Le Creuset Cast-Iron Reversible Griddle/Grill

Redesigned with a more expansive cook surface on each side and wider grooves to channel drippings away from food, this reversible pan is a commercial-size stovetop griddle and grill all in one.Double-sided enameled cast iron distributes heat slowly and evenly.Easy-clean nonreactive surface does not require seasoning.Use the flat side to fry eggs or cook pancakes; use the ridged side to grill burgers, steaks and other foods, searing them with appetizing grill marks.Expansive commercial-size cooking surface spans two burners.Grill surface has deep grooves to channel drippings away from food and into a well around the perimeter.Integrated handles simplify lifting.Ideal for use on any cooktop, including induction.
Average Customer Rating:
3.316 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
12 of 19(63%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Reversible Griddle/Grill
Review 1 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Reversible Griddle/Grill
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
UANYC
,New York
,NY
April 13, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Poor heat distribution
April 13, 2013
I had two issues with this griddle. First, the heat from the burners under it doesn't distribute at all, so you get extremely uneven cooking. Second, the griddle is shorter than other double burner griddles so there is alway exposed flame at one end of the grill. If you have a smaller stove top you may not have this issue, but the heat distribution alone is reason not to buy.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Store, Versatile
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality
Review 2 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Reversible Griddle/Grill
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
PILIGONZALEZ
,Medellin COLOMBIA
November 11, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
3of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Poor quality
November 11, 2012
I bought this item a year ago, and I've use it 3 times only.
I put it over my induction stove, and today the handle broke when I was cooking with it.
Poor quality for such a price!
Cons: Quality, Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 3 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Reversible Griddle/Grill
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GrillMimi
,Orange Park
,FL
October 28, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love to Grill
October 28, 2012
This grill pan is everything I wanted it to be. I love to grill and now I get perfect grill marks on my meats and vegetables on my gas range when weather prohibits grilling outside.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design
Review 4 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Reversible Griddle/Grill
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
seriously
,Keller
,TX
October 4, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Bought for my son
October 4, 2011
I've had this griddle for 3 years now and love it. It never gets put away and is used for everything from pancakes to panini type sandwiches.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Design
Review 5 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Reversible Griddle/Grill
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous
,Anchorage
,AK
October 3, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
6of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Useless griddle
October 3, 2011
Everything sticks to this griddle, making it impossilbe to cook on and totally useless. What a bomb, very dissapointing. I have used Le Creuset cookware for over 30 years and was delighted to buy the griddle. As it turns out, the flat surface is too rough to cook on. I expected the surface to be like the cast iron pans from Le Creuset which have a smooth enamel surface. If you are considering purchasing this griddle, I'd turn back if I were you!
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Clean, High-Maintenance
Review 6 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Reversible Griddle/Grill
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
FunChef
Tacoma, WA
April 10, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
4of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Poor Purchase Choice
April 10, 2011
I was seduced by Le Creuset brand - should have listened to last reviewer...Everything sticks and it is nearly impossible to clean. The reservoir around the edge is too shallow to collect any grease created. I am out $200 and VERY dissatisfied.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Clean, Weight, everything sticks, grease reservoir too shallow
Review 7 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Reversible Griddle/Grill
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
BadGrill
Washington, DC
April 4, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Everything sticks!
April 4, 2011
Normally I don't take the time to review products, but I was very excited about my Le Creuset grill pan. When I got it I used it right away and everything sticks to it. If you grill fish it becomes stuck and destroys your fish. Vegetables stick, as do burgers. I would not recommend this product.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Clean
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
RJen
North Canton, Ohio
Posted April 8, 2011
Not Non-Stick
I have this two sided grill pan and, also, a non-stick square griddle pan from All-Clad. For pancakes, I use the All-Clad by rubbing a small piece of oiled paper towel in the four circular area where the pancakes will be. If I don't, the first batch always stick and with four kids, I use this pan ALOT. The grill pan from Le Creuset is enameled cast iron which needs seasoning/curing. To start, just cook some letover food on it because, even with oil, it will stick. But after a few uses, it will work amazingly well, just like an enamel coated cast iron grill grate for your gas grill.
+1point
1of 1found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Reversible Griddle/Grill
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ddeett
Houston, TX
March 18, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+9points
9of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not "ideal for any cooktop"
March 18, 2011
I was looking for a large griddle. Website describes as ideal for any cooktop. After purchase and delivery and reading the information booklet I found a disclaimer not to use on ceramic-glass cooktop. An email to and from Le Creuset confirmed that it should not be used on a glass cooktop. If you have exposed burners this would be wonderful.
Response from Williams-Sonomaby Josephine, Cookware BuyerMarch 23, 2011
Hi ddeett,
Thanks so much for your feedback. The reason that Le Creuset doesn’t recommend using the grill/griddle on a glass cooktop is that there isn’t consistent contact between the pan and the cooking surface which can result in uneven heating. It won’t damage your cooking surface, but it will take longer to heat up and may have hot spots.
Thanks again for your review,
-Josephine
Review 9 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Reversible Griddle/Grill
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MomOfGuero
Joshua Tree, CA
July 9, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome! Fits my small stove!
July 9, 2010
This grill is just what I needed. We are renting because my husband is active duty military and we generally have tiny stoves in our apartments. This grill actually will fit those apartment sized stoves. If you pre-heat it, it heats nice and evenly. The fat runs down the channels for healthier cooking. It has a griddle side as well, but I've been too busy grilling meat and vegetables to give it a try. Well worth the money. Fits the Le Creuset reputation of quality!
Review 10 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Reversible Griddle/Grill
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
QtNico
Oxnard, CA
January 31, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Buy
January 31, 2010
This Griddle/Grill pan is a great buy. It's great for small gatherings and cooking larger amounts of food at one time instead of having two pans going. You actually see the grill marks on the food not like some other brands I have used in the past. It may feel a little rough when you first get it but we have continued to cure it after every use and its really starting to turn out nicely.
Review 11 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Reversible Griddle/Grill
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ohana
Nashua, NH
January 13, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great!
January 13, 2010
Nice and heavy...we like that we can use both sides, and the size is great for a crowd!
Review 12 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Reversible Griddle/Grill
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
WestVillageHomekeeper
NYC, NY
December 16, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
7of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Even heating, flat storage, simple cleaning
December 16, 2009
Like all cast iron, it heats evenly and cooks certain foods to perfection. Its flat profile makes it easy to store almost anywhere. (I keep it in a lower drawer b/c it's heavy.) For stuck food I use a little coarse salt and a sponge in warm water, which also absorbs any oil. Otherwise a scratch-free nylon scrubber in hot, soapy water. I've seen cast iron begin to rust if not dried completely. Little more care than typical cookware but totally worth it.
Review 13 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Reversible Griddle/Grill
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Patsy1watsy
Troy Michigan
August 3, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The skinny on the Fat
August 3, 2009
I am a Williams Sonoma cheerleader.
I love everything about the store from its appearance and sales executives
to just about every product offering.
I am just a tad disappointed in the griddle/grill for the reason this review is titled. The product does not have a deep enough ditch for the fat to dump into therefore it runs onto my cook top. I have attacked this product by using papertowels to blot as I cook to ease the overflow.
In the final analysis the family loved
the pancakes and bacon and I enjoyed
my new grill.
Review 14 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Reversible Griddle/Grill
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HawaiiJohn
Hilo, HI
July 2, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
8of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent/NOT hard to clean
July 2, 2009
I love this griddle/grill. I love there are no handles which makes storage easy, I love that it's heavy and disperses heat well, and I love it's easy clean. The trick is letting it season. I don't use any detergent, just scrape the chunks off. After a few uses, it all just falls off. My best kitchen purchase of the year!
Review 15 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Reversible Griddle/Grill
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amaranth
Tampa, FL
May 19, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+54points
54of 54found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not for glass/ceramic cooktops
May 19, 2009
I ordered the grill/griddle and was quite excited to start using it, but decided to read the manual to learn how to clean it first. The first thing I saw was that it could not be used on a glass-ceramic stovetop, which is what I have. So I'm sending it back tomorrow. I didn't see any mention about it's restriction here, so I thought I'd give a heads up. No idea how it works, since I obviously didn't test it out.
Review 16 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Reversible Griddle/Grill
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Stacielaz
Ahwahnee, CA
April 18, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
2of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Hard to Clean
April 18, 2009
I ignored other reviews that said how hard it was to clean. I should have listened. It was possible to clean, just very hard. As far as cooking goes, it was fine.
Review 17 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Reversible Griddle/Grill
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JPasc
New York, NY
December 10, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good Food - Tough Clean Up
December 10, 2008
I bought this for my boyfriend as a birthday gift since he is a cooking buff and loves to watch Food Network.
We have cooked on this a number of times and each time the food comes out great. It definitely tastes better than cooked on an actual grill or in the oven, etc.
While the food comes out delicious, it is impossible to clean up! We have only used the grill side so far but the grease and crud gets stuck to the ridges and it is tough to get clean. I generally have to soak it overnight to get all of the grill remains off.
Despite the annoying clean up, the taste of the food far outweighs the negatives.
Review 18 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Reversible Griddle/Grill
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KitchenMonkey
San Pedro, CA
November 18, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A necessity for the home cook
November 18, 2008
A reversible grill of this size is a necessity for the home cook. There is a significant advantage in preparation with the large surface area spanning two burners, compared with using one or two grill pans. I have used the previous version of this grill for 3 years and love it. Pancakes on Sunday morning and turkey burgers on Monday night!
Review 19 for Le Creuset Cast-Iron Reversible Griddle/Grill
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
MikeC
Valencia, CA
November 12, 2008
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not What I Expected
November 12, 2008
The Grill/Griddle works just okay. It does not heat evenly so you get hot spots. I think I could have had a better result if I purchased a Grill pan.