in tomato juice and slow cooked on low for a few hours and the dish turned out perfectly.
Pros: Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Shape, Design
Review 6 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Chef's Oven
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NifferB
May 13, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Pot EVER!
May 13, 2014
I used this pot right away as I couldn't wait to get it. I like one pot dinners and think that simmering foods just pulls all the great flavors together. This pot is perfect for both of these things. It is plenty large (I put a whole box of noodles and several cans of tomatoes with diced veggies) as well. I would recommend this item to anyone and everyone. I actually think every woman needs one good pot in her kitchen - this one should be it. I love it and can't wait to use it more! :-)
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Design
Cons: Weight
Review 7 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Chef's Oven
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Frenchie61
,Atlanta.
,GA
April 5, 2014
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
3of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Le Creuset
April 5, 2014
I bought my first piece of Le Creuset in 1961 and still have it. Sadly I dropped the lid and it broke. the only lid or piece that has ever broken, however, I still use the pot and put a piece of tin foil over it. I LOVE Le Creuset and now have a large collection
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
AACV
Henderson, NV
Posted April 9, 2014
Is it possible to just replace the lid? Considering the price of this cookware it certainly should be available.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Chef's Oven
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Natab0525
,Jackson
,NJ
February 11, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+13points
13of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My Favorite Le Creuset Piece!
February 11, 2014
SO excited to see they brought this piece back! I purchased it when Marseille first came out and it is hands down my most used piece during the winter. Its my go to pot for any soup I make. Its a great shape for simmering and serving as the ladle gets the soup at the bottom very easily.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design